Eat, Pray… Snore

29 Aug

I’ve recently been attempting to read ‘Eat, Pray, Love’. I thought it would be beautiful and give me a sense of purpose, and clear up all the unsettled thoughts in my head. Inspirational! I thought.
In truth, I haven’t been able to finish it. I made it through eat, as I have a vested interest, but pray really isn’t doing it for me, and I can’t quite make it to love. The Geordie did make a good point when asking why I was reading it “you hate soppy shit!” but still, I persevere. Sorry to all the people who enjoyed it, but I can’t help but think a large amount of these people saw the film, rather than worked their way through the book. I haven’t seen it myself, preferring to read a novel before attempting the screenplay, but the way it’s going I think I might give it a miss.
One bit really stuck with me though. I’m not sure whether it was the intended purpose of the part, but the story tells that Elizabeth was having such a rubbish time that she sat in the car with her friend and shouted at the universe. She asked for the thing that she wanted, and then shouted a list of all the people that she knew that would want it for her too. And it came true.
OK, so am not going insane, nor am I going to start talking to myself when driving, but the thing I took away from this was the point of if you want something, why not just ask for it?
So this is what I am asking from September.
1) That it doesn’t snow.
Ok, jokes over, what I’m really asking from September is:

Just for things to be a little easier! I have been sick and skint and sad in August, and I wish for September to be back to awesome, and also add affluent and achieving into the mix.

And also to win the lottery. And maybe for someone to send me some flowers.
My dearest friend swears by the Spice Girls to help her through in moments of uncertainty. The feisty five have often returned her helpful advice (“if you want my future, forget my past”…. “Friendship never ends”….. “Who do you think you are??” etc) so for this one, it seems I really really really want to zig a zig ah!

20 Responses to “Eat, Pray… Snore”

  1. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts August 29, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    I didn’t like the book either – but I do like your September wishes. I hope you get them too!

  2. ceciliag August 29, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Well it didn’t Snow today!>,, so thank you for wishing that! i am not sure that wishing works, Tink. I know doing does. And look at all the awesome stuff you are doing!,, hope you have some great things lined up for this next month. Go zip that zag honey! c

  3. prenin August 29, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    I pray that all your good dreams come true hun!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. Spectra August 29, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    After all of the Oprah hype on this book, I eventually saw the film, and couldn’t finish watching it. B-o-r-i-n-g!

    That said, go shout it out at the Universe. It works! I once shouted at the universe in my journal, all CAPITOLS, that I wanted a small row boat which I had trouble finding. I stated exactly how it would look, and that it should be free. 40 days later, sunk in the creek right outside my backdoor, there it was. Exactly the boat I had asked for! I still have it. An absolute conviction, with no doubt at all, will bring you what you want. Exactly! Put the entire force of your will into it, get angry if you must, and then sit back and thank God and the Powers That Be for getting to work on sending you whatever it is that you desire. It will happen. Be specific! And good luck in September.

    • tinkerbelle86 August 30, 2011 at 8:14 am #

      i think i might feel like a bit of a wally…. lets see how this week goes. but thats fantastic about the boat, I might do a test appeal and beg for ryan reynolds 🙂

  5. Gretchen O'Donnell August 29, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    I haven’t even bothered to read that book…not planning to, either. I’ve heard several people say they couldn’t finish it…so why should I mess with my mind and get bogged down, too?!! Glad to hear that you are justifying my opinions!! Anyway, I hope your September is full of sunshine and happiness…seriously!

  6. Megan August 29, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    Hmmmmm… I am bit disappointed to hear that it is a bit of a snore! I too am one to read the novel before seeing a film adaptation. Haven’t yet had a chance to give it a shot yet. BUT, their may be a chance I still like seeing as I am a bit more of a sap than you 😉

  7. magpietimes August 30, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

    I agree…there was very little that the movie did to me ( I saw the movie…didn’t inspire me to read the book though), except for the ‘eat’ part 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 August 30, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

      yes, i have a vested interest in the eat (she says as she is typing with one hand and eating with the other) but the rest is just painful!

