Wisdom and Wit

14 Jul

The older I get, the more I am turning into my mother. This is a worry to me.

At twenty, I point blank refused to exercise, went to bed late and got up later, and was allergic to cleaning. I lived with boys, so they didn’t mind how untidy the house was or how dishevelled I looked when watching the television, and we cohabited seamlessly. I didn’t worry about the cost of petrol or use coupons (they just cluttered up my purse) and the garden was specifically there to lay in, or to burn food and dice with food poisoning when BBQ season was upon us.

Five years on, I am realising that we are a product of our own destiny. I came to this harsh realisation a year ago when I lived with ex boyfriend in the cottage, and was horrified at the state of the garden. Once the snow subsided and the days got warmer, you would find me at the weekends turning over the soil, spraying the cats as they tried to eat the plants and putting in gorgeous colourful flowers. It made me happy to come home to gorgeous colours surrounding a pretty little chocolate box cottage in the countryside, and this continued until the day that my kittens, determined to have the old me return, figured that if they buried mice in various stages of decay in my beds id probably give up and go back to the TV. I did.

But other aspects of my life have made me realise that the metamorphosis is beginning. I take reusable bags to the supermarket, forever worried that there is a landfill somewhere that is full of bright orange Sainsbury’s bags and that my children will have to eat each other to survive due to the horrible effects our generation had on Mother Earth. I fill my car up in the same place, preferring to save 1p on each litre of fuel, and I now drive safely from a to b, watching the speed limit and tutting at people who pull out in front of me.

I go to the gym (sporadically at the moment) because ‘you get out what you put in’ and I worry about my joints in old age, and I actually take a calcium supplement (something that my mother has been trying to force me to do for years, sneaking it into my orange juice, breakfast and any other foodstuffs she can get her spritely little hands on) to protect my bones. My intolerance to dairy worries me, and so I do this to avoid being totally brittle. Although I think my cheese consumption has this covered!

Do not regret growing older.  It is a privilege denied to many.  ~Author Unknown

Do you see your parents traits in you?

10 Responses to “Wisdom and Wit”

  1. hugmamma July 14, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    Scarier yet. At 61 when I look in the mirror…I see my mom staring back at me, in total disbelief. When did I actually become her? Belly and all! So dig in, sweetheart, it’s going to be downhill from where you’re at. I’m presuming you’re way younger than me. 😉

    i’ll add you to my blogroll so i can visit whenever i want to…my readers might want to do the same…hugmamma. 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 July 14, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      thats very kind. its not all bad, my mum is pretty awesome 🙂

  2. prenin July 14, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Nope! 🙂

    I eat when hungry, sleep when tired, clean when the dust bunnies get to many and just live a hedonistic lifestyle!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  3. luzmaria17 July 14, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    Trust me Tinkerbelle, the older you get, the more you will take on the traits of your mum. I’m 55 and my mum will be 80 next year. We’ve always been best friends and love to laugh together. I see so many of her traits in me as I’ve aged. If you mum is awesome, as I know mine is, then you’ve got it made. : )

  4. egills July 14, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    I am my father, even down to humour! My parents came round for a meal last Sunday, dad started talking about a new cookery show on Saturday – we both started laughing about the exact same comment the chef had made about the presentation of his scallops… mum and Brian just looked blankly at us.

  5. Kay aka Babygirl July 14, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    I think we all take certain traits from our parents and they too from their parents before them. I used to be in fear of turning into my mom but I realized I am different from her. I’m like her in many ways, but I started to point out the ways I wasn’t like her and surprised myself lol. We’re all different but a little familiarity doesn’t hurt 🙂

  6. Kemi July 14, 2011 at 5:29 pm #

    Absolutely!! And I can’t like some of what I see but I got determination and personality from them too which is not all bad :-).

  7. Inuspal July 14, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Great post! I do agree with you, I think I see more similarities between me and my dad though. He and I always clash and don’t get along very well…my mum claims that it’s because we’re both “exactly the same”. While I wouldn’t use the word “exactly”, it is quite astonishing how similar our little quirks and pet peeves are… and we both piss each other off for the same reasons (which I guess makes both of us hypocrites!).

    Isn’t it to be expected though? After all..they did raise us. And as the saying goes, “Blood is thicker than water.”

    p.s. thanks for the comment on my blog!

  8. eva626 July 14, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    lol yea i think i was born to be my mothers twin…except shes more determined than me…hmm THAT gets me worried

  9. Brynn July 14, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    Love this! I too am sporadically trying to get some exercise and attempting to health-up my diet. Oh to be a twenty-something, stuck in the limbo of feeling invincible and understanding the inevitable.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

