Opinion Is Everything

6 Aug

Opinion is a wonderful thing. I love that I live in a country where I am free to have an opinion that differs with another and that I can express it in any way I see fit.

Last night, when having a chat about the death of Amy Winehouse, the boy and I got into a bit of a debate. His opinion is that she was selfish and could have made a decision, mine being a little softer around the edges in favour of a bad choice and a family left in crisis. We disagreed. When we finished the short journey he got out of the car, looked at me and said “Are you mad because you think I’m cold?” I smiled and told him of course not, it was just his opinion. And Thomas Jefferson sprung to mind…

I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend. Thomas Jefferson

It made me laugh that he would think that I might be upset that he disagreed with me, when that’s what makes us all different. I love that I can be completely comfortable in what I think yet able to have a healthy discussion about absolutely anything. Friends, family, loved ones; you might have a different opinion, but neither of us is right and that is the beauty of an opinion. It doesn’t mean any less just because you will never get to the right or wrong answer. I used to be the sort of teenager that would get fiercely defensive if anyone thought anything different to me, and I would become upset and difficult. What a difference a few years makes.

But how do we form an opinion? I think that years of soaking up information; facts, figures and other peoples thoughts makes our mind shape an opinion on any given subject. Take alcoholism for example. Two people may have been through an experience of losing a loved one to alcoholism. One might see the sadness in the loss; the longing for the situation to have been different and the sadness to not have been able to step in and make a difference to the path of that person. Another could see it as a selfishness; not thinking about the people around them and drinking themselves into the ground. Yet both might see it as a loss, and an illness that ultimately couldn’t be treated. Who is to say one is wrong and the other right?

It is not best that we should all think alike; it is a difference of opinion that makes horse races.
Mark Twain

19 Responses to “Opinion Is Everything”

  1. mrsbongle August 6, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    Voltaire said “I might not share your opinions but I will defend to the death your right to have them.”

  2. Kevin Blakeman August 6, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    There has been alot of talk and debate about the loss of Amy Winehouse, and as you say peoples opinion can differ. I think it was a sad loss, and as well as blaming her, where were the people around her, her family, her record company, her partners. She was in a downhill battle, and may never have come out, and to be fair, we don’t know how much help and support she got from others, most of what we know is hearsay etc. But a loss is a loss, someone so young, forget the talent aspect, death at 27 is nothing to be proud of.

  3. Renee Mason August 6, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    Very thought provoking. I’ve observed friends part ways because their opinions differed. How sad!

  4. thesinglecell August 6, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    Stopped back in a for a check and thought this was a great post. We can have differences, and those differences can sometimes lead to the ends of relationships, but differences of opinion (on things not immediately relevant to the relationship at hand) are just an opportunity to learn!

  5. Team Oyeniyi August 7, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    Great quotes – I might steal them sometime! Great thoughts to go with the quotes, too.

  6. magsx2 August 7, 2011 at 3:10 am #

    Hi,
    I think it’s good to meet someone with a different opinion about something, it actually gives both party’s a different look on the same subject, even though each will still feel the way they do, it is still good I feel. There have been a few times were my friends and I have had a bit of debate about something or other, and if at the end you can shake your head and laugh and learn to agree to disagree this is a good friendship.

  7. Megan August 7, 2011 at 3:55 am #

    That is the beauty! “To each his own” is a phrase I use almost daily. We each need to do what is best for ourselves; we think for ourselves ; we breathe & live for ourselves. I too am blessed to live in a country where you can voice your freedom of speech… still though i’ve learned there are certain subjects in which my opinions are best kept to myself 🙂

  8. freethetwins August 7, 2011 at 5:47 am #

    “I may not agree with what you are saying, but I will defend to death your right to say it” – Voltaire.

    Great post! And interesting topic 🙂 I spent a long time getting fiercely defensive, and I agree as well… what a difference a few years makes.

  9. Sandra Bell Kirchman August 7, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    Hear, hear! There are some things worth fighting about. Freedom of opinion is one of them. (Just my opinion 🙂 )

  10. didex August 7, 2011 at 7:31 am #

    Difference of opinion is something that usually happens, be it in personal or national life, my parents and I are always different opinions about domestic life, well because until now I was single and not married, hahahaha

  11. nyleignaangel August 7, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    i like this post. it is so cool to express your thoughts on things. that’s why we blog! 🙂

  12. Ignorethebucklesonmyjacket August 7, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Our minds are complex structures…and all of them built differently. I love trying to figure out how people around me think and how their experiences shape the opinions they form in their own minds. This was a cool post that actually made me think a lot…thank you.

  13. culinarystorm August 8, 2011 at 9:09 am #

    So true…
    I wish more people thought like that..

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

