Old Town San Diego

3 May

Last year when we were here we didn’t make it into San Diego that much, so my sister wanted us to go to Old Town, which is now a national park, and ride thetrolley bus round the city.

The old town is really unusual; like stepping back into the past and exactly how I would imagine America when it was more desert and less powerhouse to the world.

Considered the birthplace of California (or at least the California that we know today) the town was the site of the first permanent Spanish settlement in California. It was the home of the first mission that became the central part of the colonisation of the west of America. At the base of the hill in 1820’s, a small Mexican community was formed and by 1835 had attained the status of El Pueblo de San Diego. In 1846, a U.S. Navy Lieutenant and a Marine Lieutenant, raised the American flag in the Old Town San Diego Plaza.

Above is one of the little shops in the town (all designed to be with the times) and there are grocery stores, churches and little market stalls all along the same lines.

The town’s saloon was covered in beautiful flowers and looked so pretty in the sun (above).

Couldn’t help but smile when I saw this in the window of a shop by where we ate. It wasn’t strictly in the Old Town as the trolley takes you round the Coronado and through Downtown San Diego, but it made me think of my friends.

16 Responses to “Old Town San Diego”

  1. mairedubhtx May 3, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Old Town San Diego is a lovely place to visit. Glad you liked it.

  2. prenin May 3, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    Beautiful place Tinks! 🙂

    You have the right idea – get out there and explore!!! 🙂

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

  3. Vixter2010 May 3, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    Love that sign!

  4. Melissa's Meanderings May 3, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    It looks so lovely!!

  5. The Hook May 3, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    Gorgeous land you’re exploring Tink. Awesome post!

  6. Rach @ This Italian Family May 3, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    What a fun little place! This is exactly the sort of place Christopher and I love to visit!!

  7. Redneckprincess May 4, 2011 at 1:55 am #

    Looks beautiful, and warm…I would kill for warm about now.

  8. lovelyshadesofnostalgia May 4, 2011 at 2:06 am #

    San Diego is my city! Yay! Glad you enjoyed it. I love Old Town, one of my favorite places to go here. And you can get the best (huge) margaritas there!

    • tinkerbelle86 May 9, 2011 at 11:26 am #

      i know, my granddad always recommends them 🙂

  9. The Good Greatsby May 4, 2011 at 3:17 am #

    Great pictures. I miss California. I lived there many years, and every time I visit I tell myself I’ll find a way to get back there.

  10. the island traveler May 4, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    The beautiful pictures made me miss California. My wife and I lived in Sacramento for 2 years then the Bay area for almost another 2 years until we moved to Texas. I don’t care about what they say about the California economy, It’s still one of the most scenic and fun places to live not to mention the awesome cool and sunny weather. great post.

    • tinkerbelle86 May 9, 2011 at 11:27 am #

      i love the bay area too, i would love to live in san fransisco. or san diego, or laguna beach. to be honest, im not fussy!

  11. Matthew May 11, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    I miss San Diego. Only made it out there once when I lived on the west coast. Though hopefully there’s a trip out there in my future later this year.

    • tinkerbelle86 May 11, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

      fingers crossed for you, i wont be able to go again till next year, ive used all my holiday!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

