Little Pick Me Ups

9 Jun

What do you do when you feel like treating yourself? Do you grab a bottle of wine from the supermarket on your way home, or run a bath and soak in the bubbles until your fingers wrinkle and the water goes cold? Everyone has their ways to treat themselves every now and again, and mine is fresh flowers.


I love the way that flowers make you feel. I once got send a bunch of flowers to my office on the day before my birthday from a friend, and it made me feel really happy for the whole day. He had intended to send them on my actual birthday and then realised at the last minute that I had booked the day off, so a mass panic ensued to make sure they could deliver them that day, or it would have been ruined. It was such a lovely gesture, and something that I will always remember.

I love the colours and the scents and the way that the freshness of them transforms a room. I’m not a roses girl though; I prefer lilies and tulips and irises and all the beautiful flowers that you can imagine having in your garden if you were to live in a little country cottage with a thatched roof.

My mum bought me a bunch of flowers on the first day she visited the new flat; a mix of lilies and these intricate little pom pom flowers; a dusty purple that compliments the colours in my bedroom. The lilies are yet to flower so I don’t know what colours they will be, and it’s sad but I actually find that exciting. I can’t wait to see them bloom and smell them. There is nothing quite like lilies.

But lilies, especially calla lilies, are synonymous with death. Roses are the flower of love, and holly is supposed to resemble domestic happiness. Sweet peas mean shyness; sunflowers adoration.

And I know they are expensive, but sometimes you have to fork out for something that makes you smile every time you walk into the room, right? At least it’s not Jimmy Choo’s!

14 Responses to “Little Pick Me Ups”

  1. barb19 June 9, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    Flowers given as a gift (or not), stir the emotions, there is no doubt about it. These ones are gorgeous – every one of them.

  2. egills June 9, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    I totally love getting flowers, infact most of the plants I’ve put in the garden are so I can cut them and have them in the house.
    I like gerbera’s they come in such lovely colours 🙂

  3. maximsmadness June 9, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Flowers are a great way to make your smelly room smell nice!

  4. mairedubhtx June 9, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    I’m with you on the flowers. They never fail to pick me up. I love all types of flowers but adore tulips. I sent tulips to my sister for Easter and she was over the moon. I love Star-gazer lilies, and adore roses. They were my grandmother’s favorite and she grew spectacular ones in her garden. I have been know to send myself flowers. Confession time.

  5. vixter2010 June 9, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    I love lillies!

  6. prenin June 9, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    Yes, flowers are beautiful, but soooo expensive!!! 😦

    Hope you have a great week sweety – the weekend cometh!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs! 🙂

    Prenin.

  7. Megan June 9, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    I love lillies too; Especially callalillies. Gerber Daisies are also a favorite of mine as well!

  8. Redneckprincess June 9, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    I love tulips 🙂 always make me smile!!

  9. Melissa's Meanderings June 9, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    I love flowers…they always cheer me up!

  10. jsh0608 June 9, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    I saw your blog of another blog and tinkerbell caught my attention since I love that little character. Well I saw this blog and the pics of the flowers were beautiful. I can’t wait to read more. :0)

  11. My BlogJect June 9, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    so true! i really should pick some up to brighten my place.
    to be honest im growing some on the balcony – would this do the same for you? seeing them outside in there little pots?

  12. Sandra Bell Kirchman June 10, 2011 at 6:27 am #

    Your flowers are very much like you, I think. I love flowers too…for outdoors, I love sunflowers, peonies and geraniums, especially the fiery-colored ones. For the smell, I love the shy lily of the valley, that can’t help giving themselves away because of the lovely fragrance they exude. For indoor cut flowers, I love carnations – all colors – for their beauty and smell, plus Easter Lilies (what a gorgeous fragrance from them), and American Beauty roses.

    I’m not good at growing flowers though, and usually end up with cacti because I forget to water the flowers. It’s been so long since I treated myself to flowers, I almost forget what they look like, although my daughter gave me a spring garden bouquet for my birthday last year. I loved it.

    That’s interesting, what each flower means. I’ll have to research the ‘net to see if I can find more.

  13. Single Malt Monkey June 14, 2011 at 7:25 am #

    I’m a deep blue cornflower man, myself – with a bottle of expensive wine. 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 June 15, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

      ahhhh, im not too bothered as long as its wine 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

