Someone is Smiling!

12 Sep

On Saturday my sister and I went for lunch and to do some shopping. We parked in a pay and display car park and could only scratch around for an hour’s parking money, so fed that in the meter, stuck the ticket on the door and went on our merry way. After an hour we were sitting in Wagamama (love!) and it was pouring outside. The idea of walking back to the other end of the town to feed the god of parking more cash was frankly disturbing. So we thought we would risk it.

Three hours later, arms full of shopping bags and feet tired, we walked back to the car. As we rounded the corner my sister caught sight of the ticket inspector; day glow yellow coat and severe look about him, ticketing the car next to me.

I swear I have never moved so fast. I sped up to my car and in one deft move, zapped the car doors open and whipped the ticket out, bunching it into a ball. Evidence destroyed. Never mind that I looked completely crazy; hair soaking from the rain and bags flying all over the place, at least I had triumphantly foxed one of the devils workers.

The ticket man frowned at me and said “I hadn’t noticed the time love, but next time I’ll give you a ticket. You are parked out of bay, he’s parked out of the bay. It’s not acceptable. Seventy quid. Pay attention”.

I had apparently missed the bay by mere centimetres, because the guy next to me had  done the same.

Of course!! I was running back because I knew I was out of bay! I smiled sweetly, apologised, thanked him for being such a nice man and told him to have a lovely day. Sickly sweet and covered in sugar.

I got in the car where my sister was sitting, struggling to regain my breath after my Usain Bolt style sprint, and she said,

“I don’t get it. Both cars on either side of us had penalty tickets, as did all the ones around us. How did we escape that??!”

And with that, I would like to thank whoever was smiling down on my on Saturday. I bet it was my auntie. She never liked parking inspectors.

 

22 Responses to “Someone is Smiling!”

  1. Team Oyeniyi September 12, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    I need you in my corner next time I see one of them….

  2. LittleMissVix September 12, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Ooh lucky one, good job!

  3. prenin September 12, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    Wow! THAT WAS CLOSE!!! LoL!!! 🙂

    Always remember to have the change BEFORE you park – that way you don’t need to panic!!! 🙂

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

    • tinkerbelle86 September 16, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

      yeahyeahyeah change before you park, I know!!! but i had spent it all on more fun things!

  4. Bikram September 12, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    Yepp I dont like them tooo.. They are magnets to my CAR.. been ticketed so many times .. I hate them …

  5. susielindau September 12, 2011 at 3:43 pm #

    That happened to me once too! I could use some of your good luck with parking tickets….

  6. Nikki September 12, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    Oh my goodness you definitely got lucky girl!

  7. runningismagical September 12, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    WOOOO close call! I love lucky breaks!

  8. K.Just.Call.Me.K September 13, 2011 at 2:32 am #

    Haha, very lucky indeed. Or, as you said, smiled upon 🙂 by your aunt! How wonderful.

  9. Tilly Bud September 13, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    You lucky, lucky girl. But don’t push your luck next time 🙂

  10. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts September 13, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    I can’t believe he was giving tickets for being out of bay! Still, I’m glad you missed out given the others around you weren’t so lucky.

  11. thoughtsappear September 13, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    I’m glad you escaped the ticket! When we had the hurricane a couple weeks ago, I saw someone walking around giving tickets. Some drunk guy actually yelled, “It’s a hurricane! Stop giving tickets!”

  12. gojulesgo September 13, 2011 at 2:26 pm #

    Ulgh I know how you feel! So glad you got off this time. Some towns here (New Jersey) are SO bad! My mom once got a $50 ticket for backing into a spot (the lot had a head-in only rule), and we were literally only gone for 5 minutes.

    • tinkerbelle86 September 15, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

      yeah i saw that a lot when i was in california, we dont have way in rules in the UK, just see a space, aim between the lines and go for your life!

  13. lovelylici1986 September 13, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    LOVE when things like that happen. 🙂

  14. zendictive September 13, 2011 at 6:41 pm #

    your nominated (~_*)

  15. Danielle September 13, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    Probably shouldn’t make a habit of not being arsed to put another ticket on and hoping for the best though? No one likes a confrontation with a traffic man! Just lucky this guy had no organisational skills what-so-ever. Still i’m happy – i’m guessing we would have had to split the fine?? x

    • tinkerbelle86 September 13, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

      nope…. you would have paid… i drive, you pay for parking. only fair!! xx

  16. lhgardener1988 September 13, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    Really enjoyed this 🙂 I miss Wagamamas!

  17. richripley September 14, 2011 at 12:19 am #

    I enjoy reading your stories, they’re such a great change of pace and funny too. Added you to my blogroll. Take care!
    R

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

