Dream A Little Dream Of Me…

18 Jun

Do you ever wake up in the morning and feel like you don’t have a clue what you’re doing? How did I get to a quarter century? It seems that only minutes ago I was walking round the halls of sixth form with friends talking about weekend plans and the worry of the great big pile of texts I had to read for my lit exam. Some mornings I wake up and want to dig deep into the duvet; squirreling myself further and soaking up my own company. But no, we swing our legs out of bed and stumble to brush our teeth, fix our hair and get in the car in time for our trip to work. I find it worrying that sometimes I do the drive to the office and can’t actually remember doing it, what with all the thoughts buzzing around in my head.

I am always really amazed by people who know what they want from life. Whether it’s the girl in the sandwich van who dreams of opening her own cafe, or the boy who needs to earn enough money to kick his company off the ground, I envy them for having drive and dreams. There is something to be said for being the child that wants to be a doctor and therefore goes about doing it. I was the little girl who was too dreamy to think about careers, and at twenty five I’m the slightly bigger girl (I haven’t ACTUALLY grown that much) who has her head in the clouds. Commitment and decision are alien to me (ask me about owning a house or calling someone my boyfriend and see a Laura shaped hole in the nearest wall!)

But we all have dreams. So how come we don’t live them? No one can tell you that your dreams won’t be reality, and I’m a strong believer of reaching out and grabbing things, or life will pass you by. You might want to apply for your ideal job but worry of not having the qualifications, or want to ask someone out but fear rejection, yet we need to stand up and seize the moment. It’s fleeting, and once you have pulled your socks up and decided to take the step, you might find it’s fluttered away like a feather in the wind.

My dad tells me that I can do whatever I set my mind to, and that no dream is too big. I’m a smart cookie, and I’m pretty tough too, so maybe it’s time to suck it up and see.

13 Responses to “Dream A Little Dream Of Me…”

  1. prenin June 18, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Hi Laura! 🙂

    Yes my sweet – dream the dream and do what makes you truly happy.

    None of us get out of this life alive, so do it before your youth is a fond memory!!!

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. Redneckprincess June 18, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

    Life goes by quickly sweetie, in a blink of an eye you end up being 46 🙂 It’s never too late or to early to grab what you want out of life!!! Live it and be happy 🙂

  3. mairedubhtx June 18, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    I’m considerably older than you are and I still don’t know what I’m doing or what I really want most of the time. I have things that I do because I want to do them but as to where I’m really headed, who can say? For me, it didn’t get straightened out as I aged. I’m just as confused as I was 40 years ago.

  4. J Roycroft June 18, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    If we never acted on our dreams, we would never had landed a man on the moon. You are the controller of your own destiny.
    My daughter had a choice to make. She was working for a small staffing firm in Atlanta. She was close to all of her friends she grew up with. Her choice was move to 6 hours away to Savannah to take a better job, or stay where she was in the safety and comfort of friends and family. Her friends told her she was crazy to take a chance by moving that far away just to take a better job. It meant she would leave her comfort zone, and be totally independent for the first time in her young adult life. She is 22 years old. After calling me, and spending much time going over the pros and cons of the choice she was about to make, she chose to take the risk and move to the new job.
    That was 2 months ago. She is now experiencing the rewards of her decision. She is now an independent adult with a very rewarding job. She doubled her income and is now beginning a fast pace up the corporate ladder with a company that recognizes her talents. She still has her family and friends. I taught my kids at a very early age to try and make the right choices in life. You have to make things happen. You have the power to make your dreams come true.
    Now go get that cake shop started so you can mark it off your bucket list!

    • tinkerbelle86 June 19, 2011 at 11:39 am #

      hahhaa, am i allowed to do one of the others first…..?

  5. vixter2010 June 18, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Great post chick! We all need a kick up the butt to make our dreams happen! You can do it!

  6. barb19 June 18, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    Life passes by so quickly, so live your dreams! Grab every opportunity and every experience – let nothing pass you by. Only you can make it happen!

  7. Mumsy and Chancy June 18, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    Dreams do come true…though at first the path that leads us to them may not be what we expected. Take every opportunity that comes your way to see your dreams fulfilled. Life is short so dream on and live those dreams. Hugs

  8. granny1947 June 19, 2011 at 8:33 am #

    Your Dad is right.
    Don’t leave things too long.
    The years just fly by…especially when you get older.

  9. Team Oyeniyi June 19, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Fly by is right. I’m now over half a century – now THAT is scary! We are not here for a long time – make the most of it!

  10. crazygoangirl June 19, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    I feel that way most days!! With a toddler and a Dad who has Dementia and just Life in general, I barely know if I’m coming or going. Oh I was one of those who thought she knew exactly what she wanted…to become a doctor. I did and then years down the line what I wanted had changed! So now I write and take pictures and raise my son and do anything that brings me joy 🙂 Isn’t that what it’s all about? But I do agree with your Dad…you can be anyone you want to be and do anything you want to do…as long as you don’t expect it to be easy or convenient…that I learnt from experience!

  11. Sandra Bell Kirchman June 19, 2011 at 5:46 pm #

    Perhaps part of your lifetime goals is to learn about commitment. Or perhaps you haven’t found anything that stimulates your passion enough to force you to take that step.

    I agree that it’s good to seize opportunities as they come by, but I also think that you should never settle for second best either when first is available. Follow your heart and your desires.

    If you don’t know what you want (and believe me, that is one of the biggest human lacks in the world…not knowing what you want), try different things out until you find it. You can have it all…if you want it badly enough.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

