Pure Shores

16 Jun

When I was a little girl and I couldn’t sleep my mum used to make me rest my head on her knees, and she would tell me about my beach. I lay on the sand and listened to the cool breeze ruffling the leaves of the trees around me, and the calming sounds of the sea gently lapping at the sand. I could feel the water at my toes and smell the great outdoors; the briny smell of the salt and the sand and the soft noises of the birds as they flew. She used to stroke my hair and my breathing would slow until I forgot whatever monsters were parading through my head jumping up and down on the butterfly thoughts that should have been forming, and all would be well.

Everyone has a beach. And in actual fact my beach exists. But you can’t always go to the place you need to, so you have to make do. If I had a helicopter I would take myself to California when times got too tough (running, really?! What a surprise!) But in the absence of that I like to be near water. It has a calming effect on me and causes any mind cloud to dissipate and take me back to my normal self. I love the coast in the winter when there is no one else on the beach; it feels so desolate with the wind howling around you and the waves jumping, uncontrollable and strong. The sea is a force to be reckoned with and it reminds me that over the years I have formed an inner strength and I have the power to get through anything if I put my mind to it. I might be a bit of a closed book to the people around me and I am unlikely to let people in unless they prove their worth, but if you protect yourself then you don’t run the risk of getting hurt. You can just tell yourself “I told you so!” and move on. Vulnerability is my weakness; I’m not very good at it and I think it can make me come off as quite cold, but I think that is a risk you have to take sometimes to maintain your sanity.

When I’m feeling particularly stressed and unable to grab my keys and run (I do this a lot!) I regularly listen to Ellie Goulding. There is one particular song of hers that just soothes and calms, and it’s called Little Dreams.

What do you do to calm yourself and ease your mind?

12 Responses to “Pure Shores”

  1. egills June 16, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    The coast is the place for me too – infact I’m off there tomorrow night! Luckily Brian’s parents live by the sea so we can visit whenever we want!

  2. mairedubhtx June 16, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    The ocean has also always calmed my mind and my thoughts. Imaging sitting on the rocks on the coast of Maine has always helped me calm myself down. I can heard the crash of the waves on the rocks and smell and feel the spray of the water on my face as I sit on the rocks. That is my happy place.

  3. prenin June 16, 2011 at 11:34 am #

    I kill people who annoy me! LoL!!!

    Naw, jokes aside, I use meditation and a bunch of ambiance CD’s to ease my mind.

    Being a paranoid schizophrenic it helps me maintain some degree of control when there are rats nibbling at my internal wiring…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. Melissa's Meanderings June 16, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Hope all is ok and your not too stressed now!

  5. Toffee Marshmallows June 16, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    I usually vent my frustrations at my poor long-suffering boyfriend, cry for a few hours and go to sleep. When I wake up usually things don’t seem so bad 🙂

    Take part in Know The Marshmallows at http://toffeemarshmallows.wordpress.com 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 June 17, 2011 at 9:10 am #

      oh dear, poor guy!! shouting doesnt make me feel better, sadly. i just get more annoyed when you dont get the reaction you were after!

  6. Julia (AKA Jules) June 16, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    the coast most definitely, closely followed by listening to Heart’s “Alone” along with wuthering heights and urm, watching trashy tv…..!!! I suck at trying to mellow out! x

  7. vixter2010 June 16, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    I know what you mean, today I wished I was far far away 🙂 I used to love All Saints and I love Your Song by Ellie.

    • tinkerbelle86 June 17, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

      that reminded me of the little girl in forrest gump 🙂

  8. charlie nitric June 16, 2011 at 6:42 pm #

    Hey Laura –

    There is a spirituality that exists in people that flourishes when we’re in nature, and the oceans and seaside is a great example of it. The sea relaxes us, calms our nerves, and releases serene reflection and insight that is difficult to experience in our busy lives away from the big pond. BTW, I listened to Ellie Goulding for the first time here. She’s fabulous and can see why you appreciate her songs. I wrote a big new story, a funny one about a real-life supermodel upon her blessing. I would love your feedback and also your giggles, if that works for you ;). Thank you and enjoy your Thursday evening. 🙂

  9. Caroline June 17, 2011 at 6:28 pm #

    Ellie Goulding is AMAZING. I saw her first US show in LA and she was fantastic. Her music is great to de-stress. 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

