The Perils Of Camping

10 Jun

By the time you are reading this I will have already spent the night in a tent. I will be one night down, and two and a bit nights in a tent left to go.
This is a grim prospect for me. I am a lover of my bed (with approximately one million cushions, pillows and other bed related paraphernalia) and I like the warm, being snugly and cups of tea with fresh milk and not the suspicious stuff they called UHT. I mean really, milk is supposed to be refrigerated. How is that right?!
But last night I headed off to the Isle of Wight festival with a big group of friends, and as long as it isn’t raining I am still relatively happy. I hope. Because otherwise I feel sorry for everyone camping with me. I promise to try to be nice to everyone, but if I have soggy pants and trench foot then I am likely to be less than impressed with life.
On Wednesday night me and Emma, with Stuey (our cuckoo in the flar for the night) and Mel (who fancied coming to the shops for the ride, god love her) did the festival shopping. We spent over one hundred pounds, on what seems to be just alcohol, crisps and tins of beans with sausages in. I insisted that before we went we got bananas, but forgot, and I have a bag full of wet wipes, face wipes, plasters, hand sanitizer and spray. The idea of a portaloo makes me gag, but I never learn (read last year’s festival post !) and seem to agree to going to these things when they are but a fond memory. I’m sure come Saturday if someone asks me if I would be up for doing it all again next year, I will firmly say no.
I suggested last night to Mel that I stay at home and we pitch the tent in the lounge. We could put the CD player on and listen to Kings of Leon, the Foo Fighters, Chase and Status and all the other attractions, and then we could put a pizza on and watch Cool Runnings. Much better!!

7 Responses to “The Perils Of Camping”

  1. egills June 10, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Oh, one of my friends has gone to Donnington for the Download Festival. He always used to go to IOW.
    Looking at the line up you should have a great time. Check Stornoway out if you get a chance.. seen them play a few times in Oxford, lovely boys and really friendly. Now Big Country is a blast from the past! Way back in the 80’s when I was a teen I had their posters all over my wall!

  2. vixter2010 June 10, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    I have to say I’m not a camping person, I prefer hotels 🙂 I’m going to need a rich husband! But I’m sure the festival will be fab and I hope you brought your wellies 🙂

  3. egills June 10, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    You started me off hunting…. found a daytime one in London with Tim Minchin… 😀

  4. prenin June 10, 2011 at 2:42 pm #

    Hope you have a good time hun – I’m a bit too old to be roughing it, but my thoughts shall be with you!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  5. Redneckprincess June 10, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Have fun!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  6. theamberlight June 10, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    I have camped (a lot) with my first “longterm” boyriend. I even slept in my clothes on the bank of a lake more than once then went to work b/c they went overnight fishing. I do not do that anymore. My husband is not outdoorsy and That’s OK!!! I just love your blog and you should be proud of being the “man” in your loft. At least you have the nerve to try and figure it out! My daughter had to learn to change a tire, sparkplug, fill the radiator and windshield fluid when Dad taught her to drive. Noone wants to wait to be rescued on a hot or freezing day! A tip for you about the windows. I used to live on a ground floor apt. I put vases, jars and even drinking glasses on the window ledge so if someone tried to get in at night they will fall off, break and wake me. No one ever tried to get in and it was nice to have a cool breeze when it was around. And the extraction fan….they stay on after you shut off the switch!? Dreadful!!!! You need to have your Dad put in a separate switch. In the States, our exhaust fans turn off when the switch goes off, thankfully!!! I hope you have a smashing time and I’ll talk to you soon!!!

  7. Nancy Loderick June 13, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    I enjoyed reading this post :). I’m an outdoors person and love hiking and kayaking and all that, but I draw the line at camping – give me a real bed and running water any day. It’s nice to be out in nature for a few hours, but that’s it.

    Nancy

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

