City Love

11 Jul

As Lenny Henry says, at the end of a week is a weekend. And thank goodness there is. This weekend I spent two lovely days with friends in Central London; around St John’s Wood, Paddington and Covent Garden, and it was great fun.

Catching up, eating BBQ food, marvelling at the rain “it can’t keep this up!” “Shut up mate, were you not at Isle of Wight? It rained for 16 hours!!” and playing drinking games before heading to a really fun American club where a death metal singer belted out classics from the Black Eyed Peas and Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince. It was odd, but it was good. We bounced around to Greenday and Bon Jovi and then the club went back to a normal establishment, like nothing had ever happened.

There is something about London in the sun. We sat in the little decking garden and sipped on Pimms, and the sun shone enough that we all had to put our sunglasses on. We got a bit delirious and realised that our friend Ben looks like Bruno Mars, Jen looks like Sinead O’Connor and Brendon looks like a tennis player, so much hilarity was had as we photographed them with pictures of their dopplegangers. And then we headed to Covent Garden which is beautiful in the evenings when the weather is balmy and people have smiles on their faces.

It’s all about getting out of the country when we have time off; bathing in the sun on the beaches and dining on the local food, but actually England is fantastic. London has so much to offer and it seems dead grim in the wet, but when the sun comes out there is so much more of a community feel; people smiling and saying thanks, picnics on the parks and music in the sun. My favourite is Kensington Park and the Serpentine Lake because I  love sitting down at the water with Kensington Palace as my backdrop. It makes me feel like part of The Bathers by Georges Seurat.

I remember the first time I went to the National Gallery with school and meandered round the Impressionist section, turning the corner and seeing a Monet, and thinking how fantastic it was, and then turning the corner and seeing this one.  Its massive; it takes up a whole wall in the gallery and is so delicate. Hundreds and thousands of tiny dots make up such a large piece and it’s intricate and beautiful. So when I sit at the Serpentine Lake, reading my book or having a picnic with my friends I imagine we are some of the modern-day bathers, and it makes me smile.

What do you love about your home town?

6 Responses to “City Love”

  1. Vix @ LittleMissEverything July 11, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    Fun weekend! Love the painting, not sure I’ve been there for real so I should check that out. You’re so right – London in the rain is miserable but lovely when the sun shines although I will never be a fan of the tube 🙂 Also yay Pimms!

  2. tinkerbelle86 July 11, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    im lucky that london isnt really my hometown though 🙂

  3. prenin July 11, 2011 at 1:59 pm #

    Hi Tinks! 🙂

    Yes it sounds like you had a good time!

    I’m demophobic, so I hate crowds and rarely go into Manchester which is changing radically, with a whole bunch of new skyscrapers being built.

    Middleton is a good town, but we had a lot of problems with violent and abusive teenage gangs, drugs and a high crime rate until the perpetrators realised that life has alternatives to slinging bricks through windows and terrorising the neighbourhood.

    It still goes on, but has moved out of my part of the estate and on to other parts.

    Peace is a precious thing methinks…

    God Bless sweety!

    Prenin.

  4. egills July 11, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    I suppose I can’t really call my home town home anymore – although I’ve lived in Bath for most of my life ( but now I’ve moved 20 miles away can I still call it home? ). If so there are so many fantastic places to visit here.. the museums are great, the buildings are wonderful ( in the sun that is ). The parks and river and canals are great….. the tourists not so great.

    That painting is amazing! He was a brilliant artist

  5. prenin July 11, 2011 at 2:05 pm #

    Just tried to leave a comment but it crashed…

    Manchester is a growing, crowded, place with new skyscrapers shooting up.

    I don’t go there unless I have to (Demophobia), but Middleton is a nice place to live although we have problems with teen gangs and the harm they do.

    The older ones have learned there are better things to do than break windows and terrorise the community, while the younger ones have found better places to harass and create mayhem.

    I am glad of this because I have seen so much trouble and a Police Force unable to stop these terrible teens…

    Love and hugs sweety!!!

    Prenin.

  6. jessicaber July 14, 2011 at 3:14 pm #

    I am in the State Capitol of Vermont. We have a state house building that tourists love to visit and take pictures of. It has a gold dome on it. We have an amazing public school system that my son is thriving in. We have 4 gorgeous seasons here. I was born in Vermont so this is my roots.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

