Living For The Weekend

4 Jul

I had a great weekend. On Saturday I went to Brighton for my belated birthday lunch with my friend Jo, and it was so lovely. We went to a place called the The Medicine Chest and filled out boots, and then we walked down to the sea front and sat by the old pier on the pebbles, soaking up the sun. The charred remains of the old pier always makes me a little sad; I know they built a new one a little further up the coast, but the old one stands there, a little lost and a little abandoned. It’s almost like the town got a new best friend and it stands alone, forlorn and thoughtful, waiting for someone else to come along.

I love Brighton beach; Brighton is one of those places where it doesn’t matter who you are, you flock to the pebbles when the sun comes out. Everyone smiles, is friendly and seems happy, and it’s a great place to be in the sun. So we sat there a bit and passed some time, and then I headed home and Jo off to her brother’s birthday.

That evening I went to see Bridesmaids with my pet Geordie (if you haven’t seen it then go immediately. It’s the funniest thing I have seen in a long while, and so true of female nature. I loved the bit where she makes a cake from scratch; pipes all the icing and shapes a flower for the top, and then stuffs it in her mouth, whole, to cheer herself up. It’s hilarious).

And yesterday I went to London. We wandered up and down the South Bank, and then head over to Spitalfields Market , which was time worth spent. I forgot how much I loved it there, blending in with the people meandering up and down the aisles, looking for a bargain. I love how there are different sections, so one minute you are walking up and down looking at hats and clothes, and then you turn the corner and are immersed in blooms; blossoms of hundreds of different flowers and plants to buy, and then turn again and you are between tiny little leather stalls and boho jewellery outlets. It’s one of my favourite places to spend a sunny day, and it was such fun.

What did you guys get up to? Happy 4th of July to all you Americans, and happy Canada day for yesterday Donna!

2 Responses to “Living For The Weekend”

  1. Julia (AKA Jules) July 4, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    I haven’t been to Brighton in about 5 years! I would go sooner but it takes me 3 hours plus by public transport and my dad can take me there in an hour, but he refuses to take me. Or my mum hates brighton hence we never go there 😦

    Oh and we hope to see Bridesmaids next week, a bit late but hey! 🙂 x

  2. Vix @ LittleMissEverything July 4, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    I want to go to Brighton next month when I have some time off not been for ages! I need some sea side action. Can’t wait to see Bridesmaids!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

