Sibling Rivallry

9 Aug

Me and my sister are like chalk and cheese. I was the little girl who wouldn’t stray far from the skirts of her mother; seeking approval at anything unknown. I was sensible and ponderous, and knew the consequences of my actions, weighing up the possibilities with studious intent before deciding on breaking the rules or not. Don’t get me wrong, there were times I would just do it anyway, but I knew there would be trouble. Take for instance the time when we were doing a ‘bring and buy’ for the Brownies. My friend convinced me on a Sunday that we should go and knock on doors, collecting presents to sell to raise money for the African kids. I knew there would be trouble.

My mother was one of those women who absolutely wouldn’t let you knock on people’s doors on a Sunday, as it was the Lord’s Day and people wouldn’t want to be disturbed from their families. My family are not remotely religious, only going to church as a child on brownie occasions and christenings, but my mum was eternally mindful of everyone else, and therefore it was not done. We were not allowed to knock for friends in the street, so we used to ride around the cul de sac on our bikes, or watch out for our friends to do the same. This was before the widespread use of mobiles!

Anyway, I knew there would be repercussions, but I did it anyway. The upshot was that I was grounded for two weeks, and had to miss out on the ‘bring and buy’ sale that I had been so desperate to help out with. Life’s a b*@tch!

My sister on the other hand was flighty and accident prone, and this led to a multitude of A&E visits through our childhood (the first time I went to A&E myself was at 17 with diabetes; before that I was the picture of health).

The first occasion I remember was my sister running down a hill (with my mother as the soundtrack “don’t run down the hill Danielle!!! You’ll fall!!) I secretly was willing her to fall; the only way I would be able to push the pram of the six month old baby that my mother looked after was if something happened to my sister. Low and behold, she fell, skated down the concrete on her forehead and scraped all the skin off. She still has a dent where she hit a stone and I smugly pushed the baby home while my mum ran off to patch my sister’s face back together. Triumph!

In fact I was rarely concerned about my accident prone sister, more annoyed that she had ruined my day. The day I took her out tree climbing and she fell into nettles: day ruined. Had to drag her home crying to mum, only to get told off. The day she fell in the rose bush at a friend’s house: not so bad, mum took her home, I got to stay. The day she fell backwards off a swing because she wanted to wave at her big sister: day at the park ruined, spent evening with old lady across the road as mum took her to A&E.

It came to a head when she fell off the worktop trying to reach the biscuit tin when mum wasn’t in and cracked her head on the slate floor. I was so mad at her, but had it in my head that she wasn’t to go to sleep. I was sixteen and angry, so spend an hour yelling “if you go to sleep I will BLOODY KILL YOU!!” until my mum got home and rushed her to A&E. She had concussion; apparently my gentle bedside manner had saved her life.

Isn’t it funny how you actually despite your siblings at times? Now I would throw myself under a bus if it prevented her from getting a paper cut, but then she was literally the bane of my life.

10 Responses to “Sibling Rivallry”

  1. prenin August 9, 2011 at 7:33 am #

    When we were kids we fought on a regular basis, suffered some pretty serious injuries, Neil and Keith tried to run my life because they had no control over their own and made my childhood miserable – what was left of it after dad had finished with us.

    After mum left for the second and final time I had to deliberately put myself in harms way to protect them until they both joined the Army.

    Today they are parents and have lives of their own, Neil brought me a load of clothes while I was in Psychiatric Hospital, but apart from emailing birthday wishes to Keith I have not had any contact since.

    The only truly happy times I ever had as a kid was at my grandparents farm where I was free to play from dawn to dusk without fear, getting adopted by the breeding cattle grandad rented out his field for.

    To this day I feel a strong sense of contentment for the time I spent there.

    Needless to say Neil and Keith also loved staying there and we had many bloody fistfights over who would go next! 🙂

    Happy days among many bleak ones…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. mrsbongle August 9, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    My big sister was the sensible one and though I was not as accident prone as your sister I was always more wild than my sensible older sister.

    • tinkerbelle86 August 9, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

      its funny because its gone the total other way. when my sister left for SoCal at the start of the year she said “make sure you dont get married or do anything silly when im away.” i didnt even have a boyfriend at the time. she calls me flighty!!

  3. natasiarose August 9, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Awww so sweet! Haha I can’t believe my sister and I made it to adulthood without killing each other either.

  4. rebeccasretreat August 9, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    I’m sorry to say you had me in giggles there reading all the mishaps your sister got into, and your final, somewhat serious, accident with her head. I don’t mean to be rude, I can terribly relate! I have both a younger brother and sister. My brother, is the worst of the two I’m afraid. He’d get into stupid situations, which resulted in A&E trips and me at home with my sister. Although, I can vaguely remember a very small sister of mine standing on a bumblebee bare foot.. That brought some tears and loud words from our mother! Even now, I still want to kill them. But I’d do anything to protect them. Funny how family works isn’t it! Great post!

  5. Jennifavor August 9, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    My little brother and I grew up in the country where the nearest kids were pretty far away. We were pretty close until we moved to the city and then suddenly we couldn’t get along to save our lives. But, whenever there was trouble, we were always there for one another.

  6. youngamericanwisdom.com August 9, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    Oh Tinkerbelle, this is so perfectly spot on! My kiddos can be cruel and monstrous to each other, but sudden death to the outsider that tries. Thanks for sharing. It made me smile.

  7. Megan August 10, 2011 at 2:05 am #

    this is me and my little sister to a T!!!! she was always getting into no good and I was all the while telling her not to and she did any way… Somehow though it always ended up being MY fault and I would get in trouble as well when she did something wrong. She drove me CrAzY…. but now, love her to pieces and would (and have) done just about anything for her. (I suppose I really did love her back then too, but just never wanted to admit it!) 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 August 11, 2011 at 8:39 am #

      i know. she used to follow me round like a shoadow, so much that i accidently sprayed her in the eyes with mossie repellent while fumigating a room on holiday. in my defence i didnt realsie i had a human shadow at the time and was merrily killing the bugs, and her eyes! poor thing got conjunctivitis and nearly fell into the pool one morning becuase her eyes were stuck together. dad had to catch her (in the nick of time) and take her to the eye clinic!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

