The Early Bird Doesn’t Always Catch The Worm

22 Jul

I have been laughed at by three separate people this morning for my lack of functionality in the morning. Is the concept of a late riser dead to you people?

Apparently, the befuddled “don’t talk to me before 8am” look is dead. I had to get up super early this morning (for me) to give a lift to the station so said individual could be at work in London on time. The alarm went off over an hour earlier than I would normally get up. Did I moan? Nope. Did I whinge? Nope. I just got in the shower to wake myself up, put on a hoody and my joggers and waited. My housemates laughed at me as they were surprised to see me up at that hour, and I was accused of being grumpy.

There is a distinction between grumpy and sleepy!

Obviously as soon as I had been to the station I came back and got back into bed to sleep for a further half an hour and try to do something about my deprivation. It might seem minor to you people who get up at 6am, drink a smoothie with raw egg whites and go to the gym before getting ready and being at the office with coffee and bagels by 830, but (not to mention that you are all complete wonder humans!) the entire day is going to be a struggle.

So leave me alone!!

15 Responses to “The Early Bird Doesn’t Always Catch The Worm”

  1. Jackie Paulson Author July 22, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    I am not a morning person. Yes, If I have to work I can be okay but not if I am off work. What is it with the whole world thinking we are ALL morning people. I work nights when I work so being an AM person does not sit with me.

  2. Jo July 22, 2011 at 8:47 am #

    ha ha ha ha ha, I love you, and thee is nothing wrong with getting up early, its preparation for old age xx

    • tinkerbelle86 July 22, 2011 at 10:08 am #

      i dont want to prepare for old age!!! first mel and shane, and now you…. im not there yet lady!!!

  3. Vix @ LittleMissEverything July 22, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    I hate it when my alarm goes off! At least it’s Friday chick!

  4. egills July 22, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    LOL.. I am not a morning person ( unfortunately my body clock doesn’t believe me )

  5. Megan July 22, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    When my alarm goes off, I want nothing more than to throw it straight across the room!!! I am much more of a night person… staying up till ungodly hours that don’t mesh well with waking up to the alarm. For me, being sleepy directly equates being grumpy though! 🙂 I will leave you alone to be sleepy, not grumpy!

  6. The Lucky Mom July 22, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    My reply to the “Early Bird” assertion is this: The second mouse gets the cheese. 🙂

    First is not always best!

  7. pattisj July 22, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

    Oh, I can identify with this! Thanks for visiting my blog.

  8. prenin July 22, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Since I’ve been on the sick I’ve learned that the alarm is a suggestion, not a command, and today I slept until 2pm, which is no surprise given the past few days of illness.

    Maybe I’ll get up earlier tomorrow, but getting to sleep is the main problem for me!!!

    God Bless!

    Prenin.

  9. veggieburgerblogger July 22, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

    haha, i hate mornings. if it helps, i read somewhere that some people are just wired for a longer day, so no matter when they go to sleep, early mornings just AREN’T pleasant for them.

  10. didex July 23, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Oh,,, I’m Late I’m Late… ahaaa \(^_-)>

  11. Aisiri July 25, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    I read a short poem once:
    If you’re a bird, be an early bird
    and catch the worm for your breakfast plate.
    If you’re a bird, be an early bird,
    But if you’re a worm sleep late 😀

  12. brettelizabethmurphy July 26, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    It’s amazing how, no matter how many mornings I wake up early in succession, my body just doesn’t get used to it.

  13. Crystal July 28, 2011 at 12:30 am #

    But it’s the second mouse that gets the cheese! 🙂

  14. mario July 28, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    I want to say that sometimes the worm gets the bird but I have a hard time making a joke out of it. I have to agree with you. I am NOT a morning person.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

