The Day I Was Sacked

16 May

I am notoriously bad with money. As an adult I make silly decisions, but as a child my sister was the girl who would hoard her pocket money and buy herself something really good at the end. I was always really jealous as I would spend my pound a week on a magazine or something frivolous, and be really jealous when my sister saved twenty pounds and bought herself something really cool (how much did twenty pounds seem like in those days? I was horrified at spending fifty quid on fuel last night!) My dad would always patiently explain that it was totally fair and that she had just chosen to be good with her money. Ever the banker, it never rubbed off on me. I just couldn’t grasp that I couldn’t have both.

One of my money making schemes was tidying my sister’s room for a pound a week. I’m a messy person, but I’m really good at tidying when I set my mind to it, and I like things to be clean. I think mess and dirt are totally different. I just need the adult part of my brain to click in and realise if I tidy as I go along I don’t have to have massive cleanup sessions! Anyway, my sister had the box room; a room only really big enough for a single bed and a little desk, and so a pound was a huge sum for a ten year old to charge an eight year old. She didn’t mind though, so it worked for everyone. My parents were amused.

I cleaned diligently every Saturday for around a month until I went in one day to do my chores, and found a plastic box full of dead woodlouses (woodlice?). Horrified, I threw the carcasses out of the huge window she had, and carried on. The poor things didn’t stand a chance, and their post mortem would have either determined death from suffocation in an airtight box, or death from being lightly sautéed in a plastic box that was directly in the sunlight.

My sister was incensed! How dare I have thrown her pets out of the window to their gory death?  She would not listen to the point that they were already dead and I was just tidying, and I was sacked from my position.

And this is the only job I have ever been sacked from.

6 Responses to “The Day I Was Sacked”

  1. the island traveler May 16, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    That’s an interesting story. I wish your sister gave you a second chance ( with the job ). My wife is horrified with bugs and she would have done the same thing. My son on the other hand enjoys finding and playing with the insects. He would at times come back from school all excited to find one. I guess his teacher talks about them . good post.

  2. mairedubhtx May 16, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    That’s a good story. You can come tidy my house for more than a pound and I have no dead animals.

  3. prenin May 16, 2011 at 1:31 pm #

    Never mind hun – I’ve been sacked seven times (always with a good reference!) – so I completely understand and dead woodlice???

    I think your sister would have made a great entomologist!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  4. Surrey gal May 16, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    Not a bad result if you ask me 🙂

  5. myblogject May 17, 2011 at 6:03 am #

    oh the joys of childhood. yes, i remember when 20 quid felt like a lot, I sure wish it was the same now. I won our bonus ball thing in work yesterday – a grand total 39 pound. I think I may just spend it on a drawer full of tights… how sad…

  6. The Hook May 17, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Don’t feel bad, that’s a pretty good record.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

