Who You Gonna Call?

10 Aug

Some people feel that this is it that once you leave this world there is nothing else for you. You are born, you die. End of. Other people believe that when you die a part of you is left behind, and that is how the idea of ghosts comes about.


“I ain’t afraid of no ghost!”

I’m not sure where I sit on this one. A few years ago I went on a bank holiday trip with friends to one of their family homes; a gorgeous Georgian manor in Blandford. The house has been there for centuries, and the whole family claim to reside there with a host of ghosts. One lady is said to sit on a chair in what is now the laundry area but would have once been the maid’s quarters, and another little girl runs the halls on the top floor. I never saw anything or felt like anyone else was there with me, so I just don’t know.

First boyfriend lived in a new house, built on the grounds of a church. It was rumoured (although no one actually had any concrete evidence) that the graves had been moved, but once were where the houses now stood. We had a massive fight one night after he accused me of trying to scare him by walking past the bathroom door when he was brushing his teeth. I was upstairs in bed, minding my own business at the time.

Another friend lived in an old Victorian house in a crescent that surrounded a green. His sister often slept with headphones in to cover the ‘noise of the little girls’. Apparently their chattering and crying was so loud it often kept her awake at night. Her mother thought it was a phase, and they moved house, but a few years later she bought a book of Victorian Guildford and was looking through the pictures of the town. There was a picture of the green outside with their old house behind, and in the forefront of the picture, three little girls, who she recognised from keeping her up in the night. Spooky stuff!

I’m not sure how much of the whole ghosts and ghouls phenomenon I believe, so I’m interested on what you all think!

Have you had any run ins of the ghostly kind?

19 Responses to “Who You Gonna Call?”

  1. andrewbuckleyxd August 10, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    Honestly, I think that there are too many cases of people experiencing paranormal encounters for people to doubt that ‘SOMETHING’ does exist.

    Now, I can say it’s never happened to me, but people I know have had very severe altercations with ‘spirits’ or ‘demons’, and these would be people who aren’t prone to exaggerating or boasting. They have had Priests in to deal with the situations and then they have all ceased being a problem.

    We don’t know everything about these presences, but to doubt it’s existence is ignorant.

  2. prenin August 10, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    I have many stories to tell hun, but I am a sensitive soul so maybe what I’ve seen and experienced is down to that.

    All I do know is that there’s more to it than mere imagination…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  3. TheIdiotSpeaketh August 10, 2011 at 4:58 pm #

    I am a skeptic by nature……but after an encounter with a strange blue light in my sons room, I am a believer now.

    http://redriverpak.wordpress.com/2010/05/19/the-blue-light-2/

    • tinkerbelle86 August 11, 2011 at 8:33 am #

      I now have “Im a believer” stuck in my head. damn you! 😀

      • TheIdiotSpeaketh August 11, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

        Sorry about that…. 🙂

  4. magsx2 August 10, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    Hi,
    I have never experienced anything, but I have a very opened mind, and to be honest if I did see something strange or experience something it would not surprise me to know that these things are real.

  5. Jennifavor August 10, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

    I often get the creepy feeling of someone watching me, or think I saw something move out of the corner of my eye, but I have an incredibly overly active imagination so it’s entirely possible that my subconscious thinks its fun to scare me. That said, I’m not sure what I believe either there is a lot we don’t know and can’t explain.

  6. Rach @ This Italian Family August 11, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    Oh wow, that is pretty creepy! No ghostly stories here, but my husband’s aunt’s house is rumored to be haunted…

  7. cherry August 11, 2011 at 1:11 am #

    I do believe in ghost!
    They speak to me in my dreams….. ;-(

  8. Riazi Snaps August 11, 2011 at 3:53 am #

    Have you heard of the Belmez Faces? I haven’t been to the house in Spain, but a friend lives not far from Jaen and swears it’s true.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bélmez_Faces

    • tinkerbelle86 August 11, 2011 at 8:34 am #

      ooh spooky. its like the Whaley house in San Diego…

  9. Vix @ LittleMissEverything August 11, 2011 at 9:20 am #

    I thought I saw one once with a friend in an alleyway but could have just been a creepy man in black 🙂

  10. Team Oyeniyi August 11, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    While I’m an atheist, I’m not averse to the idea there may be something like ghosts out there. There is a lot in this world we do not understand or know, so who really knows? 🙂

  11. bonzoWhale August 11, 2011 at 11:48 pm #

    I don’t really know what to think about ghosts, except that it’d be totally cool to be one someday. It’d be pretty much like having super powers, namely invisibility and immortality – since you’re already dead.

    It’d also mean the ride doesn’t end with death, so that’s refreshing too.

  12. Granddad August 16, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    When I was a yong Naval Apprentice visiting lecturers used to visit to help educate us. One particular lecture was about ghosts. After the talk the lecturer asked if we would help with his research.
    Lecturer: Anyone here ever seen a ghost? ….. A few hands went up. He interviewed thm and took notes.
    Lecturer: Anyone here ever spoken to a ghost? ….. A couple of hands went up and the guys were duly interviewed.
    Lecturer: I always ask this, but so far I have had no positive answers. Anyone here ever made love to a ghost? ….. One hand went up.
    Lecturer: (Obviously excited) That’s fantastic! Plese tell me how you happened to make love to a ghost.
    Apprentice: Oh, “ghost” I thought you said “goat”

  13. truthwithdoris August 31, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    believe in it all and experienced many times stuff like this.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ghost Balloon – Jennifavor - August 11, 2011

    […] air conditioner, but I don’t know.  What’s really weird is that I just replied on a blog yesterday about ghosts! I’m sure Jeremy is right and I just really overreacted yesterday, but […]

  2. Ghost Balloon « Jennifavor - August 11, 2011

    […] air conditioner, but I don’t know.  What’s really weird is that I just replied on a blog yesterday about ghosts! I’m sure Jeremy is right and I just really overreacted yesterday, but […]

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

