Murdering Music

20 May

My iTunes Is a schizophrenic cacophony of songs that I often have to explain to people. I am completely unashamed that my taste ranges like a person with a split personality, but it is sometimes hard to convince people that a person who loves Nickelback can also be totally happy listening to dubstep, Stevie Nicks or N*sync. My shuffle is deathly embarrassing in all circles (I will never forget the day that the Thong Song shuffled on during a road trip) so I choose to use the fantastic new tool offered by itunes, the genius playlist. It puts your music library into genre specific categories so you can choose whatever you feel like listening to, and you never need to quickly reach for the iPod when you recognise the intro to that tune before your mates/date/mother realises what you are listening to.

As a result of this mental music issue I am fairly easy to engage in a conversation about music. And I’m great at the name the intro round in a pub quiz, because I have a strange knack of being able to recognise both the name and artist who sings any track within the first two seconds of a song, as long as that track is one of the one thousand three hundred odd tracks in my repertoire. This, along with having a super squishy nose (another time) is my party trick.

What eclectic songs feature in your collection? My top three clangers (in the opinion of ‘cool’ music listeners, like my sister) are:

Alan Jackson – Living On Love (in my defence my mum used to listen to it when I was a kid and I like it.)

The bluebells – young at heart.

Rick Astley – never going to give you up.

I saw Rick Astley at the eighties festival last year. I brought the average age range down by about thirty years, and he was obnoxious. My love waned a bit after that, but it’s a great feel good song.

Despite these horrendous choices, im sure we have something in common music wise. I pretty much will consider anything, despite how horrendous the reputation, as you can see!

25 Responses to “Murdering Music”

  1. Julia (AKA Jules) May 20, 2011 at 8:39 am #

    i’ve an eclectric music taste! 😀 Soo, let’s see. My iTunes consists of…:

    Cheryl Cole – Fight For This Love
    Simple Minds – Don’t You Forget About Me
    Kylie – What Do I Have To Do (or any Kylie song)
    Billie Ray Martin – Your Loving Arms
    Kate Bush – Wuthering Heights
    No Doubt – Just A Girl
    David Guetta – Where Dem Girls At

    ha. totally random mix. 🙂

    x

    • tinkerbelle86 May 20, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

      i love singing wuthering heights. i challenge anyone who is miserable to not smile after doing their best kate bush impression. i also do a good bee gee.

  2. Ipodman May 20, 2011 at 9:43 am #

    I’ll shuffle my iPod and see what’s the first five songs that pop up…
    Faryl Smith – Shenandoah
    Seether – Fine Again
    Foo Fighters – The Deepest Blues Are Black
    In Flames – Sober And irrelevant
    Red Hot Chili Peppers – Can’t Stop

  3. mairedubhtx May 20, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    I’ll bet you don’t have Sínead O’Connor or Loreena MacKennet or Enya on your list. Mmmmm

  4. Melissa's Meanderings May 20, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    Oohh…Love Loreena!! And there’s nothing wrong with Alan Jackson!!!

  5. prenin May 20, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    Hmmm… Crazy Frog: Can’t touch this, Kaoma: Lambada, Gummy Bear song.

    Who says I’m predictable??? LoL!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    • tinkerbelle86 May 20, 2011 at 3:53 pm #

      what is the gummy bear song?!

      • prenin May 20, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

        Go to You Tube and type in Gummy Bear – the English one is the longest, but it’s best to try a few before picking the best as it keeps getting rehashed – not always well!!! 🙂

        Oh yes – I also have the Kate Bush boxed set ‘This Woman’s Work’ and I’ve just ordered ‘Red Shoes’ on CD!!! 🙂

        Love and hugs!

        Prenin.

  6. vixter2010 May 20, 2011 at 2:27 pm #

    We would totally rule a music pub quiz!
    Ok I have shuffled my Ipod and these are the first 5:
    Rumer
    Counting Crows
    Clare Maguire
    Demi Lovato
    The Beatles

    Demi is pretty sad, I also have some Miley Cryus on there eek and a few Britney classics but prob the worst is High School Musical 🙂

    • Ipodman May 20, 2011 at 2:30 pm #

      Demi Lovato’s music is pretty good… Miley Cyrus can get irritating…

    • tinkerbelle86 May 20, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

      oh god i cant listen to high school musical, but i love the beatles!

  7. SWK May 20, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    Classical? 😀

  8. jennajadee May 20, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    Lil Wayne
    Sheryl Crow
    Carrie Underwood
    Metallica
    Kelly Clarkson

    It seems a lot of us murder music, but I am just totally random in everything I do lol Love it.

  9. Team Oyeniyi May 20, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

    Wow. LOL. Ronan Keating and Pauline, Guy Sebastian with Eve, Stan Walker, The Dixie Chiks, Deep Purple.

    Not a Beatles fan.

    Nearly forgot Pink Flloyd!

    • jessiepeace May 21, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

      How can you not like The Beatles? :O

      • Team Oyeniyi May 21, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

        Not sure really – they just never did much for me. I think I liked “Yellow Submarine”. I’ve never owned any of their music. Maybe they were too “nice” or something? You are talking to a Deep Purple fan here!

        • tinkerbelle86 May 31, 2011 at 11:11 pm #

          im a huge beatles girl, you need to watch across the universe. it will change your life!

  10. yogini May 21, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    Rick Astley – never going to give you up.

    I like this one..

    Do you have iPhone4?

  11. jessiepeace May 21, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

    Clash – should I stay or should I go.
    Captain – Keep and open mind.
    Die Happy – Higher ground.
    Orgy – Blue monday.
    Ashlee Simpson – Pieces of me.

    Thats the 5 songs if I shuffle my ipod, Which I do obsessively and then sit there for ages flicking until I find an actual song I want to listen to.
    Jessie.

    • Ipodman May 22, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

      Lol yea more time is spent clicking next next next next next until you get a song you actually wanna listen to…

      • tinkerbelle86 May 31, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

        ha, and frantically grabbing for it when it shuffles to something embarrassing!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

