La Jolla

24 Apr

La Jolla is one of my favourite places in the world. When the sun shines it is like paradise; these sparkles in the cove and you can watch the seals and sealions in the wild, mixing seamlessly with the people scuba diving off the shore.You can take a walk around the sea wall and get right out in the water, and although it can be a little cold with the wind coming off the water, its beautiful. It also gives you a completely different view on the stunning coast line, and is gorgeous.

My sister and I went climbing on the cliffs, and I managed to get stuck. Im pretty scared of heights, so I was dead proud that she was able to ake this pic of me with my leg hanging off the cliff (reckless, moi? Definitely not!!) I had to take a different route back because although i had managed to jump what was basically a third of a meter hole on the way over, I could see all the way down on the way back and was totally frozen. My sister was telling me she would hold her hand out and it was small, but I could just see myself falling to my death. In truth, I don’t think I would have even fit down the gap!


On the way back we were stopped at the lights with the roof down, and I remember thinking how lucky I was to be in the sun, with my family. I totally tempted fate, the next thing I knew a pelican pooped on me. I spent the twenty minute drive home cursing wildlife and wiping poop off myself. I got home and went straight in the shower. Thats the Laura luck!!

11 Responses to “La Jolla”

  1. prenin April 24, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

    Hi hun! 🙂

    Beautiful pictures and I too fear heights – just thinking of what you experienced has given me sympathy pains!!! LoL!!!

    A funny old bird is the Pelican;

    It’s beak can hold more than its belly can…

    Sorry you got dive bombed!!! LoL!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. mairedubhtx April 24, 2011 at 8:23 pm #

    Beautiful photos.

  3. Vixter2010 April 24, 2011 at 9:10 pm #

    Wow looks amazing, I would have been scared up there too! Shame about the bird, sort of thing that would gave happened to me 🙂

  4. Redneckprincess April 25, 2011 at 3:10 am #

    Awesome pictures!!! And apparently getting pooped on by a bird is good luck, not sure it feels like that at the time, but go with it!!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 25, 2011 at 4:30 am #

      i hear that…. ill have to buy a lottery ticket!

  5. Wednesday April 29, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Yeah, La Jolla’s a fun place. I’m going to UCSD in the fall and my beach is a 10 minute walk from my dorm! 🙂

    • tinkerbelle86 April 29, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

      lucky! i was going to apply there but the cost for an international student is horrendous and i cant afford it! what will you study?

      • Wednesday April 30, 2011 at 12:55 am #

        Physiology and Neuroscience like the nerd I am 😛

  6. sheokhanda May 12, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    The last pic is awesome !

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

