Office Antics.. Its Like The Eden Project!

5 Sep

I work in an office. To give you a bit of background, most of the employees work upstairs, but a few of us work in a smaller room downstairs. We like to call it the ‘VIP area’, they like to call it ‘the pit’.

So the pit has some interesting rules of engagement, and some outright cold wars. It’s a microcosm of the rest of the office, and it can be a little weird. Often things are decided (like making a cup of tea) by getting down on one knee. The last person to assume said position is the maker of the brew, and it’s normally me as I don’t pay attention, although I am getting better. Other laws of the land are ‘gimp of the day’; an interesting award doled out to the person of the most stupid comment or action. Again, normally me. Last week I was awarded gimp of the day for my parking, and also for managing to spill my tea all over my desk .it’s a nice environment to work in, but there is one thing that really bothers me. The air con.

Dun dun duuuhhhhhhh!

There’s a battle going on out there people, its warfare. I’m often the first one in in the morning, so I walk into the room and instantly freeze. I whack the air con up. Boys arrive “blimey it’s like a sauna in here. Is there something wrong with you?!!!” air con goes down. Half an hour later icicles are hanging off my nose and I have made endless cups of tea to keep my hands warm and fingers nimble enough to respond to emails. Heating sneakily goes up. The issue is that it beeps as it climbs up the degrees so you have to be super stealthy to ensure no one is made aware of the climate change. Boss walks in and comments on how cold it is. Heating goes up a few clicks more. Boys sign and roll their eyes, taking off jumpers in a mock ‘we are dying’ guise.

Room becomes sub tropical, but we girls cannot concede to the heat or risk losing our moral high ground on the temperature. We all begin to melt. Heat goes down again.

For this reason I have an emergency hoodie in my bottom drawer, and I often have to borrow one of the boy’s fleeces. They come past my knees and I have to roll up the arms about eight times to find my hands.

Fun and games!

15 Responses to “Office Antics.. Its Like The Eden Project!”

  1. prenin September 5, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Sounds like fun – I like the temperature to be 26’C if I’m not doing the cleaning, 21’C if I plan to sleep.

    Needless to say that means I’m wandering around in long-legged boxers during the day and sleep with the window open at night.

    Unfortunately most of it has to do with the medication which slows your metabolism rather a lot so you don’t burn calories as well as a healthy person – and makes you very hungry!

    No wonder it is taking many months to lose weight…

    On the plus side I am happy to report I now weight 115Kg so the weight IS coming off slowly!!! 🙂

    Have a great week at work my tiny friend!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. charlywalker September 5, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Looks like a job for Con Air…….Malkovich can cure anything…

    spread the humor: chalrywalker.wordpress.com

  3. Ipodman September 5, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    Quit your job.

    (I’m jus kidding… :D)

    But srsly… 😐

    • tinkerbelle86 September 5, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

      argh where have you been? ive missed your humour 🙂

  4. RDoug September 5, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Another “chilling” tale from the ever-ongoing War Between the Sexes—The Battle of the Thermostat!

  5. AG September 5, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    I LOVE OFFICE POLITICS!!!! I DEAL WITH THEM EVERYDAY!!! I TOTALLY TOTALLY RELATE! I laughed so so hard, thank you for the laughs!

  6. LittleMissVix September 5, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    Haha air con fights, it’s the same in all offices the world over! Luckily we have windows that you can open too so that’s a good compromise. Always bring an extra layer!

  7. lovelylici1986 September 5, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    Good thing I’m the only one in my office. I turn the a/c on, and then it gets super cold. So I turn it off. Then, I’m all like, “It’s hot in here.” So I turn it on. And on it goes. My a/c gets turned on and off about 6 times every day.

  8. gojulesgo September 5, 2011 at 8:51 pm #

    Ha! I love this. Contests over who makes the tea? Gimp of the day? So great. I mean, most Americans are into coffee (myself absolutely included), but the tea thing fascinates me. We drink coffee in the morning, but there’s no real coffee time during the day, and certainly no contests. Does anyone in England NOT drink tea? (I actually am really curious about this. Are non tea-drinkers shunned from polite society?)

    • tinkerbelle86 September 5, 2011 at 10:18 pm #

      its illegal Jules. Theyre thrown straight in the tower of london 😉 honestly i wish this was true, it just isnt right xx

    • prenin September 5, 2011 at 10:32 pm #

      Like a lot of my friends I drink tea (there are many varieties including fruit teas and herbal mixtures), but I also happily drink coffee when I’m working, or as a change of pace.

      I even have a coffee maker sat on top of my cupboard because for years I was into some seriously strong ground beans coffee that kept me going when I had a deadline to beat.

      I am also a Garfield fan! LoL!!!

      God Bless!

      Prenin.

  9. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts September 6, 2011 at 5:24 am #

    I have a similar war going on with the office down the hall from mine…we’re all controlled by one airconditioning unit, but there’s only an on/off button within our control. My office seems to get hotter quicker than theirs, so they want the airconditioner off and the heater on when I want the airconditioner on ahd the heater off! I normally want heat, so this is really saying something… Lots of sneaky button pushing results!

  10. graysonjack September 6, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    That sucks. I suppose I’m lucky in that I work in a laboratory that is required to hover around 23C or 73.4F for my fellow Americans. It’s nice year around. But I’m a guy so that might seem good to me and cold to the girls. What’s the right temp. miss Tinkerbelle?

  11. Gretchen O'Donnell September 6, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    I remember stuff like that when living with roommates in college. Oy, I was glad when I got my own place!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

