Dating in the Dark

1 Jun

I’ve talked a little around the mad time my friend is having with online dating, and how she is getting on. As an update, she has three on the go at the moment and is enjoying coffees on the Southbank and conversations over dinner, and having the time of her life. And good for her.  They all seem like charming people and she hasn’t any need to make a decision yet, so she is juggling studying for her PhD around dating some hotties.

And it made me think, what is the best, weirdest or most memorable date that you have ever been on?

Personally, I’ve been on some really great dates with amazing people. Ok so maybe they weren’t amazing people who were right for me, but I have spent time with some funny guys, or interesting men, and people who have shown me new things. I mean, without my date with a guy called Steve a few years ago, I would have never found Souk on Covent Garden; a fantastic little Moroccan restaurant in the heart of London, or learnt the Arabic word for meatballs. The more people you fill your life with, the richer your experiences are.

I went on a great date recently. Date three. I received a text to tell me to not wear heels, and bring a hoodie. I was out of my comfort zone as I am very much a wear heels or flip-flops and not wear a hoodie on a date, but I sucked it up and went along. We had dinner, and then I was handed two golf clubs (apparently it is a heinous crime to call them bats, my bad) and driven to the crazy golf near us, which was locked. I boosted over the fence, and we played an interesting game of crazy golf, only playing the rounds where you could get the ball back. And I won (although if you mention this to him he gets a competitive look in his eye and says I cheated, and of course I didn’t win!) it was really different to your normal go out for a drink, and it was fun (although I did nearly lose a toe as it was dark and I fell over something). There is something to be said about someone who thinks outside the box and plans something interesting to do.

How about you? Whether you are married or single, im sure there is a date that sticks in your mind as being a little out of the ordinary. It might be a good reason or a bad one, but I would love to hear!

12 Responses to “Dating in the Dark”

  1. Julia (AKA Jules) June 1, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    I’ve never been on a date… and I’ve just turned 26. Yep I’m officially a FREAK OF NATURE. 😦 x

    • tinkerbelle86 June 1, 2011 at 8:08 am #

      oh jules, you arent at all 🙂

      • Julia (AKA Jules) June 1, 2011 at 9:34 am #

        I am!!! I’ve never had a boyfriend… never been kissed… and i’m in my late 20s. I’m just a weirdo…. and still a weirdo even after all these years… (sorry, been listening to KT)

        but still. Just hate being single and living in England when I clearly prefer Scottish men between 40-46 who look like mr big. *ahem*…

        😦 😦

  2. Ipodman June 1, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    That golf thing sounds good… I must try that for a date some day…

    • tinkerbelle86 June 1, 2011 at 9:42 am #

      seriously. it was such a change. if you want to impress someone with creativeness, steal the idea!

  3. mairedubhtx June 1, 2011 at 11:38 am #

    I had a date with a very good-looking boy who who a friend of my friend Deb’s boyfriend. The date was horrendous. We went to the movie and all he did was talk about how much he could drink. The movie was “What’s New, Pussycat?” He called again and I told him I was busy. My mother wanted me to go out with him again so maybe I could meet some more of his friends and I’d have more dates. I didn’t want to meet any of his friends who were like him. My mother pushed me to date all the time and I couldn’t have cared less. I had other things to do.

  4. vixter2010 June 1, 2011 at 12:20 pm #

    That sounds like a fun date, very promising! My worst date was at a pub, I drove and he took a taxi so I had to drive him home all very awkward 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 June 1, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

      lord…why couldnt he get the taxi back home again?

  5. prenin June 1, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Hi hun! 🙂

    My first ever date was with a lovely girl and we had a great time.

    On the way back I witnessed a local shop being petrol bombed (It’s that kind of town) and reported it, then went to the local pub and got the people there to move their cars to safety, but one of the drinkers told the Police he had seen ME throw the petrol bomb!!!

    We have some very sick, twisted, people living here.

    Anyhoo, the Police interviewed my would-be g/f and her parents forbade her to see me again.

    Turned out the petrol bomb attack was part of a protection racket and the guy who blamed me was related to the family who ‘own’ the town.

    Oh Joy…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  6. acleansurface June 2, 2011 at 1:51 am #

    I once went to see a somewhat emotional film on a first date (the guy’s idea) and it started out with him leaving the theater during the film, twice, to answer cell phone calls. It ended with him thinking I was “cold” because I didn’t cry over the film like he did.
    Ugh! That first date was also a last date.

  7. Tori Nelson June 2, 2011 at 1:57 am #

    Sounds fun!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

