A Post To My Mother

23 Jul

Me and my mum always joke about her getting old, and she ribs me about the fact that I am turning into her and I am headed the same way. Im basically just like my mum on a thirty year delay. So when i read this list as part of a top ten lists post over at Elizabeth’s Mirth and Motivation page, I laughed till tears ran down my face.

Read and enjoy! and then please follow the link and read the rest of the post as it will give you lots of giggles 🙂

Life is tough. Perks of reaching 50 or being over 60 and heading towards 70!
01. Kidnappers are not very interested in you.
02.. In a hostage situation you are likely to be released first.
03. No one expects you to run–anywhere.
04. People call at 9 PM and ask,”did I wake you?”
05. People no longer view you as a hypochondriac.
06. There is nothing left to learn the hard way.
07. Things you buy now won’t wear out.
08. You can eat supper at 5 PM.
09. You can live without sex but not your glasses.
10. You get into heated arguments about pension plans.
11. You no longer think of speed limits as a challenge.
12. You quit trying to hold your stomach in no matter who walks into the room.
13. You sing along with elevator music.
14. Your eyes won’t get much worse.
15. Your investment in health insurance is finally beginning to pay off.
16. Your joints are more accurate meteorologists than the national weather service.
17. Your secrets are safe with your friends because they can’t remember them either.
18. Your supply of brain cells is finally down to manageable size.
19. You can’t remember who sent you this list.
20. What was the question again?

14 Responses to “A Post To My Mother”

  1. mairedubhtx July 23, 2011 at 12:41 pm #

    As a 61 year old grandmother, I truly enjoyed this.

  2. prenin July 23, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    Yup: Getting there!!! LoL!!!

    51 years old and I feel like 30 – after a car crash!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs hun – it doesn’t get any better from here!!!

  3. didex July 23, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Nice Post

  4. barb19 July 23, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

    The thing is – most of it is true! Love it Belle!

    I am my mother’s daughter too, in so many ways.

  5. Megan July 24, 2011 at 1:16 am #

    I loved her post too and was thinking of doing one of my own as well! Yours is too my dear… I am turning into my mom quicker than I think! ;p

  6. Team Oyeniyi July 24, 2011 at 5:23 am #

    I loved Elizabeth’s post as well. I’m 55 and I hope I am NOT turning into my Mum, although my daughter ofen tells me she feels she is turning into me – the day she picked the same colour nail polish as I would pick at the manicurist did it for her!

  7. sarahs83 July 24, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    I have spent my whole life so far trying not to turn into my mum. My eyes are getting worse though….at 28!

  8. Karen July 24, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Thanks for doing this post. I think we all become our mothers even when we don’t think we do. This post will be sent to many who will enjoy it.

  9. charlywalker July 24, 2011 at 10:58 pm #

    Age is just a number..but this list says it all!!

    Love this.

  10. Ron July 25, 2011 at 1:55 am #

    HILARIOUS!

    And true!

    Being 55 I’d like to add one more…

    You can’t remeber WHY you walked into a room.

    HA!

  11. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts July 25, 2011 at 2:50 am #

    🙂 I do notice myself becoming more and more like my mother as the years go by…perhaps we’re all on timers, just waiting for genetics to kick in!

  12. silvershadowfly July 25, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    Well I can certainly vouch for my own Mum on this one, her being 54. But she had a problem remembering where she put her keys when she was 40 – or even before that… never mind now!

    So it’s from 20 somethings that you get the ‘it’s 9am did I wake you’ to around double that age and you begin to get the ‘it’s 9pm, did I wake you’ call. 🙂 Great post.

  13. myra22 July 25, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Ha!!! Number 1 made me laugh out loud!! Kidnappers are no longer interested! Awesome.

  14. Tandy July 25, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    my Mother in Law started eating chocolate at 90 as she said it would take her too long to get cholesterol at her age, so she might as well indulge 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

