Sisters Are Doing It For Themselves

13 May

Sisters are doing it for themselves.

My sister and I have two years and six days between us. As children, we didn’t really get on and I hold my hands up, this was totally my fault. She was this blonde haired little cherub who loved bugs, mud, trees and grubbing around in the dirt, and following her big sister around all the time. Her big sister on the other hand was the little dark haired girl who avoided puddles, clung onto her mummy’s skirt and didn’t like dogs. Yep, I was a massive pansy. Somewhere over the years as we grew, we swapped. I became the confident lady; not afraid to stand on my throne and say exactly what I thought, and she became the shy little wall flower who preferred nothing more than to blend into the crowd, fearing the thought of being identified as any different.

Somewhere along the line we have levelled out and now we are a little more stable; she is now prepared to say what she thinks and do what she likes rather than fitting in with people, and I have learnt the hard way to be more tolerant of people, to lengthen my short fuse and be more laid back. I still retain some features from both stages of life; despite the fact that I do like to jump in puddles, don’t mind dogs if I know them and will still say what I think but I can’t go on roller coasters and roll my eyes at super girly, squeaky girls. Some things never change. I’ve become a hybrid; I’m a bit of a hippie kid in the sense that I hate wearing shoes and much prefer bare feet on the beach, or flip flops if I have to walk anywhere that’s not soft. Work laugh as I go to Portugal often in March, and I wear flip flops until October when I deem it too cold to wear them anymore. These seven months go by with flip flopped feet come rain or shine, but as soon as it snows I need a warm boot! Yet I’m hippie lite.. I need to come home at night, shower and put foot cream on my manicures tootsies!

But when I was a kid I wanted nothing more than five minutes peace from her. Wherever I turned there she was, and I’m sure I hurt her feelings on more than one occasion by telling her to get lost. One time when we were in Portugal I was given the mosquito spray by my mother and went to spray our room. I was whizzing round, squirting it all over the place and didn’t realise she had followed me in. I turned, and squirted her straight in the eyes with it. She got conjunctivitis as a result. I felt terrible but couldn’t help thinking it was her fault for not leaving me alone for just thirty seconds.

But family is so important. I come from a family that don’t spend much time together, and however much I try to force it I just don’t think it will happen. I am the most family orientated of the lot, and I just have to accept that we have different qualities, and that value doesn’t feature highly for some of them. But some days when I feel tired or sad, I just think how I wish she was still living under the same roof as me, and still small enough to slip her tiny little paw into mine.

7 Responses to “Sisters Are Doing It For Themselves”

  1. Julia (AKA Jules) May 13, 2011 at 8:30 am #

    aww great post – I wish I had a sister when growing up. I do have a sister-in-law but we don’t have much in common. 😦

  2. mairedubhtx May 13, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    This was a beautiful post. I made me think about my relationship with my sister and family.

  3. vixter2010 May 13, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    Aw shame you don’t spend as much time together as you’d like to, I think family is really important. I wish I had a sister sometimes but would have got annoyed like you did if they were always following, I like my alone time! I also won’t go on rollarcoasters 🙂

  4. prenin May 13, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    Sounds like a typical sibling relationship! 🙂

    I and my brothers fought every day dad wasn’t home and had the sh1t kicked out of us when he was home.

    Do I miss my childhood?

    Never!!!

    But I looked after a while bunch of kids and loved most of it – there were a few problems with a parent or two who took advantage – but while I had a lot of good memories it took decades to heal the bad ones…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  5. Redneckprincess May 13, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    I adore my little brother, we are total opposites too 🙂 He lives too far away, so do my parents, that is why I am moving closer …

  6. Team Oyeniyi May 14, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    Great post. My sister and I are 4 years apart and I wish she lived closer, especially over this last 12 months. She lives in Tasmania.

    I’ve never forgiven her for getting the name that shouldhave been mine: Cushla. Not that it was her fault, it was my grandmother noth wanting an Irish name for her first grandchild.

    Love my sister!

  7. The Hook May 17, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Family rocks, right?

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

