School Trip Scandal

14 Aug

When I was at school, we went on school trips. Bear in mind that I was at primary school a good fifteen years ago, so they weren’t the kind of trips that kids go on these days. My cousins in America enjoy the elephant sanctuaries in Thailand and surfing off the coast of Hawaii… me? I went as far as Le Touquet. They were always slightly budget, but Le Touquet had to be hands down the worst school trip I ever went on. Worse that the trip to Henley Fort ( a mere twenty minutes away from home) where it rained solidly for 48 hours while we slept in tents and the teachers resided in an actual building. This was the excursion on which I tripped over a tent peg and broke my toe, and my friend dragged me by the armpits pulling my top up and baring my boobs to my form. I was far too young to be wearing a bra, but the embarrassment stuck with me for life.

So back to Le Touquet. If you have read my post on teachers you will have a bit of a background on the aforementioned trip, but we headed off all excited about visiting France and having some fun. We were eleven. Our idea of fun was fairly low, so it wasn’t expected to disappoint. We go to the hostel which seemed to be the French equivalent of a halfway house for adults, finding our rooms to be on the fourth floor and full of sand. The teachers rallied the troops for an impromptu game of football on the beach to cheer us up, after all, we couldn’t play football on a beach at home! We walked the twenty minutes to the sand for the game to be stopped as soon as it started due to the sheer amount of dog pooh under the sand. Health and safety. Back we went to beds full of sand and people banging on the doors through the night. We huddled together for safety.

The next day we all went for breakfast and in the time it took us to munch on our croissants and down our tea, one of the rooms got broken into and one of the boys wallets was stolen. So we ALL had to get on the coach and make the trip to the local police station, where we sat for four hours. We waited there, on the bus in the scorching heat because the gendarme would not let us off, possibly again for health and safety. A squashed child on the road outside the police station would have done nothing for international relations.

The next day, our last, was due to be better. Off we went, on the bus again to the local swimming pool, where we were promised a day of rapids and flumes and bobbing about to our hearts content. We didn’t even mind too much that our horrible French teacher was wearing a speedo (pass me the brain bleach!) and we frolicked and swam until home time. We had to leave the pool relatively swiftly to have time in the duty free at Calais before we went home.

But one of the girls had had her locker emptied, and therefore had no clothes to change back into. Back to the police station we went, and sat there for a further two hours while the issue got reported and all the correct paperwork got filled in. Quick sit in traffic back to Calais and straight on the ferry, do not pass go, do not stop at duty free.

So if you need to know anything about the intricate workings of a French police station then I am probably the best person to ask, but otherwise I would gloss over me when researching the country. And if anyone wants to take my on a road trip to France, please may I request we avoid Le Touquet.

12 Responses to “School Trip Scandal”

  1. prenin August 14, 2011 at 7:46 am #

    Yeah School trips WERE pretty Naff! 😦

    Ours to Holland left me with food poisoning and I missed out on all the good stuff, but gave the 18 year old waitress who looked after me a silver clog on a silver chain that she was delighted by! 🙂

    What a crap trip, but worth it in so many other ways…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. zingalvs August 14, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    lol.. the bad memories in Le Touquet overwhelmed the good ones to the point of your never going back.. (“,)

  3. Sam Drury August 14, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    exellent!, just found you, just started blogging myself.

    Pain au chocolate?

  4. Danielle August 14, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    When the kids in our year went to La Touque someone broke their leg at the swimming pool.
    When i went to Germany we were on the coach home and it was about 2am and the teachers woke us all up and made us get off the coach so they could buy discount alcohol in France. Somehow it didn’t seem right!

  5. Sandi Ormsby August 14, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    I grew up Southern CA and we never had school trips. Actually, while in 4th and 5th grade (many moons ago)…there was an annual day trip to reward those with good grades. I qualified both times, but they chose the same place…La Brea Tar Pits. Although getting out of class is great, watching the tar bubble is fascinating for about 5 minutes. Then you head into see all the bones of dinosaurs they found stuck in tar…but it’s a museum. When you have a group of 30 kids- you can’t really hear and you quickly lose interest. Back then, you couldn’t touch anything- there was no kids section with “mock” excavation/discovery. I’d rather be playing on the playground. Thereafter, budgets and insurance became too much of an obstacle and field trips no longer existed. The district had to cover insurance for each kid on the trip & it became too expensive.

    So, at least you got trips??? Although, rain and tents- been there done that once and it was miserable. Police stations…that stinks, but makes for great blog posts!

    Sandi
    http://www.ahhsome.wordpress.com
    Lake Forest, CA

    P.S. Know of anyone wanting to lose weight- follow my weight loss posts, every Monday. The program I’m doing, you lose 2-5lbs a week and it’s easy- whether someone wants to lose a quick 5lbs to someone who needs to lose 100+.

  6. anne August 15, 2011 at 3:25 am #

    Wow… I wonder what high-class-private-school your cousins go to??! I spent all my school years here in the U.S., and like Sandi we got to go to places like the local zoo or museums… certainly nowhere exciting, and never any over-nighters! I mean, it was still better than a day in the classroom, but I’ve never been out of state – much less the country – on a field trip!

  7. lilthechic August 15, 2011 at 10:21 am #

    The only school trip i remember taking was in Junior High. We were learning about history and stuff about black slavery et al. so we headed for badagry (supposed to be where slaves were first taken in Nigeria). We visited the grave of the man who interpreted the bible into Yoruba (a local language) and saw slavery related stuff. It was a cool trip until a head count was done and we realized a boy was missing…Talk about Panic! We were hundreds of kilometers away from school.

    The teachers called authorities immediately and a search began. We all had to sit in the school bus and wait. That was the first time i saw a grown woman shed tears.

    Four hours later, the silly boy was found eating cakes and talking nonchalantly at a bakery nearby.

    The principal didn’t approve another school trip again.

  8. Team Oyeniyi August 15, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    I never went on a school trip, for various reasons. Correspondence school until I was 10, for a start. The boarding school for a couple of years.

    I sent my daughter on a school trip from Australia to Germany though. She loved it. And overspent!!!

  9. egills August 15, 2011 at 12:26 pm #

    Wow you got to go abroad on a school trip? We got to go to Lyme Regis for a trip one year…..
    My twin brother got lost in Germany when we were on an exchange, oddly he managed to break his arm that holiday too…

  10. LifeofMat August 16, 2011 at 2:55 am #

    It would have been great for a school trip to visit France. When I was ten, our school bussed us over a few towns to San Francisco where we played Bum Dodging and Fairy Spotting.

  11. thoughtsappear August 17, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    That sounds awful! The only field trips we ever went on were to DC or battlefields…all of which are about an hour away. I feel jipped that I never went to Hawaii for a field trip.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

