Just Make It Clap

30 Aug

I love a good bank holiday weekend. It makes you feel like you have a tiny little holiday, and although you normally get two days off together, the appeal of three makes you do things a little differently. So on Saturday I had a bake off with my sister, and then on Sunday night decided to go out for a drink and a dance with a friend.

I had a bit of a wobble around five when it rained and contemplated cancelling it, in favour of sitting in and watching the House box set, but I sucked it up and went.

I’m getting old. I know age is but a number, but when she turned up at nearly nine on a Sunday night I couldn’t help but think that if the next day was a working day, I would have been firmly positioned in my bed with a cup of tea by now, or alternatively watching a rubbish film with the house girls. But I went out all the same, and came to this conclusion. I’m not as young as I used to be. Yes, I know, I’m only twenty five and in the prime of life blah blah, but I can honestly say that I don’t move as quick as I used to, nor do I want to. I like going out for dinner and watching films, whereas five years ago I liked dancing till dawn and shoes didn’t hurt my feet.

Oh how the times have changed. We went to a bar and had a few drinks, and then made our greatest mistake. We decided to go onto a club. It was a Sunday night, and although we thought it would be quite busy, it really wasn’t. But it was nice, we sat and chatted and went for a dance without being accidently elbowed in the head by a tall man, or having our feet trampled by a clumsy girl in stilettos. Bonus!

We were wearing jeans and heels, and felt a bit done up for a Sunday night on the tiles but were reassured however that we were not when five girls in hot pants stumbled through the room on route to the bar. There are some things that you don’t want to see, and another girl’s bum cheeks are one of them. Sure, bums are nice, but not on public display.

We went for a dance. And this is where the fun began. Minding our own business and having a laugh, we were approached by three lads who looked like extras from One Direction.

Young, fashionable and with excess hair coiffed to perfection. One started telling Becky that she needed to clap, and began to clap in an awkward, dance-off way. Becky looked around, embarrassed.

I laughed and danced off by myself, not caring that I looked like I was on my own, more to enjoy myself than be dragged into a clapping vacuum. But I didn’t move fast enough. Clappy’s pal collared me telling me I looked like Rachel Bilson (I don’t) and that I NEEDED to dance with him. I asked him how old he was.

“20!” he said. Lord, I do look younger than I am. I did the obligatory “aaaahh!! sweet” which normally puts them off, and he then decided he was 22. A bit less confidently. I didn’t crack a smile. “24?” he asked? Still not old enough for me honey bunch! I politely let him tell me about his degree and dorm room, until I made a swift exit to the loo, where we regrouped and had a bit of a giggle.

Not put off, we went back for another dance, to a different area of the room. by this time my feet were aching, and I could hear my bed calling me. I was tired. But I would not be defeated! We bopped around for a bit longer, and then made our decision to go home. At the door we were cornered by the three musketeers, who enquired where we were going.

“Home? But its only half one!”

16 Responses to “Just Make It Clap”

  1. prenin August 30, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    I have been to only one club, Rockworld, got insulted by the tosser DJ, hit on by a tranny and a woman looking for trade!

    I came home drunk on white lightning and woke on my 21st birthday to a banging hangover and a thunder storm!

    NEVER AGAIN!!! LoL!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide August 30, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    Ha, 9 is getting pretty close to my bedtime. I remember not going out until after 10 or 11 in college.

    • tinkerbelle86 August 30, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

      i know me too. its mad now! i need my hot water bottle and bed.

  3. clairerhoads August 30, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    Very nice post. I lived in Kingston upon Thames for around 2 years before heading back to California. Yay Britannia! Whereabouts are you?

  4. gojulesgo August 30, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    Ha! I feel you, girl. I’m 29 and pretty soon I’m going to start going to bed when it’s still light out.

  5. ceciliag August 30, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    that is a brilliant pick up line.. CLAP! ha ha

    • tinkerbelle86 August 30, 2011 at 4:27 pm #

      there is a fine line between brilliance and stupidity

  6. Sandra Bell Kirchman August 31, 2011 at 7:13 am #

    I just got the feeling of how it feels to be young (well, 25) and being told by older people that you are still young, in the prime of life, wait till you get to be my age, blah blah blah.

    I had a flashback to when I was 25 (nearly half a century ago :P), and I had a backache. I would complain about it (which is self-defeating right there), and older people would say, ach, you’re young, you’ll grow out of it, wait till you’re my age…then you’ll know what a sore back is.

    And I thought (although I wisely didn’t say) – what? does that mean younger people don’t feel pain, that they don’t have trouble sometimes, that they don’t feel old sometimes. Sometimes I would just walk away from them, because how can you argue.

    So yeah, I can relate. I’ll have to keep those episodes in mind 🙂

  7. thepitchforkzombie August 31, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    I like your blog!

  8. Kernut August 31, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    I can’t remember my 20’s… but I do know much of that time was spent hanging out in bars. But you did bring back the memories of why I stopped going. I’m usually home by 9:00 or 10:00 at the latest. And when did shoes start hurting our feet? I used to LIVE in high heels without any problems.

    But I am considering going back to the clubs if it means I might get hit on by some young, virile men!

  9. Kristina September 1, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Great post Tink!
    “Half one” means only five hours left till I get up for work!

  10. startingoveringermany September 2, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    I know what your talking about. I think in life we all go through a time line of maturity, experience, and knowing what one body can handle. Thanks goodness for childhood. Having no responsibility, teen days, getting responsibility and thought how it sucks but still enjoyed life as we go through our changes, adult own the responsibility suck it up and get it done but start to whine down a bit. Middle age we look back and think about how time flies. Old age we go down memory lane a few times looking at choices and see where it lead us laughing if not crying about it. Think about the beyond but try to stay focus and enjoy now. (sorry I have friends of many ages and I listen to each one stories and related to life as well in what you wrote….great post by the way).

  11. Team Oyeniyi September 2, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    Oh, you poor old thing, you! 😆

  12. She's a Maineiac September 3, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    Oh, yes, my 20s…those were the days. I remember when I turned 29, that was the beginning of truly knowing my old partying days were over. Now that I’m in my 40s, I look forward to parking myself on the couch, watching TV then going to bed at 9 pm. It only goes downhill from here!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

