Make Me A Politician!

28 Jul

Sometimes I worry about the state of the economy and the government and all those grown up things that your parents talk about. I worry more when I find myself discussing said topics with my housemates, when we used to talk about what we were going to wear and who was providing the alcohol for the weekend revelry. I’m starting to get old. I remember having a conversation with an old work colleague that descended into a stalemate. They argued that a vote not used was a vote wasted, and that I should think of Emily Pankhurst and everything she did for feminism and my right to vote. Yes, thank you Emily, I do appreciate it but at the same time I didn’t feel that I should be forced to vote. Surely that’s just as bad as not being allowed to? My argument was that if I didn’t know enough about every party to make an educated decision, then surely my vote was a wasted one anyway? (My granddad says that’s why people vote Lib Dem. Ooooooooh. I did actually vote Lib Dem. They seem the least corrupt of the lot. Please no one ask me to quantify this, I will lose interest and go back to picking my face or planning my weekend wardrobe).

Most of the time I switch back to thinking about what’s going on in Eastenders / what I need to buy when I go food shopping / if eight pm is too early to call it a night, but sometimes I get thinking and I get worried.

Firstly, and I’ve said this a few times, I don’t trust David Cameron. I think that his eyes are too close together to be trustworthy enough to run a country. (please note, this is my opinion. Don’t try to convince me otherwise. I don’t trust the Chuckle Brothers because of their moustaches, but its far less likely that anyone will try to debate this with me!)

Secondly, why are we paying people to stay at home? Call me misguided, but the week I’ve had, I would appreciate it much more if my taxpaying money went to people who actually went to work in the morning. If the government decided to reward people for going to work, I’m sure we would all be much happier. it’s hard enough trying to wrench yourself out of bed when its warm under the duvet and the rain is smacking against the window like an angry bull trying to make its way through the fence, but the thought that my hard earned cash is lining the pocket of someone who is sitting at home watching Jeremy Kyle, having a brew and eating some Jaffa cakes, really bothers me. OK, there are some people out there who are actually looking for a job, but there are certain individuals that really aren’t. A friend of a friend used to get really annoyed as they knew someone who regularly made a point of laughing at him, the reason being that he was on the dole, and thought that anyone who wasn’t was, direct quote “missing a trick”. Said individual sat on said bum all day playing playstation, occasionally practicing an instrument, and sometimes making lunch. Said individual had a job but would only do under nine hours a week, so he could carry on reaping the benefit of the earnings of others. I didn’t spend much time around said individual, as this annoyed me so much that I often went off in fits of Tourettes, and had much better things to keep me occupied.

That said, it must annoy Jeremy Kyle the most. I mean I think I’d be pretty irritated if I knew that not only was I paying tax to help people who didn’t work, but that they were sitting on the sofa in their pjs actually watching me at work.

And that’s what’s wrong with the way the government works. Sure, I’d be a pretty rubbish politician; I’m a rubbish liar and I don’t really understand politics (mainly because I’ve not tried that hard) but I’m sure that there are some issues that they need to refresh their opinions on. Just saying.

Step down from moral soapbox, carry on with day.

Aside: to my grandfather and my father: this is a little tongue in cheek and I do know a little about politics, but I promise I will try harder in the future and know a bit more. I’m not as silly as I make out, and I promise not to waste a vote by not being educated enough. Please don’t call me and try to explain the finer points of the government to me; I haven’t the brain space at this point in time. OKthanksbye xxx

8 Responses to “Make Me A Politician!”

  1. imonthebandwagon July 28, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    I know it’s not the point of your post but…..i cant stand jeremy kyle

    Great post tho!

    • tinkerbelle86 July 28, 2011 at 10:56 pm #

      jowett…. focus… no me neither. he is so condesending. he blatently drinks too much and beats his children, its all over his smug face (so lucky that im not being monitored for libelous claims like you lot 🙂 )

  2. Julia (AKA Jules) July 28, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    i totally agree. Can’t stand that jeremy kyle show!!
    Great post!

  3. mario July 28, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

    “If the government decided to reward people for going to work, I’m sure we would all be much happier.” – I’m American but I have the same mindset. Every morning I wake up to go volunteer and as I walk outside I see healthy, jobless, ______ *insert word of choice* sitting outside smoking, strolling, doing whatever they want. When I come home to get ready for work… they’re still there.

    As far as voting, I’ve had that argument before too. I ended it something like this but I’ll put it in quotation to make it appear verbatim, “I think a conscious choice to not vote is just as powerful as an edcuated choice to vote; superior to both voting ‘just because’ and not voting out of laziness. If someone gives a vegetarian the choice of Steak or Sausage, who could possibly be offended if the poor guy doesn’t eat?”

  4. Rach @ This Italian Family July 29, 2011 at 3:02 am #

    My favorite part of this post was your little note to your dad and grandfather at the end. Sounds like something I might say to a couple of my family members as well. 😉

  5. Granddad July 29, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    I once knew a politician who was so stupid and corrupt that all the other politicians noticed! (Rubs hands together) xxx

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

