Didgeree Do One

23 Aug

Today I just want to up sticks and run. I deliberately didn’t wear my flip flops this morning (I know, something mental must be going on. It’s not December, and therefore its flip flop season!) maybe with the subconscious desire to just walk out the door, and keep walking. It makes me think that these people who disappear from their lives one day might not be mental, but might just have simply had enough of every day.

I don’t think that the weather helps. I left my bathroom window open last night and woke up this morning with my duvet on my head and the rest of my body covered in frost bite. Well, not quite, but it seems the strange habit I have of wrapping my head in my king size is having a detrimental effect on the rest of my body and I haven’t been able to warm up since, despite copious amounts of tea consumption and a packet of jaffa cakes on the road to being completely destroyed.

The idea of grabbing my car keys (I wrote this and then wondered why. If I’m walking, why will I need the car keys?) and heading out the door is tempting. I could take my credit card and jump on the first plane leaving Heathrow, to some glorious beach or tempting destination. Las Vegas? Manila? Christchurch? Any of the above please Mr Branson.  But the idea of just leaving my train wreck of a life behind and starting a new one is fantastic right now. Just assuming a fake moustache and glasses, and being another person.

I do not care for the rain, nor do I care for the fact that Big Brother is on AGAIN, or the fact that the nurse feels I should have some sort of invasive treatment to balance my sugar levels. I do not care for medicine, for douchebags or for spiders, and right now I do not care for my fingernails, which all broke last week and are not irritating me as I watch my fingers type. I do not care for cleaning the bathroom (strike me down, I must be mental!) I am irratiblis horriblis, and I just found a jaffa cake with no chocolate so I am going to write a letter to cheer myself up. With photographic evidence.

Normal service will resume again soon, maybe when the sky stops crying!

On the upside, Betty’s health check cost me less than two hundred quid, so there are always reasons to be cheerful. Toot toot!!

19 Responses to “Didgeree Do One”

  1. prenin August 23, 2011 at 11:29 am #

    We all have days like these Tinks – Know that you are loved by people you have never met and that we’ll be right here for you through thick and thin!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs sweety – Glad Betty passed her MOT!!! 🙂

    Prenin.

  2. mairedubhtx August 23, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    There are days that I feel like just running away, too. Glad I’m not the only one.

  3. Luke August 23, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    Hey I’m glad you like it!

  4. planetross August 23, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    I never feel like running away: I just feel like looking around somewhere else for a change.

    As Bilbo Baggins says, “It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”

    I’m up for dangerous business … and maybe a beach.

    • tinkerbelle86 August 23, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      meet you there then.. .ill let you choose the beach, cos im good like that 🙂 but i would strongly recommend la jolla!

  5. jofranciszek August 23, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    I know the feeling of wanting to run away. And it’s mostly “away” not “to”. Funny how I’m in my point of life when I want to change the place I live in, career and what goes with it colleagues and way of life. Hoping to be able to fit more, do more, think more and generally versify the way I spend my time. Ah those decisions… to have a cookie or to eat cookie.. this is the question 😉

  6. scrambled7 August 23, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    I think we all need to “run away” sometimes.

  7. didex August 23, 2011 at 4:17 pm #

    Lovely…

  8. Caroline August 23, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    We all definitely have these kind of days, but they soon shall pass!

    • tinkerbelle86 August 23, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

      im sure it will, and some guacamole and prigles tonight will definately help 🙂

  9. Geni - Sweet and Crumby August 23, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    Yes…I would love to just walk away for a weekend even. Just to have two whole days to myself where no one knows where I am and can’t track me down. I think my house would fall down though and my crazy teenagers would have overtaken their dad. It would not be good.

  10. magsx2 August 23, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    Hi,
    I think most people feel like getting away from it all for awhile, and when you have the chance to do so, coming back home always feels nice, and you feel like a new person, for a little while anyway. 🙂

  11. jenjen2010 August 23, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    aaaaw keep your head up, Lovely!

  12. mario August 23, 2011 at 8:20 pm #

    A week ago, I had a Facebook status along these lines. I only had one person out of 20 people or more say “no” to ever feeling like they wanted to up and leave. I wasn’t impressed. Instead I pitied them. Thanks for giving me my next topic. I’m feeling this one.

  13. Rach @ This Italian Family August 24, 2011 at 2:09 am #

    Aww, you got this, girl! We all have days/times like this. Keep your chin up! 🙂

  14. jane0018 August 24, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    Thanks for the fantastic blog post and it is nice to see such a postive blog that offers so much value so thank you for that. Awesome and interesting article.

  15. Team Oyeniyi August 24, 2011 at 11:30 am #

    See – that’s why you needed the keys – ‘cos Betty is still with you!

    • tinkerbelle86 August 24, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      Betty has since cost me another seventy quid, but at least im not worried that i might find her at the bottom of the hill if i park anywhere other than a completely flat road!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

