I’ve Created a Monster!

9 May

A few weeks ago I told you about my friend’s foray into the internet dating world. A shy and retiring type, I had to give her a bit of a push, but thought she would do just fine.

I’ve created a monster. Honestly. I’ve been out of the country for three weeks, and when I got back I called her straight away. She then spent the next forty minutes telling me about all the people she has met/talked to, and where she was with each of them. I heard about Dan and Sam, Mike and Paul and their merits and shortcomings, until I was laughing out loud at her comments, “Nope, he had issues. I mean really, I don’t need to know that he is having a crisis of career on the first date!” ,  “We have had some joke banter. I don’t think ill talk to him again. there is only so far you can go with knock knock jokes!” and “Laura he is my soul mate. Guess what he likes? Getting a letter in the post and cups of tea!!” Wow sweetie, you should never let that one go! If you knew my friend you would know that she is perfectly right, this guy does sound like the right match for her.

My favourite comment however was “He looks a bit special, but I think I can work with that. He seems nice.”

Lady, you bring me no end of humour. I am completely surprised at how well she has taken to it, although she did admit to having to dedicate an hour a day to respond to all her admirers. I only wish she had done it sooner, and I hope something good comes out of it. But in her words, all’s well that ends well, as she has a monthly tube ticket, so at least if nothing comes of any of her dates she is getting her money’s worth!

It just reminds me of the saying, “go hard, or go home.” Good luck!!

15 Responses to “I’ve Created a Monster!”

  1. prenin May 9, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    Wow! Sounds like she REALLY came out of her shell!!! LoL!!!

    Already I can hear the wedding march… 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. vixter2010 May 9, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    Maybe I need to give this a try 🙂

  3. mairedubhtx May 9, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    Glad your friends is having fun on her times out.

  4. Melissa's Meanderings May 9, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    Wow…glad that she is having “mostly” positive experiences…who knows…she may just find her soulmate…and if not at least it’s helped her out of that shell a bit.

    • charlie nitric May 10, 2011 at 3:56 am #

      Hi Melissa –

      You know, there are good and bad experiences how ever people meet. Whether it’s at the market, at church, in the park, at the club, or online shouldn’t be much different. Haven’t you ever met a guy that you really hit it off with, and the 2nd time you were like “what was I thinking?” I think it should be fairly similar with the online dating thing as well. What do you think?

  5. Julia (AKA Jules) May 9, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    hmmm… still not convinced with online dating. still sounds creepy to me…
    julia

  6. Redneckprincess May 9, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

    Hahahahah, well I still wish her good luck with that…

  7. Surrey gal May 9, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    Go hard or go home????? Never heard of that, this may be my next T-shirt!

    • tinkerbelle86 May 11, 2011 at 12:42 pm #

      apparently its more of a gym saying. but ive heard it applied to drinking, particularly jager bombs, and i think its a good life quote 🙂

  8. myblogject May 9, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    Brilliant! creating a monster, good or bad… I’m sure it will provide you with some good stories/laughs along the way!

    Keep up the stories…

  9. barb19 May 9, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    Good on her I say – she sounds like she’s having a ball and loving every minute of it!

  10. charlie nitric May 10, 2011 at 3:48 am #

    Hi Tinker –

    Loved your comments on my blog. 😉

    I loveeeee this: “My favourite comment however was “He looks a bit special, but I think I can work with that. He seems nice.”” Hahaha. Your friend sounds like a funny girl but is she actually trying to be funny, or serious? I see you have great humor and that’s most excellent. Life is way too short not to laugh at yourself, and laugh along with others… and laugh at others also (not mean like, you know). I’m going to poke around more here at your site. I like it and love this post. 😀

  11. jessiepeace May 11, 2011 at 12:21 am #

    She sounds rather funny. Doesn’t everyone like getting letters in the post (as long as its not junk mail, which it always is!) and cups of tea? I thought was standard. 🙂 hehe.
    Hope she finds someone perfect.
    Jessie.

  12. Team Oyeniyi May 11, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    Look forward to hearing the end result of all this!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

