Its All In The DNA

23 Jun

Another of my friends has decided to dip her toe into the world of internet dating this week, with amusing consequences. I’m not going to go into it too much, but the conversations we have had, and prior conversations with other friends, not to mention my perception of people have made me think about what we, as girls, are really after. It’s like an experiment into human psychology, and I’m finding it really interesting.


 The only thing that I can deduce from the whole process is that us girls are a little bit barmy. OK, we might be pretty and smell nice and be smaller and daintier than our male counterparts, but we are much more complicated and I can see the confusion from a male point of view.
Take a conversation between me and one friend. She told me she had been talking to a guy who seemed nice, liked flowers and was visiting his Nan that day. My response? “Is he a man or a mouse?!” I automatically made myself laugh. Girls go on about how they want someone in touch with their feelings and who can be nice and thoughtful, yet it a bloke tells you too soon that they like knitting and cats, we run for the hills. Or maybe it’s just me. I like rugby players and boys who prefer to be outdoors, but come to mention it; she didn’t actually seem to think it was that strange.
Example 2. Another friend (seriously, everyone is at it) read the profile of a man who had sent her a message to me. The message was really funny, nice and simple, and made us laugh. She then went to see what his profile said, and was sad to see that his friend had gone into far too much detail about him, stating he wanted a wife, liked kids and cooking and was handy with a Hoover (I’m ad libbing on this one but it was along those lines). She tried to see the positive, although the look on her face said otherwise. “Aaah” she said “he likes kids. That must mean he wants a family”. Or he is a paedophile.
I think there is something to be said about keeping some of yourself a secret and not telling your entire life story in a public domain. But at the same time it’s interesting to know what people are ultimately looking for. A girl might be looking for someone to marry, but if the guy says on the first date that he is wanting to get married as a priority, she is more than likely to not see him again. Odd.

The way I see it is that when you go on a date you go home and think one of two things. 1) I liked him/ he seemed nice/ we had fun. Or 2) he was a nut-job/ the conversation was boring/ I wanted to gouge my eyes out with a spoon/my friend had to call me to get me out of it.

The next question in your mind is do I want to see him again? Yes? No? That’s it. all these stupid games of leaving it twenty eight and a half hours before responding to a message or only eating salad on a date (believe me, I’ve heard it) are incredibly ridiculous.
So I am making the rash decision to say that men, you are right. Sometimes us girls are a little bit mental. But at the same time it’s a completely different ball game when you are a fairly normal girl who eats more than two lettuce leaves and a sliver of tomato as standard and who comes across a man like this. It’s a whole ‘nother world out there with an over thinker, and they are on the rise. Apparently it’s due to oestrogen in plastic food packaging, and why you shouldn’t drink tap water as “girls dissolve their pills in it”. That’s a direct quote, I’ll have you know. That’s clearly the problem. We are not TAKING the pills we are prescribed to keep us baby free, but putting them down the sink. The mind boggles! 🙂

11 Responses to “Its All In The DNA”

  1. Julia (AKA Jules) June 23, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    hehe. great post. I think that I’m the more confusing one… which is probably why I’m still single?

  2. prenin June 23, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    Hi hun! 🙂

    I look for a strong personality in a woman, not some head down doormat like my mum, but unfortunately the last thing they want is a relationship and kids – go figure huh?

    Now I’m nearly 51 and on medication I have no interest in anything other than a Platonic friendship – so I now have a stalker who is intent on replacing the husband who battered her with yours truly!

    Naturally enough she also happens to be a Schizophrenic Mormon – goes with the territory!!!

    Talk about scary…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  3. Vix @ LittleMissEverything June 23, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    I’m always wondering whether to give internet dating a go but so many bloggers who do it just write horror stories about the crazy people on there!

    • tinkerbelle86 June 23, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

      why is it suddenly making me approve your comments?! how odd!! there are some crazies, but there are crazies in bars, clubs, cafes… they are EVERYWHERE!! do it. and also come meet me for coffee! 🙂

  4. Melissa's Meanderings June 23, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Great post…I think the point is…that all humans are a bit “mental”!

  5. Rach @ This Italian Family June 24, 2011 at 3:08 am #

    Haha! I used to have my head squarely on my shoulders with zero emotional stuff or drama. I still am pretty drama free, but I’ll be honest there are times when I do or say things that seem totally contradictory even to myself, haha! Anyway, I think like Melissa said up there, that we’re all a little mental sometimes. 😉

  6. tin2thin June 24, 2011 at 5:24 am #

    Great post!!! but it makes a beginner and have to learn a lot before go on a date 🙂

  7. Sandra Bell Kirchman June 24, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    I met my husband on the internet, not at a dating site but at the place where I worked as news editor. He was a volunteer researcher, and I admired his researching talents immensely. I’d never had a researcher on staff before. He already knew me from my writing at another site and admired it. We met in person a year after we met online and found out it really was the real thing. We got married on July 7, 2007 (7-7-07 – it will be hard for him to forget our anniversary).

    Having said all that, I have also met some real nut cases online. So it behooves girls to take precautions – not give out their phone numbers or addresses or even real names in chat rooms. If possible, meet the person in a public place the first time and soon as you can too, to prevent a broken heart if it doesn’t turn out.

    One big advantage of falling in love online is that, as my husband pointed out, we get to know each other on a deeper level than we would if we met in person first.

  8. eva626 June 24, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    i agree us girls canbe so complicated even when we deem to be simple!!! lol. i always try to be clear cut but then i feel im very confused and complicated at times

  9. D... June 26, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    I think we females don’t know what we want in our twenties, only because we don’t know who we are yet. As you get older you’re bound to change and after you’ve dated a bit your taste in men will change too. I know that in my early twenties I tended to go for the wrong guy, habitually. I mean if he was the worst for me then I wanted it. But after 26 I think I started to become more confident, the older I got the more I looked inward. So it changes, in ten years you’re going to be a different person and you wouldn’t want to be with the same type of guy you liked at 24. But at 24 you tend to play around a bit, playing games and figuring stuff out. That’s what your twenties is all about, and it can be a lot of fun. And yes a lot of times we want what we don’t have, that’s just human nature. Just enjoy the boys, and date who you like, as for internet dating, it seems like a fun game, but I don’t think it’s the only option to employ. It’s sort of a silly thing to me. Just don’t get a stalker, trust me stalkers are bad.

    Wow, that was an old fart response, sorry about that. But I wonder if it makes sense.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

