You’ve Got Mail

27 Aug

My inbox used to be the sort of place that made me happy; full of emails from friends and family members, or things that I actually needed to do, like pay my credit card or remember someone’s birthday. Fun things.

But now it has become the place of disappointment. As I comment on more blogs or sign up to more services, more and more spam filters in like weeds pushing their way up through the paving slabs. And I feel cheated.

One new message! Screams my notifier. How exciting! Maybe someone wants to offer me a million pounds and send me to Bermuda to write an article on the phenomenon of the triangle, or send me some Zara clothes to ponce around the office in and review for some glamorous glossy magazine. Nope.

Secret escapes.

An email that informs me of all the fantastic places I could go should I have the bank balance or the holiday left. Frankly disappointing. No less disappointing is the next one, an email from Marie Claire to tell me all about the designer clothes the Beckham’s baby is wearing or that Ryan Reynolds is back on the market. I don’t care! (Im trying not to feign interest for the latter).

(gratuitous man shot, just what one needs)

The worst one is runner’s world. I think I signed up for that while training for the race for life, in a bid to prolong the agony and sign up for another run. Sanity soon returned and I didn’t, but they feel the need to inform me that my running shoes might not offer me the support I need. They are supporting me greatly actually, from the comfort of the shoe bag I keep in the murky depths of my wardrobe. I know that should I need their unwavering support, they will be there for me. Or, ill only be able to find one of them and decide to watch Eastenders instead. Better.

I am duly disabling the notifier.

10 Responses to “You’ve Got Mail”

  1. Natasha McNeely August 27, 2011 at 8:59 am #

    Spam is extremely annoying. I’m lucky enough that not much of it gets past my spam folder and into my actual inbox. The best you can do, like you mentioned, is disable notifiers of things you don’t want to receive any more and see if there’s any way to block the other emails from reaching you.
    Email providers have a fair amount of options, so there’s sure to be something that will work for you.

  2. prenin August 27, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Long Live the Hotmail Spam FIlter!!! Yaaay!!! 🙂

    I get spam from Amazon, Play, Tooled up etc. who seem to see my custom as a devine right to spam me, so I weed them out first before getting down to the good stuff!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  3. ceciliag August 27, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    Well at least you are not alone! with this irritaition! c

  4. sn2snblog August 27, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    I posted up a reply in response 🙂

    http://sn2snblog.wordpress.com/2011/08/27/spam-box-disappointments/

  5. gojulesgo August 27, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    haha I know exactly where you’re coming from. And also, thank you for the gratuitous Ryan Reynolds shot. Funny + six pack shouldn’t even be allowed.

    • tinkerbelle86 August 27, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

      Actually I think funny six pack/face like that should be a rule, life would be much happier! Xx

  6. graysonjack August 28, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    The other day I got so fed up with getting spam every 3 hours from a particular flower delivery company that I wrote a 2 paragraph email and sent it to them one word at a time. I know it doesn’t do any good as no one reads it, but it made me feel better.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spam box disappointments. « Sn2Sn;blog - August 27, 2011

    […] 2011 This post is in reply to Tinks “You’ve got mail” post. <a href=”http://laughteriscatching.com/2011/08/27/youve-got-mail/&#8221; target=”blank”>See […]

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

