Soundtrack Of Your Life

19 Jul

A friend of mine is the youngest of two children and her parents started a tradition when she her sister was born, to buy the single that was number one on the day of their birthday every year till they were eighteen. I thought this was really sweet; a yearbook of the soundtrack of happy snippets of their lives, and so I have created my own. Sit back for the good, the bad and the downright ugly!!

On the day I was born (16th May, 1986), Falco were number one with ‘Rock Me Amadeus’. I actually have this on my iPod, but in my defence it’s because I downloaded it thinking it was the nineties dance version. It’s not; it’s basically an Austrians homage to Mozart. But it’s quite catchy, despite me not speaking German and therefore not having a clue what he is saying.

Skip to 1989, when I turned three, and Ferry Cross The Mersey was at the top of the charts. Maybe this explains why when delirious on the Isle Of Wight Ferry, the only ferry related song I could think of was this, and impressed (annoyed?!) my friends by singing it in my best Liverpudlian accent, causing us all to fall about laughing and determine we needed some sleep and less sugar. I don’t remember much about being three, other than what photos tell me. I was podgy and had fat little knees and elbows, and chattered endlessly. I also had a clown fancy dress outfit that I pretty much refused to take off, and only wanted flamingo pink tights for my ballet outfit as a present that year.

Two years later and I turned five. Cher and The Shoop Shoop Song was number one for months, and I remember dancing to this. It’s the song from one of my favourite films, Mermaids, and I was getting ready to go to first school and start proper ballet. Life was so exciting! This is still one of my favourite songs, incidentally.

By 1998 I was twelve, and from what I understand, a right little madam. Still dancing, and getting ready to go to secondary school, I remember Aqua, Turn Back Time being number one. I also remember constantly being at loggerheads with my mum and feeling really nervous to start a new school.

In 2003 I was turning 17, and R Kelly ignition was number one. These were the times of our lives! Borrowing older sister and cousins ID and going clubbing, having to get up and go to college the next morning feeling like death, but having A levels to study for. I don’t know how I used to survive in psychology on two hours sleep and a killer hangover, but I did.

So that’s the soundtrack to my life! What’s yours?

6 Responses to “Soundtrack Of Your Life”

  1. Julia (AKA Jules) July 19, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    My songs include:-
    Paul Hardcastle – 19 (no. 1 on the day I was born!)
    Kylie – I Should Be So Lucky / Better The Devil You Know
    Spice Girls – Wannabe (it was number 1 when I started secondary school)
    No Doubt – Don’t Speak
    Alizée – Moi… Lolita
    Linkin Park – Crawlin’ (the song reminds me of doing my GCSEs!)
    Beyoncé – Crazy In Love (reminds me of my clubbing days – even though I hated clubbing!)

    I think that’s it. I wasn’t that too fond on music in the 00s, so can’t really tell you about songs that were in the charts then (and when I left school, bla!) as they were SO BAD!!!! The 80s is definitely the best decade of music. Ever.

  2. Vix @ LittleMissEverything July 19, 2011 at 9:27 am #

    Ooh love this idea! Wow Aqua and R Kelly, where did they go eh?!! The shoop shoop song will always be a classic and you have to do the dance with it!
    The number one on the day I was born was UK: Duran Duran – Is There Something I Should Know?US: Michael Jackson – Billie Jean. Not a big Duran fan but yay for MJ!

  3. prenin July 19, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    Hmmm… Never had much money so I couldn’t buy records until I started work, but any dad didn’t like were either sold or vandalised.

    Only one song sits in my memory though: Queen – we are the Champions, which kind of says it all about my life to date! 😦

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. jsh0608 July 20, 2011 at 2:11 am #

    Good idea. I’m going to have to do some reasearch…but I’ll get there. Don’t worry I give credit where credit is due. 1. Once I get my list together 2. learn how to tag people. :0)

  5. clarissadale July 20, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    Great idea! Number 1 when I was born was Take That- Babe. Thankfully I narrowly missed out on Mr Blobby- Mr Blobby : shudders:

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

