“I’m Walking My Terri-ah Daddy!”

5 Aug

I watched a programme this weekend called “Geordie Finishing School” which has led me to my latest diatribe about the nuances of the society in which we live. I like to immerse myself with Geordie programmes so that I can learn the language of one of my closest friends, who often breaks into a whole other dialogue which causes me to shout “no stop!! Talk slower!!” so programmes about Geordies are watched with interest.

But this one was slightly different. Essentially they took four Chelsea girls (shudder. I’ll come to that later) and stuck them near the Tyne with a week’s dole money. Please ignore the stereotypes of ‘down south’ and ‘oop north’; as the Geordie one will inform you if you ask, her mother’s house was featured in an article about where William and Kate might choose to live should they choose to live north of Greenwich after the right royal wedding. I might add that there probably aren’t many places they COULD choose to live, but our pet’s house was the theoretical dwelling of choice. Some might call her the princess of the north (but some might get a thump. I digress).

Anyway, the programme thoroughly annoyed me. Because of the horrible Chelsea girls. And it further adds to my opinion (please note, OPINION) that some people don’t know they are born. People who become rich by working their way from the bottom appear to be humble and kind, whereas (and I am generalising a leetle) people, especially girls, who are born into money come across as massive idiots.

Shows like the Only Way is Chelsea or whatever that awful programme is called only deepen these feelings. Girls with orange faces, straw like yellow back combed hair and names like Felici-tah and Georgin-ah down white wine spritzers and cackle all up and down the borough, making the rest of us mere mortals shudder and avoid said places like the plague.

Of the four girls there was one (Fion-ah) who actually seemed quite a down to earth individual, but the other three were beyond help. One had never been on a bus (lord) and had to ask three people for help, yet felt that she was perfect for the position of Prime Minister in the near future. Sure you are love.

Points that I gleaned from this programme:

  • Posh people make lots of unnecessary noises (myahahahahah) for no reason.
  • If you can see a person’s pants then they are probably cold.
  • Only rich people would consider wearing a coat made out of a rabbit.

I think that my point here is that knowing the value of money is really important. If you constantly live on pocket money from daddy and holiday in Chamonix in ‘the cott-ah-ge’ or in ‘Marbs dahling’ then you will never appreciate what you have.

10 Responses to ““I’m Walking My Terri-ah Daddy!””

  1. Julia (AKA Jules) August 5, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    hahaha! I totally agree with all of that. I hate TOWIE and those sort of shows. Home & Away all the way! Oh and respect to the Geordies (apart from those on Geordie Shore, that show is just so, err, terrible!!) x

  2. egills August 5, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    It’s a matter of breeding my dahling! ( mwuh mwuh mwuh ). Some people are born to work and have principals and some people are born to be waited on and no principals.
    ** shudders **
    Seriously I know girls whose parents have decided that because they’re female they are therefore incapable of having a brain so are brought up with one purpose in life… to be spoilt rotten, marry a sugar daddy and not have to lift a finger ( or work a brain cell ) ever. Sometimes ( when work really irritates ) me I can see the benefits, but at least I can say everything I own I’ve worked damned hard for…
    ** climbs off my soap box **

  3. Catherine Sprunt August 5, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    They had a similar programme on Channel 4 a while ago where 4 Sloanes went to live on a council estate somewhere in London and they had ‘un posh’ mentors and had to go out and work. xo

    • tinkerbelle86 August 5, 2011 at 6:56 pm #

      ah… sloanes. take them out and shoot them 🙂

  4. Brittany August 5, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Yes, yes..and..yes. I agree 198395%. People born into money 9/10 times are stuck up bitches and need a seriously reality check. I am fortunate that my parents made me work for what I have, I can make it in almost any situation life throws at me! Funny and true post!

  5. Team Oyeniyi August 5, 2011 at 11:50 pm #

    Met Paris Hilton, anyone? LOL

    As for the rabbit, firstkly it is “lapin” and secondly only poor people wear lapin. The rich wear at least mink or are supporting the no-fur movement and wear fake fur. Therefore, we can all appear rich by wearing fake fur!

    I got lost in some of the local jargon, but PLEASE spare me from Home and Away – THAT comment I did understand!

    • tinkerbelle86 August 6, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

      hahah the lapin comment really made me laugh mrs o!!

  6. Granddad August 8, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    I think the Geordie accent is great – far better than some of those poncy southern accents. You should try to get your Geordie mate to sing Oklahoma – whaur the wind gans wislin doon the pleean!

  7. hotshot bald cop September 2, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Wonderful views on that!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

