Net Curtains and Knickers

22 Jun

I have always thought net curtains were for old people. You know, curtain twitchers.

Retired old people who look out the windows and spy on the neighbours, dainty curtains that hang in front of the actual curtain and get all grubby, adding to the list of household chores that a person has to do from day to day, which is not welcomed by someone like me who often has to wear bikini bottoms to work as I haven’t done the washing for an impressively long amount of time. You know that when you get to only bikinis left in the drawer that it is about time to be an adult and put some washing in the machine. Which is always the day that everyone else in the flat has the same pant dilemma, and there is a fight for the washing machine. But I digress.

So I have always thought that net curtains were a complete waste of time, but as I get into my older years I am starting to become at one with the need for net curtains. Or mores the point, when I was getting dressed in my room this week, parading around in my pants (sometimes you just need to let your body lotion dry before you tog up or run the gauntlet of feeling grotty for the rest of the day). So there I was, dancing about and deciding what to wear when I swear a man walked past my window.

It might not have happened (although a recent conversation about burglars and a man sighting from my window made me think otherwise) but it quite realistically could have. I live in an awesome flat with great big windows, on the ground floor. The back garden area runs along the side of our flat, and there is a back door to let you in the building, so I was suddenly aware that anyone could be walking past my room as a quick means of getting from the garages to their home.

Luckily, my grandmother had sent me a message telling me she had some net curtains that I might be able to use. I quickly text her back (my gran is able to text, which is super impressive. She also has facebook) thanking her, and today my net curtains arrived in the post. Result!!

Now I am the proud owner of one pair of net curtains, I need to sort out the whole flat. Gone will be the days when the people upstairs cut across the lawn and peer into our front room when we are dancing like loonies, or doing yoga. Much better.

11 Responses to “Net Curtains and Knickers”

  1. imonthebandwagon June 22, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    haha i use to have this problem whemn i was at uni. my room was at the front of a house on a student road, Instead of getting net curtains i just closed the normal ones, i lived in darkness for a lot of the time.

    Still, old before your time tink!

    • tinkerbelle86 June 22, 2011 at 9:23 am #

      pipe down you!!! anyway its different in the midlands, i hear anything north of london is grim…..

  2. imonthebandwagon June 22, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    pfffft anything north on london is an improvement!

  3. barb19 June 22, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    I love net curtains – they give you privacy from nosey neighbours and make the room look cosy!

  4. Julia (AKA Jules) June 22, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    net curtains look old… to me anyway. So I have blinds! 😀 Venetian blinds, to be exact…. serves the problem perfectly! 🙂

    xx

  5. prenin June 22, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    I live in a first floor flat and have to keep my curtains shut because of the kids climbing the tree outside my living room.

    I also have to wear long legged boxers all the time as my kitchen is overlooked and I don’t want to scare the neighbours!!! LoL.

    I DID have net curtains at one time, but they replaced all my window frames so they could double glaze them and I found I couldn’t screw in the little hooks any more…

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

  6. Megan June 22, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Girl, I run into the laundry problem ALL.THE.TIME!!! Since this gal is NEVER caught in a bikini as it would be a scarier sight to passersby, I usually just go to the store and pick up a new pack of inners! 😀

    I don’t have net curtains but keep my regular curtains on my bedroom window closed all the time only because the window faces the parking lot to my apartment complex. Early on after I moved in I unknowingly gave the neighbors a peek at the goods because I forgot to close the curtains… I found it easier just to leave ’em shut all the time from then on! 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 June 22, 2011 at 4:48 pm #

      buying new pants… what a good idea!!!! ill never have to use the washing machine again…

  7. vixter2010 June 22, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Ha yeah you need something on the ground floor! I think nets are fine, we also have blinds to do the job. Better than giving the neighbours an eyeful 🙂 Your gran sounds really cute, so impressive she can text and Facebook!

  8. anne June 23, 2011 at 2:16 am #

    This made me laugh! Because I never thought of curtains as “old”. (I’m guessing by “net” you mean, like, lace?) I’ve always liked having some sort of sheer covering as I don’t like flashing the neighbors but cannot bear the darkness of having heavy curtains or blinds pulled. Uhg. My last house, tho, I had the best things ever… they were bamboo strip roll up blinds, but they didn’t look cheap or tacky, quite nice, and when you had them down you still got light in, and you could see out, but no one could see in! Not sure how it worked but I loved them. (and I am guilty of buying new unders when I ran out of clean ones…sheesh).

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

