Everywhere You Go, Always Take The Weather With You

19 Apr

I can’t believe how much the weather is capable of changing a persons mood. when the sun is out you get out of bed with a spring in your step; grabbing breakfast and heading off to work to face the day. yet when it rains it’s so much harder to escape the duvet cocoon and you struggle to stick a toe out and embrace the morning.

Sunlight is a powerful tool. a few years ago I lived in a house share and my room was the basement room. I loved it, yet some weekends I could sleep till the afternoon because it was so dark. the body clock may wake you, but the mind convinces you that you have woken in the middle of the night, and you roll over and go back to sleep.

People recognize this power too. Seasonal Affective Disorder is a term that is bandied around far too often, but at the sometime the invention of products like the alarm clock that gently wakes you with artificial sunlight is a best seller, and shows that people genuinely seek that warming feeling of waking up and attacking the day on a sunny morning.

Are you a morning person? I’m definitely not, but since vie been in California the kids wake me up on their way out to school (“Mooooooooooooooooommmm?Did you wash my paaaaannnnts?” right outside my door!) and I’ve been rising at 7, sitting on the balcony and drinking tea. I could get used to this…..

16 Responses to “Everywhere You Go, Always Take The Weather With You”

  1. bridgesburning April 19, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    gently wakes you with artificial light is a best seller….so cool!

  2. This Italian Family April 19, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    My body is so on the sunlight’s time. I wake up naturally with the sun. So if it’s dark and cloudy out (like oh say all winter, haha) then I wake up by my alarm and find myself a bit startled into my day. And then there’s summer when the sun rises well over an hour before I have to be awake and yet I wake up anyway. I love it, though. I feel so much more refreshed and bouncy when I first wake up. Love me some sunshine!

  3. Quanni E. April 19, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    This is so true. It is raining right now and I just want to laze about, but I have so many things to do. My body wakes up early, but like you said, the mind is a different thing. I’m a ball of energy but I have trouble procrastinating, especially with rainy weather. LOL.

  4. prenin April 19, 2011 at 6:55 pm #

    Because I’m on meds even sunlight won’t wake me if they are still in my system, but I’ve started taking them in the morning and having a nap about 2pm which helps!

    When I worked I was up early and in bed early unless I had a rush job on, in which case I was awake until the job was done – how often I woke with QWERTY imprinted on my forehead!!! 🙂

    I must admit that since I’ve been going to church I’ve felt a whole lot better about myself…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  5. Surrey gal April 19, 2011 at 8:06 pm #

    Sun does make us happy! That’s why I love sun and I could live without winter for my whole life.
    If you could get used to kids screaming at 7a.m. get yourself one 😛 😛 mind that then there would be no sipping tea on the balcony.

    • tinkerbelle86 April 20, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

      god no….. i currently have a fifteen, seventeen and twelve year old to do that for me. although a baby wouldnt stick their wet finger in my ear..

  6. Megan April 19, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    The weather most definitely affects my mood, my sleep and at times my whole day! Today for example was a dreary, wet and rainy day… I could sleep through the entire day if that pesky annoyance called work didn’t get in the way! The sun has such an awesome power… it really does cheer me up even in the funkiest of moods. Especially in the Spring after a long dreary winter… those first sunny days are aboslutely amazing! 🙂

  7. mairedubhtx April 19, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    I’m a morning person because i have to say my prayers in the morning before dawn. I love mornings.

  8. Rue April 19, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    That’s a kiwi song, that is 😉
    Crowded House. (I’m sure Australia will disagree, but just because it was formed in Aus doesn’t mean it’s not full of kiwis)

  9. Redneckprincess April 20, 2011 at 4:06 am #

    We have had a little bit of sun this week, I NEARLY feel human again…

    • tinkerbelle86 April 20, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

      fingers crossed summer is on its way honey…

  10. Team Oyeniyi April 20, 2011 at 8:35 am #

    I live in Australa and I suffer SAD every winter. There is a LOT of research now about lack of sunlight. For example, we are so worried here about skin cancer, we have trained everyone to “slip, slop, slap” to the nth degree and now we have a Vit D deficiency problem!

    To much kills you and not enough can kill you as well! Like everything in life, I suppose, moderation is the key.

  11. scorpria April 22, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    I’m a acomplete rain person. gimme a list of a million outdoor chores while its pelting, i’ll get them all done! 😀
    it’s raining cats and dogs here in Bangalore, India, as I write this! 😉

  12. The Hook April 23, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Never underestimate the power of Mother Nature!

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

