Really Grinds My Gears….

6 Jun

Some things really annoy me. And extractor fans that are connected to light switches in the bathroom are one of them (are we all sitting comfortably ready for my Victor Meldrew style rant??).

This weekend I moved out of my dad’s house (where I have been nestled for far too long, licking my wounds) to a lovely ground floor flat with two of my closest compadres. Both have been in my life for almost a decade, but neither knows each other very well. So far, it all seems to be going great, but I’m heading off the thought path so more on that another day! Part of the reason I had to leave dads house was that my bedroom was next to the bathroom, and the bathroom has an extractor fan that is linked to the light (other than being twenty five and living with daddy is so not cool!). In the middle of the night, when someone wants to use the bathroom, the light goes on, and it sounds like concord is tearing through my room. Time for a change.

So we moved in on Saturday, and everything was well, until darkness set in and I needed a wee. I put the light on in the bathroom, and lo and behold, on went the extractor. About ten times louder than the one I was used to, and lasting a hell of a lot longer. Oh joy. Mel laughed at me as I wandered up and down the hall way like an old woman saying “it’s still on!! It’s been on for about half an hour!! It sounds like we are on a flipping flight path!!” with her suggesting that if anyone needed the loo in the night they would have to leave the door open so that they didn’t have to put the light on and run the risk of someone walking in. Emma suggested we all have a torch. Bless them; I think I would have just told them to deal with it!! My ensuite shower also has the same issue, so I must have a shower a good hour before wanting to sleep, or it sounds like there is a combine harvester ploughing the fields in the room next door. Marvellous! My other massive bug bear is those air fresheners that spray you in the face. I don’t know who invented them and thought they were a good idea, but my mother, who loves air fresheners, adores them. Before the invention of these horrors she would have your conventional spray ones, the plug-ins and the oil candle ones, but now the woofers are around, she has them all over the house. Walk in the front door, ‘woof’ in your face. Marketed as a ‘fresh burst of air’ it gets in your throat and makes you cough like you have a fur ball. Attractive. She has them in my sister’s room (walk in with a cup of tea in your hand, ‘woooof’; tea tastes of perfume as it has wooshed into your brew. Walk into the bathroom, lift the loo seat, ‘woof’ right in the face. It’s hard to not lose the plot when a ‘refreshing spray’ sprays you in the eyes. Just sayin.

What irrational things really annoy you?

13 Responses to “Really Grinds My Gears….”

  1. rantonit June 6, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    Exhaust fan you mean :O . That is a pain!

  2. egills June 6, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Oh! Not good. The hotel we stayed in last had that issue – I left the over the sink small light on instead saving the need to have the fan going.

    As for airfresheners – they should be banned.. vile horrid nasty stinking things that never smell nice.

    My main irrational bug bear is shoes, if you’re going to take your shoes off in the hallway put them against the wall, not just kick them where ever… it REALLY gets my goat when I walk in the front door and promptly trip over a pair of two of shoes

  3. prenin June 6, 2011 at 3:24 pm #

    They have one of these bloody things in the T&RA base below me and you can hear it come on automatically if it gets too humid and sometimes is on all day and night because they forgot to turn off the bloody light!!!

    These places are like egg boxes – you can here EVERYTHING!!!

    AAAAARRRGH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. charlie nitric June 6, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    HiYa Laura –

    Hahahaha you crack me up with the bizarre things that happen to you. The same types of things have happened to me since I remember, remembering!

    Calling automated machines irritate me to the max. I seem to go around in a circle until I finally talk to someone overseas about the business that is here in Chicago. Go figure!!! Another thing that irritates me are business meetings. Today’s meeting is to discuss what never could be decided in the last meeting. Every one agrees with the Big Dog and we schedule another meeting because nothing was decided upon today. The next meeting we’ll discuss what wasn’t decided upon in today’s meeting. Round and around we goooo. You’re a funny girl Laura hahaha. Love your blogs. 🙂

    • The Good Greatsby June 7, 2011 at 1:07 am #

      I’m with you on meetings. Some bosses think we need meetings to discuss everything, including the need for more meetings. It ends up wasting everybody’s time because we can’t do anything without a meeting, but there are certain decisions and issues that could be dealt with much more efficiently by one or two people over a giant group.

  5. Jo June 6, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    ha ha ha ha, you are awesome and never fail to make me giggle, brightened my day once more lady! I love you xx

    • tinkerbelle86 June 6, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

      wait till you hear it though mate, you’ll feel my pain. 🙂

  6. acleansurface June 7, 2011 at 6:05 am #

    I once rented a room over a garage. The first time the automatic garage door opened, I had no idea what was happening. Very loud, with vibration added.

  7. My BlogJect June 7, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    oh I hear you love!
    You may find a switch soon that let’s you turn it off earlier than it decides to turn itself off!
    We did this in our uni house… we FOUND that switch.
    if not i suggest sleeping with head torches on at all times!

  8. My BlogJect June 7, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    oh I hear you love!
    You may find a switch soon that let’s you turn it off earlier than it decides to turn itself off!
    We did this in our uni house… we FOUND that switch.
    if not i suggest sleeping with head torches on at all times!
    or ear plugs!

  9. JennyBean June 7, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    Oh, Lord, I’m way older than you, and I still live with my dad. But, thank heavens, we don’t have an EXTRACTOR.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

