Mischievous Movements of a Cherub ~ Part 2

13 Aug

In 2008 I went on a trip across the world to Australia to visit a friend of mine who had just had a baby. My sister requested that she borrow my most prized possession, my new Vauxhall Corsa that I had only recently bought. I was a little apprehensive; after all it was the most expensive thing I owned, and probably ever will (I have a real issue with the idea of buying a house. It’s the being tied to an area concept, despite the fact I was born and raised less than five miles from where I live today) but I duly agreed. It was insured in her name, and I boarded the flight, leaving my beloved little Betty in my sisters loving hands.

Three days later I got a text message. “there has been an accident with your car.” that was it. As soon as I got the message I tried to cal my little sister, who had turned her phone off as a solution to having any dialogue with me about the state of my car. the phone remained off for four days while I had kittens about the state of my car, imagining that it had been written off and was now crushed somewhere, slowly rusting.

After forty eight hours I got hold of my mother. “ don’t be cross with her she is very worried. She reversed it into a skip.”

Oh. My. Goodness. Any sympathy for her rapidly vanished when I realised it was entirely her fault; there had been no other car to collide with or even any moving object. Nope, my sister had simply not looked, and reversed it into a skip. A large, inanimate object. The knob.

15 Responses to “Mischievous Movements of a Cherub ~ Part 2”

  1. Simply Paul August 13, 2011 at 7:55 am #

    Ouch!!! I guess she was lucky you were the other side of the world.

  2. Lafemmeroar August 13, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    Things come in threes what’s next for your sister. Let’s see first she ate your shoe, then she wrecks your car … what’s next … oooh too afraid to even think of the next disaster at your expense 🙂

  3. prenin August 13, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    At least she didn’t run into a person – I hope she paid for the damage though!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. Team Oyeniyi August 14, 2011 at 2:46 am #

    As someone currently teaching my husband to drive – I empathose completely!!

    I echo prenin’s senitments – at least no people were hurt, that is the main thing.

    Was you are repairable/repaired?

    • Team Oyeniyi August 14, 2011 at 2:47 am #

      EmpathIse, even. Sheesh – typing lessons needed!

    • prenin August 14, 2011 at 7:27 am #

      Senitments even??? LoL!!!

      Don’t worry – I too have off days… 🙂

      Love and hugs!

      Prenin.

      • Team Oyeniyi August 14, 2011 at 9:26 am #

        Oh, the whole damn thing is off – LOL – “Was you are..???” Was your car….

  5. Sandra Bell Kirchman August 14, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    What’s a skip?

    • Team Oyeniyi August 14, 2011 at 9:27 am #

      If you are USA, I think you call them rubbish something or others – BIG . oh I know, I think – dumpster??

      • Sandra Bell Kirchman August 14, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

        Ah, thank you, Oyeniyi. Dumpster makes sense. We need a TransAtlantic (or TransPacific, as the case may be) translation dictionary.

  6. Danielle August 14, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    a) you offered the use of the car
    b) IT WAS AN ACCIDENT
    c) You broke my brand new camera that by dropping it on a rock when you were drunk
    d) I’m still very sorry but at least its not noticeable xx

    • tinkerbelle86 August 14, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

      hahaha…. i know 🙂

    • Team Oyeniyi August 15, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

      Your c) cancels out the car incident. TOTALLY!!! Except for the switching off of the phone.

  7. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts August 15, 2011 at 5:19 am #

    I laughed at this, and then even harder when I saw your sister’s (I presume!) comment above. Funny afterwards, but I suspect not funny at the time 🙂

  8. Sam Drury August 17, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    My father saved up for a few years to buy a mercedes convertible. Brand spanking new it was – my little sister was 4 at the time. He’d had it in the garage for little under an hour – before she took a stone from the drive way and scratched – ‘I love you daddy’ into the side of it.

    At least your sister didnt do THAT!

    Great blog, I’ll be following…

    S

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

