When Dreams Are Shattered…. Haha

21 Jun

So I went to the festival, I saw, I drank and I danced. I got wet, I slept on the floor, I used a portaloo. You all know this to be true.

But I didn’t really talk about the music. Don’t worry, this isn’t going to be some silly post about how musically intelligent I am or how I think that my taste in music is superior (we all know it isn’t, I like Duran Duran) but I did thoroughly enjoy the shows that some of the bands put on, and was seriously disappointed by some others.

Firstly, I booked my ticket to see Kings of Leon, and Tinee Tempah (musically schizophrenic). Tinee decided that he was far too busy, and cancelled. A curse on you and yours, Tinee Tempah!

Friday came and we went to see Kaiser Chiefs and Kings of Leon. And Kaiser Chiefs were AWWWWEEESOME! I didn’t think I knew that many songs by them, but I loved it. Being two or three inches taller than an actual midget, I did have to do some heavy duty bouncing around to be able to see anything, and I liked it, although at one point I lost a welly and had to scrabble around in a sea of legs to find it.

And thus it was time for Kings of Leon. A little bit of background here, I love them. I love the lead singer, I love the drummer, I love the music, I could even cope with the showering of wee I got when waiting for them to come on. But I was disappointed. This is an understatement. It was a bit like being a child with a new packet of crayons, and someone coming along, stealing them off of me and breaking them IN MY FACE. When I spoke to my more musically knowledgeable sister afterwards she said “ah right, no, they’re shit live.”

At one point I was so bored that all I could think of was “if you are that rich and successful, Caleb, then why don’t you get your teeth whitened or even invest in an electric toothbrush? You are looking dead ropey.” Which isn’t the thought you should be having when in the presence of gods. How the mighty have fallen! We left before the end, with cider and pizza calling us louder than the sound of Kings of Leon spectacularly forgetting the words. Fail.

On Saturday we saw Chase and Status (amaze) and that was about it. It was warm, we were all drunk and for some reason dubstep in the Strongbow tent made us forget the Foo Fighters. Who apparently were amazing and this will haunt me till the day I die.

Sunday came, and so did the rain. We braved it and poodled off to see Plan B, who was the highlight of my weekend! He did some odd mixes, some interesting songs and made the rainy day that little bit more fun. Me and the girls rocked out the robot and did the dad dance before going home defeated by all the water.

Next year…. glamping. And maybe Duran Duran might headline…..

9 Responses to “When Dreams Are Shattered…. Haha”

  1. Julia (AKA Jules) June 21, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    great post!! oooh i love a bit of the kaisers, and plan b! but yeah, duran duran and morrissey would be fab! 🙂 xx

    p.s. glasto friday, keep your head up girl! x

    • tinkerbelle86 June 21, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

      are you going? we couldnt get tickets :s I wish we were! but im also looking forawrd to a bottle of wine with friends and a day date. woop!

      • tinkerbelle86 June 21, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

        im also looking forward to learning how to spell :S

        • Julia (AKA Jules) June 21, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

          hehe! I wish I was… *sigh*… just to see Morrissey in the flesh….. and U2… looks like it’ll be a TV date for me with a bottle of vegan wine….. *sigh*…. xx

          • tinkerbelle86 June 21, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

            u2???????? nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo x

            • Julia (AKA Jules) June 21, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

              whaaaaaaa?! I LOVE u2!!!! I think mumford & sons are playing Friday night too, can’t wait to see Beyonce at the weekend…!! x

  2. Megan June 21, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Haha! My roommate from college was obsessed with Duran Duran!!! Played it incessantly which inadvertently ended causing me to have a slight distaste for the group…shameful, I know!

    Sorry to hear the Kings of Leon was a let down… that’s unfortunate to hear because their albums are phenomenal! And as for the Foo Fighters… tis a shame you missed ’em! I was hoping to see them this summer as they are making a stop in Pittsburgh, but I’ve been a bit concert crazy as of late and had to draw the line somewhere. Dang adulthood, financial responsibilities putting a damper on my fun!

    Sounds like an awesome experience chica! I’ve never been to a multi-day festival before!!! So I must admit I’m a lil jealous! 😉

    • tinkerbelle86 June 22, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

      wasnt that much of a shame, i was doing other fun things 🙂 meet you at cochella next year?! xxx

  3. prenin June 21, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    I too like Duran Duran – I have a tape of their stuff somewhere – but you wouldn’t catch me getting dripping wet while stood in the middle of the Somme being bombarded with God Knows What!!! 🙂

    Glad you had fun sweetheart – each to their own as they say!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

