This Little Light of Mine, I’m Going To Let It Shine

17 Jun

A year ago I started a blog. I wasn’t sure how it would work or where it would go, and I knew I didn’t really want anyone to read it that I knew, for fear of criticism I suppose. I tentatively dipped my toe into the pool of my opinions and expressing them, and hoped that they would disappear into the abyss of the blog. My blog took me from reality and created an alter ego; removing me from the stressful anxiety of being in a place that I didn’t want to be in because I felt I should be. The release of being able to grab my laptop and go to a room where I could sit by myself with no football on the TV or need to clear up the mess of a less than tidy boyfriend was like a sanctuary, and the words flowed from the tips of my fingers like electricity. I loved it. I tentatively started posting the odd link to facebook and twitter, thinking that really people were too busy to click on a link that I had posted.

So did I really want to keep my voice quiet? A year on I’m really happy with the progress I have made and the blog friends I have acquired along the way. People that I might never talk to in my daily life have enriched my opinions, and I have seen the world from a new side.

Has it been successful? What is success? If you had told me that this time in a year I would have 150 active subscribers and over twenty thousand hits, I would have laughed. Yet I’ve been touched not only by the comments of people I don’t know, but the people who put a face to my name and who I know in the real world. At a friend’s birthday a few months ago a guy I went to school with came up to me and told me about how he read my blog and how good he thought it was. And it nearly brought a tear to my eye!

I’m now confident that what I write can be read, and that I have a voice in the world. So thanks to each and every one of you for giving me the confidence to become a little more controversial; to dig deep into things that I normally wouldn’t mention and to gain some catharsis. A problem shared often IS a problem halved, and with all of you reading, problems are splintered into tiny little fragments and blown into the wind.

Im not normally the sort of person that gushes or comes up with really emo comments or girly asides (the girls watched the notebook last night. I couldnt bring myself to do it but got shouted at when I popped into the lounge to get some communal maltesers to find them both sniffling. I asked if he was dead yet. Apparently it was the wrong thing to say!) but sometimes you just need to say thank you.

So thank you, and what a difference a year makes.

Please note: normal reading will resume tomorrow when Belle is returned from the spaceship 🙂

19 Responses to “This Little Light of Mine, I’m Going To Let It Shine”

  1. Things You Realize After You Get Married June 17, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    Congrats on your blog-i-versary! It is definitely tough at first—either b/c you think no one wil even read what you have to say, or they may not like what you say etc. But once that hurdle has been overcome, it definitely is exhilirating!! I still have yet to link my blog to Facebook….I dunno if I want everyone who knows me to know that I am the one writing this blog…yet. I kinda like the mystique of it! lol

  2. Ipodman June 17, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    150 subs? Wow that’s huge! 😀

  3. jennajadee June 17, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    Congratulations 🙂 I love reading your blog and will continue to do so. Happy Blogging and hope you keep extending through the years.

  4. Megan June 17, 2011 at 3:23 pm #

    Our blog birthdays are very close! Mine was just the other day! And girl, your blog has received sooooooo much more lovin than mine! That’s awesome … keep it up chica!

    I’ve so looooooved getting to know you through your writing and hearing all about what you’ve got going on! Looking forward to all that’s still to come too! Miss ya tons! I know I’ve not been a good blogging friend lately but know I am still here and reading. 🙂

    Happy birthday to your blog!

    XOXO

    • tinkerbelle86 June 17, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

      ah Megan you are so cute. get on the plane and come visit me and Vix!!

  5. theduffboy June 17, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    I just discovered your blog. Looking forward to reviewing your archive. Congratulations on blogging, it’s a significant personal (and cultural, I believe) achievement.

  6. jsh0608 June 17, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    I’m new to the blog world…so I’m sure a year from now I will be writing a blog similar to this. :0) Congrats and just like that…blog-i-versary…so happy 1st blog-i-versary to you. Looking forward to reading more. :0)

  7. granny1947 June 17, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    You hit the nail on the head…it is YOUR time…I just love it!

  8. Melissa's Meanderings June 17, 2011 at 7:48 pm #

    Happy Blogoversary!!

  9. wosushi June 17, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    Happy Blogiversary! Having people I knew read my words was my biggest fear when I started. So much so, that I wrote and didn’t tell anyone for the longest time.

    It feels good to get past that, right?

  10. vixter2010 June 17, 2011 at 8:49 pm #

    My comment I did earlier hasn’t turned up boo! Anyway I said happy blog anniversary!! I’m so glad you found your voice, keep it up lovely 🙂

  11. barb19 June 17, 2011 at 10:09 pm #

    Wow – 150 subscriptions is a lot of lovin’ – well done! I’m not surprised though, your blog is interesting, entertaining and funny; I never know what to expect, you keep us guessing!
    Carry on the way you are, I love your voice!
    Happy blog anniversary! ♪♫• ♪♫¸¸.•*¨*•☆

  12. prenin June 18, 2011 at 12:26 am #

    Hi hun! 🙂

    My blog gave me a voice in the darkness after some terrible events in my life and now I am happier and better off because I have a place to vent when I need it and a whole bunch of friends I have yet to meet face to face – including you my love! 🙂

    God Bless and be well!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  13. Kay aka Babygirl June 18, 2011 at 4:15 am #

    Never keep your voice silent because you have something beautiful to say. So Happy Anniversary 🙂

  14. Sandra Bell Kirchman June 18, 2011 at 7:36 am #

    You’re welcome, Belle – I read your blog because you make me laugh and you make me remember. Your memories, insights and events are honest and forthright, without being hurtful. And you’re fun. Here’s to another great blogging year for you!!

  15. Team Oyeniyi June 18, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Great sentiments! I really enjoyed this!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

