But What Can I Buy The New Princess?

26 Apr

What do you buy for a girl who has everything? I bet when Kate Middleton went to sleep at night as a little girl she didn’t dream for a second that one day she would actually be marrying a Prince, not to mention the most eligible nearly not bachelor in the UK. OK, so he has the potential to look like his dad when he’s older (probably something that haunts his every nightmare), but he is the future King of England. Girl done good.

It doesn’t surprise me to hear that the year Prince William decided to go to St Andrews, the female applicant count doubled, and even Miss Middleton herself made the decision to go there over her previous choice of Edinburgh.

But it brings me to my previous question, if I did happen to have an elusive ticket (invite? i don’t think they are actually touting tickets!) what would i buy the happy couple? Do they have a wedding list? Are they asking for donations for the charity of their choice? Imagine if you had to pick something off the wedding list. Wedding lists are bad enough as it is. Everything is super fancy, but you don’t want to choose the cheapest thing and seem like a tight are, yet at the same time your car failed its MOT this week and the bar bill from Friday night was slightly more expensive than you thought it would be, wasn’t it?

OHGOD. So what do you choose? At a normal wedding its OK; you have two choices. You can either team up with a friend and choose something more expensive, or you can go for the middle of the road duvet set or pair of mugs. If you arguing for the latter, then you MUST make sure that you get to the wedding list as soon as it opens, otherwise all the other people having the same thoughts as you .

But what would be on the Royal wedding list? Crystal chandeliers? Gift certificates for Harrods?

I think I might give it a miss. I’d prefer to watch it on TV while drinking a Pimms, eating a cucumber sandwich and toasting the Queen, the Prince and his future Princess. Wont you join me in a toast?

22 Responses to “But What Can I Buy The New Princess?”

  1. myblogject April 26, 2011 at 6:47 am #

    Absolutely! I like the pimms and cucumber sandwich plan to go all ‘Royal’ whilst watching it!
    The world at your feet watching your wedding. It is one serious wedding to have !

  2. Surrey gal April 26, 2011 at 8:52 am #

    I won’t comment on gifts because I’m thinking they won’t give a toss about what they receive.
    But I wanted to say that in the past William was the handsome one, and Henry was ugly. Now William is becoming a spitting image of Charles, and it’s Henry who starts to look really good. But like you said, hey, one can forgive the looks for the sake of being a real princess 😛

    • tinkerbelle86 April 29, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

      possibly because its reputed that they don’t have the same daddy?!

      • prenin April 29, 2011 at 9:17 pm #

        Don’t say that in the UK hun – either the Royalists or the Diana Fans would lynch you for besmerching the honour of the Royal Family!!!

        Love ya!

        Prenin.

  3. Jules April 26, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    great post! I will be watching the wedding in my bed! As for my own wedding, I’d much rather just have a very small, intimate wedding. Just me and my other half, our parents and our siblings (and kids, if any). That’s it. No fancy dos, just two people declaring their love for each other in front of their immediate family. Oh and no ridiculous wedding gifts, too!! 🙂 And definitely no evening reception either, I’d much rather go out with the people who were invited to the wedding to a nice restaurant.

    weddings should be about love, not about being wealthy or whatever.

    Just my two cents.

    • tinkerbelle86 April 29, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

      i went to a lovely wedding where they didn’t have much so they had it in their arenas garden, and decorated jam jars with little hearts as candle holders for the table. they put fairy lights in the trees and it was by far the best wedding i’ve ever been to.

      • Jules April 29, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

        awwwww that sounds so cute! Actually, thinking about it… where I work we do weddings, and they do fairy lights in the wisteria (a type of purple flowery trees)… and because I work there I currently get 30% off (and my bro had his reception where I currently work and somehow – because we know the owners since we were babies (and my Mum is like my line manager)- he got like a chunk reduction off his final bill. Don’t blame me, I only process the invoices…!!!!)

        I just hope I only invite about 12 people to my wedding reception, we only have steak & chips as our main course (sorry veggies – esp my aunt) and getting “your loving arms” by billie ray martin played as one of the first dances – it’s the little things that make it count xx

        • Jules April 29, 2011 at 10:31 pm #

          excuse my first reply… silly me and my drink!! :s x

      • Jules April 29, 2011 at 10:30 pm #

        awwwww that sounds so cute!

  4. prenin April 26, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Hmmm… What about a set of tacky wedding celebration plates from Asda so they’ll spend the rest of their lives reminded how the rest of the country was ripped off? 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  5. mairedubhtx April 26, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Here’s to Kate and William. Cheers!

  6. egills April 26, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    I’ll join you with the Pimms… 😀

    Love you pictures of your holiday by the way! Fantastic views.

  7. Sandra Bell Kirchman April 26, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    I’ll drink to that!

  8. Kernut the Blond April 26, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    I’m all for joining you with the finger sandwiches and hors d’oeuvres. I wasn’t planning on watching it, but I’m picking up on the energetic spillover of all the royal hooplah.

    As for a gift, how about sterling candlesticks? Actually, I believe they asked for people to donate to a charity rather than give them gifts. Score!

  9. anne April 27, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    Over here in America, we’re everywhere from totally wound up over the impending wedding to completely apathetic about it. I was a huge Princess Di fan (she was just my age!), but after all that went on with her I’m sort of ‘over’ the Royals… and yet, didn’t all of us little girls dream of being a real princess one day? So, I’ll probably watch at least some of the events from the big day!
    As far as wedding gifts go, here is my own little twist on it – I think it’s all overrated; I mean, the rich kids who get married who need the least amount of help furnishing their households have the richest friends/relatives and therefore will get better stuff – the kids who could really use some nice stuff will get plastic crapware, mostly. However, my personal opinion is that married couples who last – let’s say, 25 years – should get a 2nd set of gifts! I mean, I’ve been married 27 years come this Friday, and my sheets, towels and pans are all shot to heck, lol…. What do you think about that idea?!

    • prenin April 27, 2011 at 10:39 am #

      Good idea Ann! 🙂

      If we celebrated anniversaries then maybe people would not divorce as often!!!

      God Bless!

      Prenin.

  10. Scorpria April 27, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    I think TV is a good idea too 😉
    Even if you do give them, i’m darn sure they’d have neither the patience nor the interest to find out who gave what 😀

  11. Rach @ This Italian Family April 27, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

    Haha! This is so true! I cannot even imagine how much it would cost to buy gifts for royalty!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 29, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      i know, i loved how they drove out of buckingham palace in a car with just married plates and balloons. i thought that was a really cute touch, and so far away from the royal family traditions

  12. Penelope April 28, 2011 at 6:45 pm #

    I’m getting married this summer, so I love this post. I’m sure their registry list (do they even have an official one?!) really differs from ours. I’m fingers crossed for the composter from Crate & Barrel so we can stop covering a bowl filled with scraps for the compost with plastic wrap! 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 April 29, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

      hahahha, a composter! hilarious, make sure you drop hints to everyone that thats what your heart desires 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