  8. Domestic Goddess in Training August 30, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    I did not make it past “eat” either. I keep telling myself I will come back to it, but so far I have not had time (or wanted to make time) to try it again.
    I also believe in the Spice Girls advice… although S club 7 (or S Club, depending on the time frame of the song) can be inspiring too. [Yes, I have an addiction to cheesy pop bands of the 80’s and 90’s.]
    “Follow your hearts desire
    Reach for the stars
    And when that rainbow’s shining over you
    That’s when your dreams will all come true”

  9. Sandra Bell Kirchman August 30, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    I’m sorry you are feeling sad and sick. But what is “skint”?

    When you are wishing for things, you need to be really specific. If you are wishing for a car, don’t just say, “I wish for a car.” Say, “I wish for a 2010 blue two-door Ford Fiesta.” When you are wishing, it works better if (a) you really want whatever you are wishing for; (b) you truly believe it will happen.

    The Universe will give us what we ask for, but we have to be specific and we have to feel that we deserve it. Otherwise, if we ask for a car, we’ll be lucky if we get a pregnant rollerskate.

    Lastly, we have to be reasonable about timing. We can say, I want one million dollars (or pounds as the case may be) in unmarked bills tomorrow. It ain’t gonna happen. But if you say, within the next year, and you really need it and you believe you will get it…I bet you will get some kind of windfall within the next year. And if you believe you deserve one million, then you might even get that.

    Get happy, Belle. *hug*

    • tinkerbelle86 August 30, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

      sorry. language translation. im going to start a tab for these, we all have them all the time! skint = poor. penniless. destitute!!! in all honesty i wrote this last week, and now i feel better. its amazing what a bit of cake and a bank holiday can do, isnt it Sandra?! xx

  10. traveloutloud August 30, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    Its true, Eat Pray Love can be a bit of a snore. You have to be in the right mood. Elizabeth Gilbert is pretty whiney and complains about issues that I wouldn’t complain about. But, that’s the whole point of the book. Its the story of her complete breakdown and then her journey to build back up. The “Eat” part was fun for me to read. The “Pray” part was painful for me to read but then it gets fun again when she’s in Bali.

    I suggest you keep reading. Don’t skip the part in India, skim it. Then get back into the Bali part.

  11. isladeangela August 30, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog and taking the time to comment – it gives me warm fuzzies every time some comments! 😀 I’m bummed you didn’t care for Eat, Pray, Love – I’ve actually read it twice!! Oh well, I think she’s near 50 so your life stories (goals etc…) at this time of your life (25 yrs, I think?) are probably very far off. I didn’t enjoy the movie, though. I also have 3 kids so the idea of escaping for a year, like she did, and just focusing on myself is pretty dreamy! I’ll be back! ~ Angie

  12. suzicate August 31, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    That was not one of my favorites either. And this was one of the few times I thought the movie was way better than the book!

  13. The T August 31, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    Well being a man, i’m not allowed to read that book…(of maybe it doesn’t have pictures and I’m certain you ladies know we love pictures)….

    i can’t really see you as much of a reader however… You seem to be the kind of girl who loves to get out and do things… as for being skint….well I can always hope you find an amazing barrister or doctor to help you there… most girls wouldn’t mind marrying one of them for some nice pocket change…lol…
    Anyway amazing woman, I hope this weekend you’re gonna do more than read!

    T.

    • tinkerbelle86 August 31, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

      ah thanks that was such a sweet comment! im a massive reader actually, i love burying my head in a book. i think actually lawyers/doctors/barristers are the worst, theyre the ones that are addicted to their work!! but this weekend i promise ill be getting out and doing 🙂

  14. truthwithdoris August 31, 2011 at 7:27 pm #

    from experience I know that wishing works. worked for me in best way, I met my soul mate 6 years ago, we got married 2 years after and last year we got our baby girl 🙂

  15. xxsplitendsxx September 1, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    I never read the book but saw the movie and that was enough for me. I found the movie to be not connected and didn’t transition well together. Plus I found the ending and whole learning experience of the character to be pathetic. It seems like she does this whole thing to find who she is and get away from the typical marriage and falls right back into what she hated. Maybe the book is different but I’m not willing to find out ha.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

