The Green Eyed Monster

30 Jul

He who envies others does not obtain peace of mind. Buddha

It’s easy to say that when you are a guru who is tranquil and at peace with himself, swanning around in your towel smiling at people, but in modern times it is more difficult to apply to actually day to day life. We’ve all had fits of envy at one point or another; envying your housemate as you head off to work in the morning when she has a lay in on her day off, or eyeing up your boyfriends burger in that fancy restaurant because you went for the salad and now regret it; we have all envied another at some point in our lives.

A few weeks I listened to a conversation between two of my friends; one married and one single. One discussed how she missed the comfort of a relationship while the other came back with a counterargument of how she longed for a life of being selfish and not reporting to anyone. Both had valid points, and despite being happy in their current situation, both were a tad envious of the other.

It led to a poll of my nearest and dearest to establish if there are any amusing little things that they miss about a life they used to lead. And true to the nature of them, they came up with some winners.

My coupled up friends, whether married, cohabiting or simply a deux came up with some corkers. One commented that for JUST ONE WEEKEND she would like to be able to have a night in with her fella and watch a film, without having to ensure with military precision that it finished before Match of the Day started. Another said that she would like the chance to be able to have a bath without her boyfriend coming in and having a wee. She said it somewhat ruined the relaxation of having a nice bath, which made me giggle as I remembered when i used to live in the cottage. We only had one loo, so if ex-boyfriend needed the loo I was forced to stick my head under the water and wait till he was finished. It was fine when we actually liked each other, as I could cope with suffocation briefly, but as it got towards the end of the relationship I would be heard telling him to go in the garden, and the moment I got out of the bath I would get knocked over as he pegged it at brake neck speed into the bathroom. I know, I am horrible.  Another friend said that he missed not having to dust the skirting boards. Haha.

The singles among my friends didn’t fail to disappoint either.  One friend said that he missed being in a couple because it made it really expensive to get home in a taxi once the tube was shut.  Another missed feeling poorly and having someone be really sympathetic, but not having to be at all sympathetic when it was the other way round. I can sympathise with this one. when I split up with first-boyfriend, I used to miss having someone I could ring when I was out with the girls and really didn’t feel well, to come and pick me up and be all nice about me being poorly, rather than telling me to man up and stop having too much wine.

Whether you are part of a twosome (resisting the urge to say gruesome twosome here for some of you J ) or whether you are free and single, what are the things that you miss? And I’m looking for funny little titbits here, rather than soppy stuff. This is neither the time or the place!

3 Responses to “The Green Eyed Monster”

  1. prenin July 30, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Having had some really bad relationships, I’m happy to be single! 🙂

    I really can’t think of any advantages to having a relationship apart from the lack of company and coming home to an empty flat.

    Sometimes it would be nice to say: “Hi Honey I’m home!!” and get a reply…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. ioneday July 30, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    i like your post

  3. Devon Begg August 3, 2011 at 2:56 am #

    The one good thing about having a boyfriend is that it gives me the perfect excuse to turn down guys that hit on me that I have no interest in. But there were a few times when I was coupled up when I would have to turn someone away and it just killed me to do so because he was SO HOT…

    anyway now that I’m single again… I would rather be single (for now!)

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

