Unusual Toys

8 Aug

Children have the funniest things that they hold dear, and I was no different. As a child I simply could not understand why my Polly Pockets couldn’t come everywhere with me, and I used to have a pet called Percy that lived at my grandparents house. “A pet called Percy?” you say “t

That’s not that odd….” How about when I tell you that Percy was a zebra skin that my grandfather had acquired from somewhere, that was pinned to the wall in a slightly macabre fashion halfway up the stairs? As little children we would march up the flight in my grandparents upside down house, pat the pet and say “hi Percy, I love you” as if this was the most natural thing in the world. Percy was removed when I was around sixteen as he was becoming a little threadbare and was worn in a patch on his right buttock, where children of different heights had petted him as they passed, for well over a decade. I never thought it was weird until Sam; one of my American cousins came (around four at the time) and cried for about half an hour over the dead animal on the stair.

I had a teddy called Jamie too. Jamie was a pathetic looking species, possibly a bear, and had wonky button eyes and dungarees. He was made of silk, and was grotty and soiled where I would drop food on him at regular intervals. I wasn’t one of those children that hugged a teddy when I slept (even at that age I was evil and a selfish bed hog) but he would sit on my pillow, overseeing the sleeping process. So obviously, my little sister had a teddy too. And she HAD to call him Jamie, because mine was Jamie (children have very little imagination at times, don’t they!) As her Jamie was on a two year delay he was a little more bearlike and professional, with proper eyes and a washable outfit. Where my Jamie would fall down the side of the bed and stay there for weeks unnoticed till mum found him, Little Bean’s Jamie went everywhere with her.

On one driving holiday to France she left him in some creepy B&B and cried for the rest of the trip, so I had to donate her my Jamie (which I think was the whole end game for leaving hers behind, but I digress). Upon returning to England my mum spent weeks frantically trying to hash together some French and correspond with the B&B to return the bear, suspecting a possible explosion from her oldest daughter, who at six was apoplectic with rage that she might have to lose a toy because her sister couldn’t remember to collect her belongings. Jamie version 2 was returned via airmail, for my sister to lose him a few weeks later on the way to a sleepover a few minutes’ walk away. Police dogs were sent (!) and to this day the body of her dearly beloved Jamie has never been returned. Still didn’t let her have mine, although I think I let her borrow him for a time. I didn’t really like him that much anyway!

(This isn’t Jamie. This is Mr Bean’s teddy. Just so you know)

My sister’s friend has a little boy called Archie, who has been bought all the toys he could desire over his three year existence. Teddies and dinosaurs and dollies and dogs have been bestowed upon him, yet what is his prized possession? A massive woodlouse shaped pyjama holder that is really creepy and looks like it might eat your brains in your sleep. Of course that’s his favourite!

What was your favourite toy as a child?

12 Responses to “Unusual Toys”

  1. Kieran MacIntosh August 8, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    I feel like I’ve been robbed of a proper childhood. Where was my woodlouse shaped pyjama holder? I want a woodlouse shaped pyjama holder! I had to make do with stuffing my pyjamas under my pillow which is nowhere near as cool or exciting.

    Anyway, tantrum over, my toys as a child included:

    (1) A gigantic yellow blanket (if you can call that a toy) that I carried everywhere. It earned me the nickname Linus from older relatives, a nickname I didn’t understand until years after my mother had cut it to shreds over a period of three months under the guise of ‘it shrunk in the wash’!

    (2) A hand-puppet hedgehog named Dennis who lasted nearly ten years before he fell into the ocean during a ferry ride and, sadly, drowned. He is sorely missed.

    • tinkerbelle86 August 8, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

      ill see if i can procure one for you ….. 🙂

  2. Vix @ LittleMissEverything August 8, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    I had a weird purple and orange dinosaur plus a green four leaf clover care bear that you could tuck inside itself. I still have teddies in my room 🙂

  3. mrsbongle August 8, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    I had a knitted bear that all the stuffing had fallen out of and his name was Tootsie and one day while shopping with m y mum we got home to find Tootsie had gone! I made my mum retrace all our steps; fortunately we found him!

  4. Kay aka Babygirl August 8, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    My best toy I’d have to say was a toss up between my cabbage patch doll or my strawberry shortcake doll. I am definitely showing my age today lol.. but I was in love with those dolls, wanted to take them everywhere and could not understand why everyone said I couldn’t lol. I also have a Miss Piggy doll that ruled my world too lol.

  5. barb19 August 8, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    My favourite toy was a walkie-talkie doll (that’s what they were called when they first came out, walkie-talkie because their legs moved and they said ‘mama’)! It was 1953 and the Queen had just been crowned so I called her Elizabeth. Had that doll for years, she ended up with a foot missing and hardly any hair, but I still loved her.
    Unbeknown to me, my mum threw her away after I left home and I didn’t find out till years later when I asked for it. I was really upset, felt like I’d lost a friend.

  6. prenin August 8, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    When I was little (before dad turned psycho) I had a grey and white elephant stuffed toy I called Heffalump which went everywhere with me.

    As I got older and collected two brothers there was no such thing as a favourite toy and as we collected prize possessions they were either destroyed by my siblings or sold by my dad – apart from things he took a liking to which disappeared for a few months and the reappeared as ‘his’ property, usually electronic gadgets like my pocket calculator.

    I had a collection of military models that I lavished my pocket money on and was really proud of and when Neil ‘Persuaded’ me to get him an air rifle the first thing he did was shoot my models to pieces on the grounds that ‘I was too old for toys’.

    Anything I created at school or for classes was also destroyed by my father because in his eyes it was ‘crap’ and I well remember being forced to burn my first book manuscript a page at a time to drill into me that it was garbage and not fit to send to a publisher – despite one of my mother’s friends offering to get it published she was so impressed with it…

    If I look back I think that my favourite toys were my model soldiers and I fought many battles in the dirt at the back of the shed with and spent fortunes on building up my forces.

    Today I still look back with fondness at those old soldiers…

    Love and hugs! 🙂

    Prenin.

  7. Petra Greening August 9, 2011 at 4:09 am #

    Oh my god i want to squeeezze the last one!! I love it!!!
    Petra x

  8. Redneckprincess August 9, 2011 at 4:19 am #

    I still have a doll that I had when I was a child, she is terrifying but I loved her…there is a story to it, I should blog about that…ya, I will…I also had a pink teddy that had a pajama bag on the bottom of it…I loved that teddy…

  9. rebeccasretreat August 9, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    I’m proud to say I still have my 19 year old teddy bear, purchased the same day I was born! His name is Teddy, and it’s a bit tatty, been through wars throughout my childhood, had naiil varnish spilt on him, but I still love him all the same! Obviously I don’t still sleep with him… My boyfriend won’t allow it!! Haha. Your teddy’s look adorable, all teddy’s should be adorable I think!

  10. tinkerbelle86 August 11, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    i think the thing that worries me the most about this is that you guys have all commented about bears and stuff but no one seems remotely surprised about the dead zebra!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

