Rinse and Repeat

19 Jun

Answering the phone in my office is a bit of a Russian roulette, and I have to admit I am guilty of not listening to people properly unless I really am interested. The Geordie found it amusing that I didn’t have a clue what the profession of a guy I was seeing was, despite the fact that I asked him on multiple occasions. He started talking, I switched off. It’s a bad trait of mine, but in my defence it weeds out who friends from acquaintances. If I can’t recite what you do, I probably don’t listen to you!!

Anyway, I’m really bad at hearing people’s names on the phone. And so is one of my colleagues. I think it’s rude to ask people to repeat things more than twice. The international rule of rudeness is thus:

Ask name. Don’t hear/understand/listen.

Ask to repeat. As above. Line might be crackly or accent strong, but you now are at the point where you can’t ask again for fear of causing mortal offence.

You put them on hold and say to whoever the call is for “…. is on the phone for you”. At this point you have either mumbled quietly when you have said the name, or gone for something that sounds like what you thought you heard, or what it possibly could be.

They answer phone. You generally got the name wrong.

But a girl I work with took it a step further yesterday, and I loved it. She completely styled out that she didn’t have a clue who was on the phone and said “mike or mark is on line one for you.” The person receiving that call answered it, and when he got off the phone said to her “do you want to know what his name was? Kurt.”

Priceless.

12 Responses to “Rinse and Repeat”

  1. Megan June 19, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    I soooo have this same problem!!! I just kinda zone out at times when people are talking… especially on the phone when they’re going on and on and on about something that isn’t much of an interest to me. On the contrary, there are times when people think I am not paying attention and I am full on listening even if they’re not directly speaking to me. It’s a fine line to walk! 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 June 22, 2011 at 4:55 pm #

      i know. its mainly boys. “are you listening to what im saying?” “well you might just want to say it again because i wasnt” drives me mental!! but im exactly the same

  2. mairedubhtx June 19, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    I have the same problem with understanding names on the phone. And trying to get a phone number off the answering machine is the worst. I don’t know the name of the person and I have to listen to the phone number 8 or 10 times before I get it written down. I feel so dumb.

  3. Redneckprincess June 19, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    🙂 I can’t remember peoples names at the best of times, if they bore me, are rude, or I can’t understand them it is a sure thing…hehehehehe….

  4. prenin June 20, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    Hi hun! 🙂

    Yes, the phone is a demon in disguise – try answering a person by name BEFORE they’ve said anything!!!

    Glad you are not alone though!!! 🙂

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

    PS: YOU’RE Message box is different to all the others AND IT WORKS!!! 🙂

  5. youngamericanwisdom.com June 20, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    I often find myself in a face to face conversation with someone I’m suppose to know, but I’m so preoccupied with trying to remember their name that I don’t hear a word they’re saying. It’s a horrible predicament.
    Thanks so much for popping over to my blog. Now I get the pleasure of enjoying yours. 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 June 22, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

      my mum often says ” i bumped into that lady today. you know, the one whose daughter you went to school with. the one with the red hair. who liked singing” or something along those lines. if she cant remember their name then god knows how she thinks i will!

  6. Scott June 25, 2011 at 3:06 am #

    Enjoyable post–and I especially love the title! It’s no wonder one cannot understand the name of a person on the phone, because so many people don’t enunciate their names well. In other words, when someone gives you his/her name over the phone, it is his/her responsibility to enunctiate it well. If the person’s speech is too garbled for you to clearly get his/her name, the fault lies with him/her, not you.

  7. egills July 14, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    I’m with Scott on this one…. but then I need to know their life history before I’m allowed to pass a call on to my boss!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rinse and Repeat (via Tinkerbelle86′s Blog) « Duffboy - June 21, 2011

    […] Answering the phone in my office is a bit of a Russian roulette, and I have to admit I am guilty of not listening to people properly unless I really am interested. The Geordie found it amusing that I didn’t have a clue what the profession of a guy I was seeing was, despite the fact that I asked him on multiple occasions. He started talking, I switched off. It’s a bad trait of mine, but in my defence it weeds out who friends from acquaintances. If … Read More […]

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

