When Bad Hair Happens To Good People

27 Jun

The sun returned this weekend. I don’t know where it has been, but like an old friend, we forgot that it has been monsoon season here, donned shorts and sunnies and headed for the great outdoors like true British tourists.

Little Bean and I did the same. We went to the pub, choosing to sit in the garden and eat our lunch. And in true English fashion, we got too hot. But we totally styled it out, and sweltered in the thirty degree heat of the day, splashing ourselves in sun cream and soaking up the rays.

I get super paranoid when it is sunny, from working for a beauty house for years. I saw such a plethora of ladies with youthful faces whose age was given away by their hands and necks, and it panics me. So I apply total sun block to these areas in the hope that when I am ninety and my face looks seventy (I still get ID’d for alcohol. I have been legal for seven years) that my wrinkly, sun damaged hands and neck won’t give me away!

Anyway, so we hung in a pretty little beer garden for the majority of the afternoon, and ate lunch. It was pretty hard to pick off the menu, due to the extreme heat negating a need for salads and light bites, rather than sausage and mash and the normal hearty pub food that you want on a Sunday with an ever so slight hangover. I had haddock fish cakes (mmmm!) and my sister opted for a sandwich and coleslaw.

Then we went home and lay in the garden for a while, soaking up the sun and lapping up the humid temperatures (“you can’t go topless, the neighbours might see!!!” “I’m sure they have seen a boob before”) All was well and good, until we were so sweaty and hot that we decided to do something different, plus my delicate skin burns at the sight of sun, so I have to minimise exposure to not cause physical damage and pain when trying to get dressed for work the next day!

So Little Bean decided she wanted me to dye her hair. She has naturally brown hair, but over the years she has been various colours, and she had it set in her mind that she wanted to go white blonde. Like, punk rocker, super cool, white blonde. She had bought a bleaching kit, and I looked at it, and looked at her, asking the question “really? Are you sure you want to do this? Really?”
She did. And stubbornness runs in the family, so she wasn’t going to change her mind. I duly agreed, and followed the instructions to a T. I combed it through, massaged it in, waited, rubbed it in at the roots, left it the allotted time, etc etc. And she still went the colour of an orange highlighter.

I’m not going to put the picture on here, because that would be far too mean for an older sister, but it was interesting. Yet she laughed (which was good, I’m not great with criers) and then instructed that I go ahead and do the next stage. After a further hour of bleaching, her skin burned, and although her hair was lighter, it was still yellow. It sort of clashed with her skin colour too.

Eeek. I think today she is going to try and get an appointment with the hairdressers. I think we can all learn from this.

If you are planning on making a dramatic colour change, ask an actual hairdresser. Doing it yourself might be cheaper, but it’s never better.

18 Responses to “When Bad Hair Happens To Good People”

  1. prenin June 27, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    When Pat was teaching Rachel hair dressing she used me as a dummy.

    One day Rachel was supposed to put hilights and streaks in, but went for a large blonde R instead.

    Little bugger! 🙂

    Pat had to dye my hair black to get rid of it…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. Julia (AKA Jules) June 27, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    great post! I too am getting my hair done this week (re-dyed, you could say). I’m going to ask my hairdresser to leave my dye in longer this time so that it doesn’t fade quickly (aaah, the fickleness that is red hair…)

    Oh and I still get IDed for alcohol, and I’m in my late twenties. Been legal for over 8 years. Urgh…..

    x

    • tinkerbelle86 June 27, 2011 at 11:59 am #

      im red and i do it at home. it works fine. id never go blonde though. id look like animal from the muppets, my eyebrows are too dark!!

      • Julia (AKA Jules) June 27, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

        I got told off from my hairdresser once for dying my hair. now I get him to do it. It costs me around £100 every two months(!!) but it’s worth it..,
        I was a natural blonde but I can’t imagine being blonde or lighter now!! 🙂

        • tinkerbelle86 June 28, 2011 at 10:53 am #

          really?! mines a fiver and i do it at home. im too tight to pay that much!!!

  3. egills June 27, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    Ah – she should have used a colour stripper first and then dyed it – however I do also belive if you’re going to do that much of a change get a professional to do it, the dye’s they use are much better and don’t damage the hair as much.
    ( When I was a teen I tried that with horrific results )

  4. Melissa's Meanderings June 27, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Definitely a good to tip to have a professional do the dramatic changes…too much can go wrong!

  5. Vix @ LittleMissEverything June 27, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    It’s been roasting! Storms tonight though and it’ll all be over. I’m lucky as my mum’s a hairdresser but bleaching yourself is never a good idea, I hope she gets it all sorted out!

  6. imonthebandwagon June 27, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    Once again tink, great post!

    🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 June 27, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

      Thanks love! I had help from my sister this time, you literally couldnt make this stuff up. Hope you and the boys enjoyed glasto!

  7. Nicole, the Queen of this life June 27, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    holy balls that would freak me out! I would be sobbing! Good thing she took it well!

  8. feistygirl June 30, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Gosh reminds me of my hair scare!!
    http://feistypad.wordpress.com/2011/03/30/hairy-tales/ I never had the huts to try out anything on my lustrous mane!!! 🙂

  9. Sandra Bell Kirchman June 30, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    My hair has been going white ever since I was 17 and my dad was murdered. Needless to say, dye has been my friend for a good many years. I used to do it myself, but I all but ruined my hair after a couple of decades of this. I finally went to a hairdresser who undertook to restore my hair as much back to health as she could. It worked, and now I wouldn’t dream of doing it myself.

    • tinkerbelle86 June 30, 2011 at 10:29 pm #

      God Sandra I’m so sorry to hear that. But on a more positive note thanks for all the comments, I do love hearing from you 😀 xx

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

