A Right Royal Wedding

30 Apr

The Royal Wedding is the talk of the town, and I’m surprised by how much of a big deal it is here in the USA. I thought that by escaping for Easter and coming to stay with my family I might get a little respite from the whole palaver, but that’s not the case.

Firstly, the build up has been phenomenal. Every morning when the TV is on the news has done a round up of what she will wear, if there are any hints on who the dress designer is, what the hen do will be like, if she is pregnant (that was my favorite one!). Foreign correspondents have been inserting their two pennies worth and the rain prediction has been wrong every day up to the wedding.

I woke up this morning and it was over. Don’t get me wrong; im not anti royalist and i think that should William become King it will be great news for England, but the wedding of the year wasn’t enough to make me rise early to turn on the TV. I watched the footage this afternoon though, and I was both amused and touched in places. I thought it was really sweet how the newly weds disappeared off into the sunset in a little car with learner plates and just married over the number plates (although it was in an Aston Martin) and I was amused at some of the hats! Seriously guys, it may be Phillip Treacy but it’s still a monstrosity! he Princesses were my favorite, closely followed by Elton John resembling and Oompah Loompah, and Victoria Beckham’s interesting style choice.

My sister isn’t interested in the Royals at all. She thinks they are a waste of time, but I like them. William and Harry seem like genuine boys and I like the thought of a new era of Royals reigning over the country. I like that Kate and William have lived together and done their grocery shopping at the local supermarket without having aides and waiters to attend to their every whim. I like how elegant and timeless she is despite her now Royal standing, and I think that as a pair they will take England to a new period in time. We should embrace it. It was touching to see the Union Jacks waving in the breeze around Buckingham Palace too; giving us a sense of the patriotism that we so often forget.

A friend who is in the army commented that it would be nice to see the support to the country more often, and it made me think that where I am at the moment, in California, there are flags all over the place. You see the star-spangled banner and the California flag, and people here are proud of their country. Servicemen get mentions at big games, and they are a whole lot more appreciative of their country. In the UK the England flag is so often associated with hooliganism; three lions on the shirt and sunburn from foot fans in other countries. Most people can tell you when St Patrick’s Day is (and all the connotations og green, drinking, and more specifically, Guinness) but its rare to find someone in my age group who can tell you St George’s.

I think that if Prince William and Kate Middleton can inject some interest back into the youth of Britain, then good for them. And if not, we got a day off, didn’t we? And another one next year for the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee. Good old Royals!!

15 Responses to “A Right Royal Wedding”

  1. Redneckprincess April 30, 2011 at 5:27 am #

    I didn’t watch at all…I agree with your sister. It is all to puffed up for me, I know over the next 5 months they will play it over and over and over again, so whether I want to or not, I am gonna end up watching some of it…but it will be by force, I am not gonna sit still and watch it 🙂 Though they do make a totally cute couple, William sure looks like his mama…

    • tinkerbelle86 August 30, 2011 at 4:35 pm #

      he does, doesnt he? but also worryingly like his dad

  2. barb19 April 30, 2011 at 5:32 am #

    I am British by birth, live in Australia, but am proud of my British heritage, and yes, I did watch Will and Kate get hitched; it was fantastic! Kate looked beautiful in that gorgeous wedding gown.
    They both seem very level-headed people, and hopefully might inject some new life blood into the youth of Britain.
    I’m visiting the UK this September for a month and can’t wait to see my old haunts again – the TV coverage for the wedding in and around London got me all nostalgic!

  3. Vixter2010 April 30, 2011 at 6:41 am #

    I agree twin! We should be proud to be British and be more patriotic! I thought it really showed the best of Britan and hopefully they’ll do a lot for us and like you say bring younger people in. She looked lovely and I enjoyed the day. Get the flags out 🙂

  4. myblogject April 30, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    My attitutude towards patrioticness and pride in my country changed yesterday.
    I loved every minute of the Royal Wedding.
    Nice post belle x

  5. mairedubhtx April 30, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

    We Yanks enjoy royal watching just as much as you Brits. I don’t know why that is, but everyone loves prince William and wanted to see him happy after the death of Diana, and I think he has found that in Kate (should say Catherine, Duchess of Cambridge–didn’t know Cambridge had a duke and duchess). You learn a lot about the history of Britain by royal watching. We have nothing similar, but probably wish we did. But that was settled when George Washington refused to be crowned king.

  6. prenin April 30, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    And here was me trying to avoid anything to do with the Royal Wedding only to be caught from ambush! LoL!!!

    Have a great weekend sweetheart! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  7. luzmaria17 April 30, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    I so agree Tinkerbelle. I am Canadian and proud of it. Canada is a member of the Commonwealth therefore Elizabeth is my Queen. I hope that this union will bring new life and a sense of patroitism throughout the Commonwealth. Here in Canada we are very much like you Brits in that we do not wear our pride of country on our sleeves as do our southern cousins. I make frequent trips south of the border and I know what you mean when you talk of the almost overwhelming public and private displays of pride of country. I sometimes feel ashamed that as a whole we Canucks do not show our pride in such a lovely manner.

  8. Alissia April 30, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    Thank you for your comment, yesterday I was in front of my TV to watch the wedding. Kate was so beautiful.

  9. Jules May 1, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    I was proud to be british on Friday Laura. I think we should get an extra day’s bank holiday every year – British Day. We don’t get enough bank holidays as it is (ave. 8 or 9 in the UK compared to 12 or 13 in Mainland Europe). What d’ya think?! 🙂
    xx

  10. The Hook May 1, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    Personally, I feel the Royal family just takers from the world without giving enough back. But maybe that will change now, we’ll see. There is A LOT of pressure on this new couple, that’s for sure.

  11. Team Oyeniyi May 2, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    I watched too and it was lovely!

  12. cybermagnetik May 20, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    What a great web log. I spend hours on the net reading blogs, about tons of various subjects. I have to first of all give praise to whoever created your theme and second of all to you for writing what i can only describe as an fabulous article. I honestly believe there is a skill to writing articles that only very few posses and honestly you got it. The combining of demonstrative and upper-class content is by all odds super rare with the astronomic amount of blogs on the cyberspace.

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

