Men vs Women

14 Apr

As women, I think we are guilty of giving men a bit of a hard time. I don’t mean this on the whole, after all, I once had an interesting conversation with my ex after he had booked tickets to the England match in Amsterdam. Two days before said trip we were watching a film and he sat up and said “babe, I don’t need a passport for Amsterdam do I?” Doyounot? My response was basically of course you do you pleb, and he then had to get his mum to post it from home special delivery to ensure it got there. His justification was that they were ‘going on a coach’. The mind boggles.

But I don’t understand why time after time we make excuses and expect them not to do stuff. They are just as normal, intelligent and able as us, so why do people make excuses? This rant has stemmed from news today that the boffins at some university or other have developed the male pill, but fifty four percent of women (yes, that’s over half for those of you who cannot comprehend simple maths) would not trust their fella with taking it, and would rely on other methods of contraception to safeguard themselves.

I sort of understand the sentiment, I mean protecting yourself against an internal gremlin (sorry pregnant people, it’s just my feeling right now. Loulou, I love your gremlin already 🙂 ) that feeds off you is something that we shouldn’t take lightly, and I suppose it is easier to be safe than sorry, but I’m sure that the vast majority of men don’t want to have a child either.

It seems that in our culture we have this need to ridicule blokes. Has anyone seen Don’t Tell The Bride? For those of you who don’t reside in the UK it’s a programme where the show pays for the wedding, on the basis that the groom organises the whole thing. Picks the dress, shoes, cake, organises hen and stag do, books the venue, sorts all the finishing touches. And the woman is always horribly impressed when it goes right, and says something like “I didn’t think you would do it!!” surely if you didn’t think he would manage to organise the most important day of your life then you shouldn’t have gone on the programme in the first place, but secondly if you don’t have a mutual view, or at least he doesn’t know you a little bit, then you shouldn’t be marrying him? No? Admittedly, I do love it, and it’s hilarious. There was one episode where the guy had proudly booked a church and arranged for a barn owl to fly down the aisle with ring bag in claw, and drop them at the vicar. Turns out the fiancée was terrified of birds, and so was her mum, so there was much ducking and squealing. I secretly thought that he knew that and was punishing her for being such a bitch.

My point with this slightly manic rant is that if women carry on believing that they are far more superior then men will turn into these quivering wrecks with an inability to do anything for themselves. So ladies, if you don’t want to be the girlfriend/wife of a man who sees you as his second mother and is incapable of making a decision and being relied upon, then stop with the attitude!

23 Responses to “Men vs Women”

  1. prenin April 14, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    As a much put-upon male I have to agree that we do get shafted more often than not as hopelessly stupid!

    I had more problems with the ladies of the T&RA who wanted power, but were unwilling to do the job of Chair and basically made my life Hell every time I managed to do my job!

    Thank God I had the sense to walk away…

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

  2. vixter2010 April 14, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    Haha love the passport story! I remember boys at uni asking me to iron shirts as they didn’t know how. Uh – learn how then!

    • tinkerbelle86 April 14, 2011 at 10:04 am #

      i know. hilarious. he maintained it was becuase there was an England match on. yep, cos they waive passport control for football

      • vixter2010 April 14, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

        More like ban you because you’re English and likely to drink the whole place dry and then beay each other up lol

  3. Surrey gal April 14, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    But women ARE superior to men!! That doesn’t mean though that we have to do things for them. I personally never ironed any shirts of my husband (no, it’s not the reason why he left, ha ha ha). I think because we are superior THEY should be doing things for us! 😀
    But there are those “motherly” types out there who make life hard for themselves.

    • tinkerbelle86 April 14, 2011 at 10:05 am #

      i dont believe in buying anything that you cant just hang up. i dont even know where the iron is!

  4. egills April 14, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    They invented the male pill years ago – I recall a survey done back when I was sprogging and although most men said they’d happily take it ( no getting caught out with unwanted sproglets ). Most women prefered to have the control of when they got caught.

    I find that men don’t think things through properly.. they go from A straight to F without thinking properly of the direct sensible route. Like my O/H yesterday decided he’d help by doing the laundry while I was at work.. laundry.. lovely.. tumble drier ( a new concept to him so partly my fault for throwing a curve ball in there ).. not so good.. my wonderful lovely favourite expensive linen trousers are now 2 inches too short 😦 Maybe it’s our fault in the first instance, as mum’s we do everything for them then they grow up and find a replacement to continue to do everything for them…… Probably why I taught my boys how to do everything they needed to know as soon as possible! ( Like wait on their mummy )

  5. studentguru April 14, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    A slightly manic rant! I’m proud :’). Someone once said there is nothing wrong with a good rant! 🙂

  6. Megan April 14, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    Definitely have made excuses for fellas before or done things just because “they wouldn’t do something like that.” The comments on ironing above gave me a good chuckle! I iron EVERYTHING… a bit neurotic about it I suppose. Ha ha. 🙂

    • egills April 14, 2011 at 10:44 am #

      I have spent many an hour teaching O/H how to iron.. he can do it now but is hopeless at folding so I just do it anyway ( I find it too painful to watch him do it )

  7. luzmaria17 April 14, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    Excellent rant and sadly too true. However, meet a Latino and your world is a better place. They are macho but help and do everything. Seriously! I’m married to the Cuban and I know this to be true. : )

  8. Janet April 14, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

    I think you are blaming the victim here. So many men demand that we treat them in the schizophrenic mother/lover model of femaleness. To expect that 19-25 year old women will be smart enough and emotionally strong enough to treat them the way they should be treated – as equals, is expecting the impossible. I know.

    • tinkerbelle86 April 14, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

      maybe… but im 24 and certainly dont pander!

  9. myra22 April 14, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    I find it not just in relationships, but in the men I work with as well. If a notice is posted they will read it and turn right around to me and ask me a question that is CLEARLY answered on the notice. Drives me crazy! Or the men who want to sign-up to work will sometimes ask me to do it for them. Really? You can’t write? I’ve since broken them of that habit though.

  10. melissasmeanderings April 14, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    I think it’s not so much the making excuses for them…but the letting them play stupid and convince us to do things for them that causes the troubles.

  11. Adam April 14, 2011 at 10:46 pm #

    Passports, eh?

  12. the island traveler April 15, 2011 at 2:53 am #

    Well said. I love my mom and all but i don’t want my wife to become like my mom. I guess we would like at times to have a bit of the positive traits of our parents in our spouses but not everything. That’s basically like a clone!

  13. Team Oyeniyi April 15, 2011 at 11:15 am #

    I like this because my husband DID organise our whole wedding!!!

    http://teamoyeniyi.wordpress.com/2010/11/14/the-wedding/

    We had no choice. He did a great job! We had two wedding outfits, western and traditional. I did get the western dress here, but he did all the rest.

  14. The Hook April 15, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    Men and women could both stand to imporve realtions between the genders, don’t you think?

  15. Toffee Marshmallows June 15, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    My friend asked if he needed a passport to get to Scotland…we live in Northern Ireland. And his excuse was that he was going on a plane. And another was sent to the store for a lectuce to make a salad and came home with a cabbage. (Apparently they look the same???? :S) I reckon most (not all, just a large percentage of ) men just missed out on the whole ‘common sense’ thing.

    • tinkerbelle86 June 15, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

      hahahaha, thats a good one. im surprised you didnt get sprouts “but they look like little lettuces!” hehee 🙂

Speak Your Mind.... Laughter is Catching!

