Its Not A Crime!!

21 Jul

It wasn’t something that I was aware of, that I planned or that I can put my finger on. I can’t tell you that I remember it coming one day and not leaving me since.  I can’t pretend it was something I grew to love, or a route I chose to go down….

I’m being dramatic. It’s an addiction to stationary.

I can’t remember ever not being, to be honest. As a child I preferred the smell of the pages of a new book to anything else, and I loved September as you ALWAYS got a new pencil case, fresh pencils that hadn’t been sharpened, new highlighters that my sister hadn’t scratched too hard on the page with, or used to decorate the skirting boards and a rubber that didn’t have dirty grey marks on it. the pencil tin was new and the pages of the notebook were untouched, like a country yet to be discovered.

And I’ve been hooked ever since. I can spend hours poodling round Paperchase looking at filofaxes and new greetings cars; happily perusing the aisles filled with dividers and note lets and pens and rulers.

But my one vice is…

Post its.

Forgive me!!

I love a good post it. My desk at work is adorned with little letters to myself; notes on the days ahead or numbers that I simply must not forget. If I hear a good quote… out comes a post it. I scribble away and if it’s something I need to blog about, it goes in my laptop bag, ready to flutter out when I get home from a day at work and inspire me all over again to write. If its work related it goes on the intricate filing system of notes stuck to my massive computer monitors; notes of importance at the front, things I need to address later further behind.


I even have some heart shaped ones for really important stuff the pink stands out against the yellow and reminds me of the importance of ringing the mechanic/booking a blood test / buying some milk.

There is no hope.

What weird little things are you partial to?

23 Responses to “Its Not A Crime!!”

  1. mairedubhtx July 21, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    I’m so glad to hear that there is someone else who is addicted to new stationary and pens and paper. I thought I was the only one.

  2. Mizz July 21, 2011 at 3:19 pm #

    Well at least u using for something useful 🙂
    with me, i kept it untouched for years just because they looks so cute or something. Then 3 years later, When its time to throw some rubbish out, I found them again in box in a dark corner and dusty etc and tellin myself “Dammm…this paper still cute!” 😀 and decide to still keep them again…until dont know when….

  3. prenin July 21, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    I’m still laughing at the Darth Vader one!!! 🙂

    Glad to know I’m not the only one to write comments to myself – Torchwood is on at 9pm so I am already set up to record it!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. Vix @ LittleMissEverything July 21, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

    Hehe I love the heart shaped ones! Paperchase is cool!

  5. Mara July 21, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    I’ve always been addicted to stationery and journals. I rarely use either one, but if I see something that’s beautiful, I can’t resist!
    Have you ever heard of Savage Chickens? It’s a daily comic that the artist writes solely on post-it notes. As soon as you said you were addicted to post-its, I thought of that!

  6. earlybird July 21, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    I loved new rubbers too… pristine, powdery and sandwiched between tissue paper in their boxes in the local bookshop. As a child I didn’t really have a life of crime but the things I did steal were new rubbers and pencils… wasn’t interested in sweets.

    I agree about post its – what a great invention! I have some particularly brilliant speech bubble shaped ones too. The ones on the computer itself just aren’t the same are they…

  7. Errign July 21, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    I’m partial to miniature things and single serving food items, even though I never eat them…so weird.

  8. Stepping My Way to Bliss July 21, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Love stationary, pens, journals, books…my dream job: own a used book store featuring antique desks for purchase as well. And if I have desks to sell, I would have to carry all the necessary desk accoutrements. Confession: as a 30 something woman, I once went “back to school” shopping for notebooks, pens, a pencil case, white out, pink eraser, etc. just because…no child was involved. I just sold the eraser at a garage sale. xxBliss

  9. Caroline July 21, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    I’m right there with ya–I’m a sucker for cute stationary and post-its. A lot of the time I buy tons because I think it’s cute, then it ends up just sitting in my drawer. Woops! At least you’re making use of yours. 🙂

  10. Ipodman July 22, 2011 at 1:35 am #

    Ever since I got out of school I have no interest in stationary at all, lol… sorry for being a party pooper :/

    But I like post-it notes, you gotta get the good ones or they are just flying all over the place…

  11. Kay aka Babygirl July 22, 2011 at 1:52 am #

    I thought I was the only one who loved the smell of new books. And I craved a new bookcase, a 5 subject notebook, and pencils too. Love this post

    • tinkerbelle86 August 3, 2011 at 9:23 pm #

      loved the we go together cards that you wrote about on your blog kay, ive bookmarked them for an occasion 🙂

  12. We're Jumpin' July 22, 2011 at 3:24 am #

    Haha, I did to think I was the only one who loved post-its 🙂

  13. heartonastring July 22, 2011 at 3:32 am #

    I am addicted to reading history and learning new languages. I like your addiction.

  14. freshrevelations365 July 22, 2011 at 6:49 am #

    I adore going to office max or really any office supply store. Buying school supplies at the beginning of the year was always one of my most favorite things to do. I think the post-its are great – especially the heart shaped pink ones. I need to use post-its more often then maybe I would stop forgetting to do so many things.

  15. happydancecat July 22, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    I *love* the smell of books, old and new. And I also love post-its, especially the love heart ones – I use them all the time for undercover kindness missions!

  16. egills July 22, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    We have a running joke with post its.. many a time I’ve come back from a holiday to find my entire desk covered in them

  17. leadinglight July 22, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    I love hats and scarves and headbands. Those accessory type things. I have a box of them. I hate they are so expensive though! My best find was two pairs of leather gloves – red and blue.

  18. Tori Nelson July 22, 2011 at 3:10 pm #

    Love this post!

  19. Sandra Bell Kirchman July 22, 2011 at 3:12 pm #

    I have always disliked shopping for almost anything. Two exceptions noted here, though–shopping for baby clothes (when my kids were babies); and paper supplies and office supplies. I love the smell of paper and file folders, inked ribbons, new packages of file cards, address books, diaries. I can get lost in a large office supply store (like Staples) for a couple of hours or more. A shivery sigh of contentment goes through me.

    Which leads me to post-its…yeah, I love them too. I like the different colored ones. It helps me to know approximately how old the post-it note is. I mark down everything I have to remember, especially that info which goes into other places, like my username/password file, or course file. I have all these gaily-colored pieces of paper, waving like flags, all around my computer and on the edges of my desk compartments. It looks like a miniature festival when you walk into my office.

  20. Team Oyeniyi July 22, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    Fountain pens. I used to buy them all the time. I love writing in ink. But it is messy. I gave up, I kept losing the pens!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Ouch. Awkward. « Tinkerbelle - September 27, 2011

    […] worst was this morning. I walked to my desk and found a post it note (yay!! I love post its. Its its not a crime!) with the […]

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

