I Don’t Get Kids

21 Apr

I’ve suddenly realised how old I am. I know, I know, I’ll be 25 in a few weeks so this shouldn’t come as a massive surprise, but after living with two teenagers and an almost teenage girl, i can see that i became an old lady years ago.

1) I hate kids tv. When my cousins put on Nickelodeon I actually have to leave the room. The programmes are seriously the most annoying things that I have ever seen, and the voices are squeaky and irratating!

2) I like to wash. I also dont need reminding to clean my teeth twice a day, and I am not horrified at the idea of having white nail tips, instead of black ones from all the dirt underneath. If wearing nail varnish, I can think of nothing worse than it chipping till it disappears, preferrring to remove it and repaint it.

3) When I’m tired, I go to bed. If someone suggests that I have a bath and an early night, I see this as a great suggestion rather than a mortal offence!

4) I can’t watch the same programme more than once in a twenty four hour period. I dont mean the same series, I mean the exact same show. When I was a teenager I could watch the same episode of Friends over and over, now it seems to be How I Met Your Mother or Southpark (both of which i love) on repeat.

I’m secretly quite glad 🙂

11 Responses to “I Don’t Get Kids”

  1. Redneckprincess April 21, 2011 at 6:32 am #

    Ahhh, you are just a youngin’ my dear, but I hear what you are saying 🙂 wait until you have kids of your own, I have seen the Jungle book about 18,000 times. No lie, my kids BOTH watched it everyday sometimes twice for what felt like eons…

  2. Jules April 21, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    oh my, I get what you mean. I can’t wait to have some sprogs of my own, all I’ve ever wanted is Mr Big and some kidlets!

    Julia

  3. mairedubhtx April 21, 2011 at 10:02 am #

    You’re growing up!

  4. egills April 21, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    I don’t ‘do’ kids either and I honestly feel for you having to cope with teenagers. I swear if we had teenagers before we had babies no one would ever give birth!
    ( she says really looking forward to the day when the kids leave home again )

  5. Melissa's Meanderings April 21, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    Funny how such things change as we get older and wiser! You are still a baby though my dear so no worries!

  6. Janet April 21, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    I’m curious – are the kids you are referring to boys or girls? I’ve been suspicious that boys go more for the “I don’t need a bath or to clean my fingernails & teeth” routine. Of course no self-respecting male would paint his fingernails, unless he was ah, perhaps uncertain of his preferred gender.

    Anywhoo, I had 2 brothers, no sisters, and then I had 2 sons, no daughters, plus I have worked most of my life in male-dominated jobs, so I haven’t spent much time with other women, and I’ve possibly picked up a few male habits, (none of them related to cleanliness, or the lack therof) so I was just wondering if the annoying habits of the very young are related more to the males or to the females.

  7. Rach @ This Italian Family April 21, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Working with teens, Christopher and I are frequently reminded of just how old we really are. Especially when it comes to teen fashion/music. Oh, and the fact that we’re in bed by 10. 😉

  8. Surrey gal April 21, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    You are really a grown up now! 😛

  9. Team Oyeniyi April 21, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    Very cute! Made me smile!

  10. The Hook April 23, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    You’re not old, you’re sophisticated! There’s nothing wrong with that.

  11. sheokhanda May 12, 2011 at 9:44 am #

    Well I have just turned 25, but still cannot believe that is my age. I guess the best was is to feel 18 till I die ! 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

