Rolling in the Deep

14 Sep

calm  (käm)

Nearly or completely motionless; undisturbed: the calm surface of the lake. Not excited or agitated; composed: The President was calm throughout the global crisis. An absence or cessation of motion; stillness.Serenity; tranquillity; peace. A condition of no wind or a wind with a speed of less than 1 knot (1.15 miles per hour; 1.9 kilometers per hour), according to the Beaufort scale. To make or become calm or quiet: A warm bath will calm you. After the storm, the air calmed.

Synonyms: calm, tranquil, placid, serene, peaceful
These adjectives denote the absence of excitement or disturbance: calm acceptance of the inevitable; hoped for a more tranquil life in the country; a soothing, placid temperament; spent a serene, restful weekend at the lake; a peaceful hike through the scenic hills.

Peaceful and quiet. Not words normally used to describe me. Especially not the latter. I struggle to be quiet; the words tumble from my head to my lips like the falling of boxes from the top shelf of a cupboard. Once the bottom one is dislodged all the others come falling. And asking me to remain silent is even worse. I am good at one minutes silences because I understand the gravity of the situation and am often lost in thought, but when driving through a tunnel and being asked to remain silent, I feel like I might pop at any minute, like a helium balloon filled with words. Which is, frankly, mean!

But when my mind needs to be peaceful and my thoughts need to be calm, there is one thing that sorts it all out.

Water.

Don’t ask me why because I don’t have an answer for you. I am not a water star sign (although I don’t really think that things like this have any bearing on you but it’s the first thing that people ask) and I don’t live near the sea. Yet water calms me like nothing else and allows my brain the clarity it needs to assess a situation.

When I was a teenager I would often row with my parents and run into the bathroom. I would fill the sink with freezing cold water and plunge my face into it. The cold would calm me and settle me enough to think through the red cloud of anger to see what I really thought about a situation. And it hasn’t changed with time. As I have aged I prefer to leap in a warm shower or have a bath, but when traditional water methods fail to settle my soul and lift my mood I take a trip to my grandparents house on the coast. I park the car and as I round the corner I see a familiar scene; the water of the creek and the row of boats lining up on the marina like soldiers in a war, ready to defend against my mutinous mood. The golfers on the course behind them move about as if to say “the world goes on love, despite how you are feeling” and the clipping sound of the sails restores my mood back to normal.

What calms you?

8 Responses to “Rolling in the Deep”

  1. prenin September 14, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

    Hi Tinks! 🙂

    Yes, we all need a way to find calm – mine is meditation and it works pretty well, especially with the panic attacks and anxiety attacks, though I haven’t had many of the major ones, I just got stressed going to Lillian’s place next door because I hate being in the open when the local kids are about!!!

    I also like meditating to music which always calms me!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh September 14, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    Music usually calms me…. though being an idiot….that music is usually Disco…. 🙂

  3. AG September 14, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    Awesome post – it’s funny, water totally calms me down, too. And I have no idea why that is.

  4. Stacey September 14, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    I do hot shower or massage and usually a glass or two of wine…that gets me to relax!

  5. stuffialmostbought September 14, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    Such a beautiful post! I felt calmer just reading it. Thank you for sharing. What calms me? The ocean. I can stare out at it for hours. The moon. Magnificently calming.

  6. graysonjack September 14, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    A glass of scotch and a pen and paper, or a good book. I can always relax when I’m doing one of the two. Good post.

  7. brighidclio92 September 15, 2011 at 2:08 am #

    being alone looking the sky, best if with music and a book…
    get a bath under the rain makes the same efect on me too…
    (l L ur BLOG)

  8. gojulesgo September 15, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    Swimming definitely calms me (speaking of water). Booze. Smelling something delicious cooking. Watching a silly/funny show – especially if it’s one I feel like I shouldn’t be watching because I’m too old for it. (Yesterday it was 90210 and MTV’s Awkward.)

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

