OK, Cupid….

17 Apr

A friend of mine has very little luck with guys, and as a result has finally been talking into online dating. I’m a massive supporter of online dating; yes I know people have their concerns about ‘predators’ and ‘weirdos’ but at the same time if you take it at face value it is a great place to meet other people who are actually looking for a relationship. They also say that when you are sixteen you know the maximum amount of people, and are therefore more likely to meet someone to suit you. So the majority of us are screwed if this is the case!

But, I digress.

She signed up to a website called OKCupid while I was in Portugal, and when I came back told me all about it. She had set up a profile with a picture of her, and added minimal information. Yet she had received 24 emails! She then panicked.

“Have you responded to any of them??” I asked her. “Well” she said “I may have a slight crush on one of them and have emailed, but I’m too scared to open the other emails”.

Right.

So for two hours while on the phone, we both logged into her account and went through the prospective suitors. It was the most fun we’ve had on the phone in ages! There were your token weirdos, like the guy who looked a little like a terrorist, and one who sent a nice email that ended with

“Please respond to this email. Even if you don’t like me, a bit of feedback would be great. I think it’s really rude when you spend all this time emailing someone and then they don’t even bother to respond to you, it’s just really mean. So don’t be that person, email me back.”

Phew! Not going to email that one back then!

We shortlisted it to four potentials who she was then left to email and chat with.

And the good news is she has a potential date next week!

I’ll keep you posted…..

24 Responses to “OK, Cupid….”

  1. mairedubhtx April 17, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Glad to hear a good online daring story instead the usual horror stories.

  2. Redneckprincess April 17, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    I have horror stories…just saying. But I did meet Bill on Facebook 🙂

    • Surrey gal April 17, 2011 at 8:41 pm #

      How???

      • Redneckprincess April 18, 2011 at 4:35 am #

        I have known his sister since kindergarten, but didn’t know him. We had quite a few mutual friends and kept commenting and started talking to each other…we met up for Canada day…and the rest is history!!

        • Surrey gal April 18, 2011 at 8:36 am #

          How romantic! I need to be more active on facebook then!

  3. melissasmeanderings April 17, 2011 at 3:47 pm #

    Will be interesting to hear how it goes! Good luck to her!

  4. Megan April 17, 2011 at 4:09 pm #

    I tried the online dating thing for a little bit at the start of the new year… Hit it off REALLY well with one fella… for about 2 months it was WONDERFUL then seriously he just dropped off the face of the Earth. Too funny! Didn’t end very well and left a sour taste of the whole online dating thing; But I’ll never say never; just may try a different site next time.

    Good call on NOT emailing that one guy back. There was one guy that sent me SIX nasty emails (that honestly made me laugh) after I didn’t respond to his initial message to me. He said things like, “No, wonder you’re still single.” and “Noone would want to be with you.” Blah, blah, blah….PSYCHO!!!

    Good luck to her! Definitely let us know how it goes! 🙂

    • charlie nitric May 10, 2011 at 4:29 am #

      Hi Megan –

      That is one problem with meeting someone online and that is; it’s so easy to blow another person off on here. There isn’t the face-2-face which takes some of the anxiety and fears involved with letting someone go. The person just doesn’t respond back. Come to think about it, isn’t that pretty much the same as not answering the phone or returning a text?

      I’ve talked with girls a few days in a row, a week or two, whatever… and then BAM…they’re gone. LOL, it’s how did she see me dripping BBQ sauce on my shirt, or what? Hahaha!!!

      I’ve also considered that a percentage of these women were probably married, just flirting around, and were on to the next person. I’m sure some guys are doing that also. It’s not much different in the real world as far as people “playing” others. What do you think?

  5. bridgesburning April 17, 2011 at 4:31 pm #

    I am glad you were there to help her. I do on line now and then. Have been lucky and even though I know some folk who have met and married the loves of their lives I find most are addicted to the quest and just like to shop..and shop..and shop! LOL

  6. prenin April 17, 2011 at 6:26 pm #

    Sounds OK, but make sure she keeps the Mace handy!!! LoL!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

  7. Rue April 17, 2011 at 8:14 pm #

    I think it’s awesome that you’re supporting your mate through this.

    I have had the utter misfortune of meeting my boyfriend online. I say misfortune because it’s right before my big overseas move. Now comes the biggest test of our lives…

    • tinkerbelle86 April 17, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      from where to where?

      • Rue April 18, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

        He moved from Ireland to New Zealand four months ago. And now I’m moving from New Zealand to Australia. Awkward.

  8. Surrey gal April 17, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    Is she 16 and doing online dating??? If so, the world is upside down! I feel very, very old now :0

  9. Ms. H April 17, 2011 at 10:04 pm #

    I know several people (including 3 couples who have gotten married) who have found serious relationships online. Hope it works out for your friend!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 17, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      vie done it before, i don’t know why so many people think its a bad idea

  10. Ben April 18, 2011 at 12:56 am #

    Oh I thought online dating was a hoax. Hmm good luck for your friend!

  11. Team Oyeniyi April 18, 2011 at 8:09 am #

    We used to reckon 75% of the men in our age group were married. Probably better in your age group. So we (my single friends and I) gave it up!

    • Team Oyeniyi April 18, 2011 at 8:11 am #

      I should add, like Ms H I do know of at least 5 couples who met on-line and are very happy – but all under 40.

  12. Ipodman April 18, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    Funny how the one that demands a reply isn’t gonna get it… lol. I can add one more “don’t” to my list now… -.-

  13. The Hook April 23, 2011 at 10:02 pm #

    The wonderful world of dating, right?

  14. charlie nitric May 10, 2011 at 4:10 am #

    Hi Laura –

    Hey, the guy who sent the nice email is right about inconsiderate people not writing back. I think that is rude also. He takes the time to write a girl that he’s kind of hot for and wants to know more. Maybe your friend is really attractive and he feels that she most likely won’t write him back. At least a girl can respond back with a nice short note. Whatcha think?

    • tinkerbelle86 May 11, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

      she is. i think she would have replied, it was a nice email and he had taken the time… but then he turned into a creepy psycho at the end, and put her off replying. it was really full on and weird

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

