Dreams

1 Aug

Dreams and nightmares can be powerful things and sometimes you wake up and feel as if it was real; that you could taste the fear or touch the moment that you were experiencing. There is a lot of research into dreams and it is believed that they are your subconscious way of dealing with a problem or presenting yourself with an option to an issue you were avoiding.

The American Indians believed that dreams were guiding you in reality, and that you should never ignore dreams. They felt they were the thoughts of the gods within and you should adhere to them to protect yourself.

But they are often a bit mental, aren’t they? My great grandmother says that you shouldn’t eat cheese before bedtime, as it gives you nightmare. I cannot promise this, such is my love for the stuff, but I find that I never remember my dreams anyway and rarely have nightmares.

There are two recurring ones that I have never forgotten, from my childhood though. The first was pretty gritty. I had gone out with my sister, and when I got back we peered through the window and saw that my family were being held hostage. My family included my dad’s best man and his family from his first wedding, and a few other family friends. I don’t have a clue whose house it was as it wasn’t familiar, but in my dream it was mine. Anyway, the dream wasn’t very exciting, just us looking at the scene unfold through the window. But it was one of those horrible nightmares that when you wake up and try to settle again, you fall straight back into it. I had the same dream a few times over the years, but it hasn’t been back for a while.

The other is a little more comical, but as a child far scarier. Me and my little sister (Again!) were in a cartoon house, being chased by a cartoon fox (wearing blue dungarees I might add!) he had a big cartoon cauldron on the roof of the cartoon house, was chasing us with a massive cartoon machete, and we were always on the roof, trying to avoid getting thrown into the boiling hot water with the cartoon vegetables that were floating about. Sounds amusing now, but I remember at the time being absolutely petrified. And it didn’t just happen the once either!

Do you remember any recurring dreams that stuck in your mind, whether recently or as a child?

9 Responses to “Dreams”

  1. imonthebandwagon August 1, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    I had a recurring dream once. I dreamt I was on tour with a TALENTED band and I documented all the insightful and whitty things they said. It was great! And then I wake up…..shame

    Great post tink, as usual

  2. Julia (AKA Jules) August 1, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    yes. currently had one of a DJ in Scotland, and that we were going out with each other and one scene had us singing along to The Family-Ness theme tune!!! I’m still having hallucinations!!

    x

  3. prenin August 1, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    I’ve had re-occurring dreams many times over the years, some of which I wrote down.

    Some were nightmares, but I learned to take control of the dream and change its ending – quite a trick you have to learn to appreciate it!!!

    These days my dreams are movies mostly and quite entertaining! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. Colleen August 1, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    My 3yr old grandson is terrified of some really arb cartoon characters and waking shouting every night then ends up snuggled in his mums bed. I wonder if he’s having your kind of recurring childhood nightmare?? I rarely remember a dream but have heard that we dream most nights and don’t remember it. And nightmares are extremely rare for me. But just 2 nights ago my hubby woke me up and said I was shouting and mumbling and moving about. I don’t remember what it was about but I was bathed in sweat, heart pounding! Struggled to get back to sleep but never dreamed again. Maybe it was so horrible that I have shoved it waaaay back into my subconscious! Hate that!! A good post! xx

  5. magsx2 August 1, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    Hi,
    It’s been a long time since I remembered a dream. Sometimes I get little snippets of things, but I just can’t seem to remember them at all.
    When I was a kid, I had the usual nightmares, I did remember those, mostly something chasing me, although I will never forget one night, I saw 2 big hairy arms hanging over my door trying to open it, how the arms got there with the door closed is anybodies guess. 🙂

  6. asmalltowndad August 1, 2011 at 1:04 pm #

    Dreams can be wonderful, being visited by those whom have passed that you love and miss, talking, hugging, as though they were still alive and with you. But the worst dreams (nightmare) for me is when someone is trying to hurt my daughters and for one reason or another, I can’t do anything about it. I wake up mad, sad and afraid to go back to sleep in fear of continuing the dream.

  7. Emjayandthem August 1, 2011 at 5:08 pm #

    I blogged about dreams .. .and a book that my family found and now keeps on the coffee table b/c we refer to it so often.
    http://emjayandthem.wordpress.com/2011/01/22/what-are-your-dreams-trying-to-tell-you/

    Fun post!! mJ

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

