The Cheese Song

9 Jul

My Geordie has recently started a campaign to get me to watch 30 Rock, because she says the character that Tina Fey plays is basically me. I’m not sure what to make of this having never watched the programme, but this clip made me laugh.

I am a massive fan of cheese. I honestly believe that should I be posed with the issue of never being able to have cheese again, or never being able to have chocolate, I would have to say a sad goodbye and show chocolate off on its way.

I love cheese.

I don’t care what sort of cheese. I don’t think there is any cheese I won’t eat. I like blue mouldy ones, I like soft ones, I like ones with bits in. I like goats cheese (which my friend claims “tastes goaty”) I like sheep’s cheese. (I don’t like toe cheese. Just sayin). One Christmas my granddad got given a port and Stilton set, and we merrily chomped through all the Stilton, happy in the knowledge that the rest of the family had dubbed us ‘disgusting and smelly’. More for me then!

Actually, I think the any type of cheese thing is a lie. A few years ago my grandfather (again) got hold of some cheese that was so putrid that my grandmother made him put it in the outside fridge. I think it was illegal or something. It was so smelly that it had to be wrapped in vine leaves, and I wasn’t too partial to it, I think it was the fact that it was actually slimy and gave me visions of licking a slug.

Recently the Geordie went to France for a week, and came back with a massive Babybel (one of my favourite types of cheese). I decimated that bad boy in forty-eight hours. And my friends will tell you of the time that I destroyed a whole baked camembert in the pub and then had to go for a lie down to combat the cheese sweats before we went out. I was totally victorious, it was just a power nap!

I also have a worrying habit of making up songs for everything. Hovering? Sure “just hovering about, doing the hovering, busting the dust, lalalala” or getting cross with the rabbit “you’re just a poop machine” (often to the tune of girls aloud, love machine. The rare one that actually has any sort of recognisable tune). Actually when I write this down I start to worry that I might need to seek some sort of mental help…

Anyway, please see clip in question. It made me laugh, anyway.

13 Responses to “The Cheese Song”

  1. Ignorethebucklesonmyjacket July 9, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    I love the Snuggie and Cheese…not wearing the Snuggie, am too warm-blooded to wear it. It would melt the cheese. BTW, watch 30 Rock. It is funny.

    • tinkerbelle86 July 11, 2011 at 10:44 am #

      oh thats what you guys call a snuggie!!! a slanket!!

  2. thesinglecell July 9, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    OMG I have had the exact same cheese vs. chocolate debate. While I don’t believe I love cheese quite as much as you do, I’m not entirely certain I could go a week without it in any form… and I have gone a week without chocolate. Not a good week, but a week.

  3. Rach @ This Italian Family July 9, 2011 at 5:07 pm #

    Aww, I miss cheese. I mean, I’m glad I can have soy cheese and all, but I do miss having actual dairy in my diet.

    • tinkerbelle86 July 11, 2011 at 10:45 am #

      couldnt handle that rach. i drink soya milk instead of normal milk becuase i dont do well with large amounts of dairy, but no cheese? lord

  4. Kim July 10, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    mmmmm… cheese

  5. Sandra Bell Kirchman July 10, 2011 at 7:12 am #

    You really make me laugh sometimes, Tink (do you mind if I call you Tink?). Your delight with cheese is contagious…gonna hafta go get a slice of gruyere now. One of the best things about you is your light heart. You go girl! 😀

    • tinkerbelle86 July 11, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      course you can, everyone else does 🙂 tink, tinker, belle, tinkerbell. the choice is yours. thanks for your consistently lovely comments, they make my day! ❤

  6. Jenn Bean July 10, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    I’m in your camp! It’s what keeps me from going vegan. I have dreams of Roquefort, triple cream brie, butterkasse, Vermont cheddar….

    • tinkerbelle86 July 11, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      i was a vegetarian for a week. then my sister made me a bacon sandwich. im basically no good at willpower….

  7. Granddad July 12, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    Next time we are in France, I will bring you back some nice old crottin (I mean the cheese, not the literal translation – look it up!) You’ll love it!

    • tinkerbelle86 July 12, 2011 at 11:10 am #

      it will have to stay in your fridge then, the girls wont let it in the house i imagine!!!

  8. jakesprinter July 22, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    I love White Cheese,made in cows milk

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

