ET’s Fingers

24 Jun

Until recently I have stuck by my decision to ditch shoes around April and opt for flip flops till March when my toes go blue and fall off. It is met with derision from the masses, but I think that should it rain, I can wipe my feet off and not have to sit with wet socks and shoes. Plus I’m a bit of a hippie kid. I don’t like shoes, and I’m not a fan of heels either.

But I’m admitting defeat. I regularly stub my toes, drop things on my feet and generally mangle them, but yesterday was the last straw that broke the camel’s back.
I went to the party shop to get some fancy dress attire for the weekend (you’ll have to wait and see about that. I don’t think I’ll be giving it away but if the wrong person stumbles here I might ruin the whole surprise so ill save it till Monday!) And got completely soaked. I had forgotten it was monsoon season in June and therefore not made alternative arrangements, so had to do the mad car dash. You know the one I mean, park the car on the high street, run with flailing arms and legs to the meter to pay for my half an hour, run back to car etc. I did have a really short conversation with a man who was holding up the queue when he informed me the machine wasn’t working. “Do you think it might be because its eighty pence and you are only putting in seventy pence?” I muttered as the rain got harder, something I didn’t think was possible! Yep, that’s the issue. Pay the right money dude, I have fancy dress to purchase.
Clothes bought, I hot footed it out of the party shop and fell over. Not a dramatic fall, something fairly small, but as my flips have no grip, I landed in a massive puddle. Wow, I’ve not been living up to my accident prone nature recently, so I guess I had to even the balance. And. It. hurt. Then about twenty yards down the road, I did it again.
Getting back in the car I huffed about the dampness of my jeans, and realised my toe was actually really painful.


Twenty four hours later the whole thing has gone black and blue and looks a bit like ET’s finger. It’s most definitely broken. I can’t put any weight on it, so accelerating is proving difficult when driving. Ouch. Normal shoes are back out tomorrow. Sad times.
Its Friiiiiiday!!
What has everyone got planned for this weekend?

16 Responses to “ET’s Fingers”

  1. egills June 24, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Ouch! Toes really hurt 😦

    My weekend plan also has a costume theme – we’re hosting a Murder Mystery party set in 1939. We’ve been planning it for months now and I’m really looking forward to it.

    Hope your weekend goes well.

    • tinkerbelle86 June 27, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

      How did it go? Meant to reply sooner, but this sounds so fun!!! X

  2. prenin June 24, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Sounds bad hun – you better go and get your toe seen by the doctor ASAP.

    Falling over isn’t my problem, but kicking things around the house whilst barefoot is.

    OUCH!!!

    Hope you get it fixed hun and Godbless!

    Prenin.

  3. Julia (AKA Jules) June 24, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    owwww!
    at the mo? I’m in my office having a raveeeeeeee dancing to early 90s stuff. By myself. Kinda sad, isn’t it?!

    Oh and this weekend is being spent in front of the telly watching Morrissey, seeing relatives, cooking and shopping!!

    x

  4. Megan June 24, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    Ah, hello. My name is Megan and I thing we really are long lost sisters or something… You just described a day in my life! Honest to goodness! The only exception being my fall happened upon walking into a drug store… the wet flip flops flew right out from under me upon walking into the store…. embarrassing and painful! I’m such a klutz on a daily basis though… no rain needed for a tumble! Just my own two feet. 🙂

    Hope your toe quits looking less E.T. like really soon!

  5. mila June 24, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

    it must have been really hurt.
    you better go to doctor. I stumbled on my toe once, it was also black & blue then it got swollen & infected… very scary. Worse than ET’s fingers. Plus.. it hurts a lot.

  6. Melissa's Meanderings June 24, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Ouch…hope it feels better soon (Go to the doc!)

  7. We're Jumpin' June 24, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    Eeeps! Hope you get your toe seen about.
    This weekend for me is house cleaning, laying out, and reading. 🙂

  8. Vix @ LittleMissEverything June 24, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    I never wear flip flops because I always break them, I walk like a fairy elephant 🙂 sounds painful, hope it gets better soon!

  9. Tipsy Lucy June 25, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Ow, ow, ow!!!
    Broken toes hurt like a son of a gun, and take so long to heal. But I’m wishing you speedy healing!
    This weekend I want to relax, but the house needs cleaning and I need a haircut.

  10. D... June 26, 2011 at 1:43 am #

    I’m in LA and I live in open toe shoes. But you’re right it’s dangerous, you just have to get used to it and try not to lop a toe off. A couple of weeks ago a dude rode full speed into me while I was wearing these wedgey flip flops, feet OK, but coffee all over my shirt and a big bruise on my leg. Grrr to teenager on bike riding on sidewalk. There are such things as pedestrians.

  11. Missey Twisted June 26, 2011 at 7:23 pm #

    Ouch, Tink! Not much the docs can do about broken toes, but tape them together. I broke mine about ten years ago when I was standing in a t-shirt and my undies in the kitchen….and our neighbor knocks on the kitchen door. I ran so fast out of the kitchen, that I bashed my left foot against a cabinet. I had to wear the very fashionable black shoe with velcro straps over my taped toes for a while. Hopefully your not in The Shoe.
    My weekend plans? Am pouting again as the rain ruined my trip to the Sand and Sea festival at Salisbury Beach over here in the States.
    Heal up soon!

    • tinkerbelle86 June 27, 2011 at 8:36 am #

      well quite. there is no point going to the doctor and explaining the sorry tale of how i fell over in the rain for him to repeat it to the whole office!

  12. JennyBean June 27, 2011 at 2:24 am #

    Owwwww. You poor, poor thing. There’s nothing like a hurt toe.

  13. hessedjoy June 27, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    Sorry to hear about your foot dear. I hope you’re better now. Take care! 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

